pros please help me, need suggestion

chocobo

Need advise or suggestions here..
I'm currently using Kenwood kdc-mp4029 head unit.
Planning to upgrade my system stage by stage because im kinda short of cash..
the next upgrade i'll be doing is getting these :
1) 2x Soundstream xsc.6 components for RM1300
2) APX AB-750 (4 channel) amp to power up these components for RM980
3) Below RM200 wirings

my questions is,
1) Is the pricing for the component sets and amp reasonable?
2) Is it worth getting these for the amount I'll be paying? or can i get better components and amp at this price?
3) Is my mid counted as 'done' by installing these stuffs? do i need anymore upgrades to it?

ps: i will plan to get another 2 channel amp for woofers and a crossover so, the amp i mentioned above is just for mid.

Any advise or suggestions will be very appreciated since i guess you guys can tell from the questions i asked already makes me a newbie in ICE. Thanks

Originally posted by chocobo@Mar 28 2005, 18:22
3) Below RM200 wirings

my questions is,
2) Is it worth getting these for the amount I'll be paying? or can i get better components and amp at this price?
3) Is my mid counted as 'done' by installing these stuffs? do i need anymore upgrades to it?

ps: i will plan to get another 2 channel amp for woofers and a crossover so, the amp i mentioned above is just for mid.

Any advise or suggestions will be very appreciated since i guess you guys can tell from the questions i asked already makes me a newbie in ICE. Thanks
[snapback]847811[/snapback]​
The price is ok. Why don't you just get one comp set and use the money to buy a sub? I think the result will be better and save some money this way.

if use both same components for front and back..won't it affect the staging?
i'm still a newbie.. :P
correct me if i'm wrong coz i think front comps should be a better whereas the bacvk is just for fills....
unless u tune ur fader ... is it? :unsure:

Originally posted by chocobo@Mar 28 2005, 18:22
3) Below RM200 wirings

my questions is,

[snapback]847811[/snapback]​
use the rm1300 to get a good pair of component speakers for the front.... forget about the rear...
RM980 for that amp??? not worth it .... my 2cents

kww - erm, im planning to save up another 2k for amp and woofer in future.. i would really like to save cash but i heard from my friends, they say if wanna play ICE, atleast go for a mid range set. but why result will be better? as in sound quality?

kenlimfornication - whats staging? :blink:
looks like im more newbie than you lol :lol:

calvinhpk - erm, why rear speakers not so important? issit because in future, the bass will overcome the sound of the rear speakers? but then again, lets say i use back my original set of speakers (wira speakers) what i scared is the rear ones might koyak very fast? rm 980 for that amp, not worth it in what sense? as in for that amount i can get a better amp or the price quoted to me was abit expensive?

Forget about the rear. Same the money and use it for woofer or put it into the amp budget and get a better 4 channel amp.
A decent nice speaker, you can get it in the range of 1K.
Then you will have at least 1400 for a 4 channel amp.
If u do not mind 2nd hand, i m sure u can get pretty nice stuff with that amount.

Good luch hunting!

Originally posted by devil@Mar 29 2005, 02:41
Forget about the rear. Same the money and use it for woofer or put it into the amp budget and get a better 4 channel amp.
If u do not mind 2nd hand, i m sure u can get pretty nice stuff with that amount.

Good luch hunting!
[snapback]849328[/snapback]​

err.. if you dont mind, can i ask you why forget about the rear? if front only wouldnt it be unbalance? sorry.. really newbie here.. :ph34r:
any suggestions for a better 4 channel amp? the one i mentioned above is not good enough?

Originally posted by chocobo+Mar 29 2005, 03:35 -->
QUOTE(chocobo @ Mar 29 2005, 03:35 )
--QuoteBegin-devil
@Mar 29 2005, 02:41

Good luch hunting!
[snapback]849328[/snapback]​

err.. if you dont mind, can i ask you why forget about the rear? if front only wouldnt it be unbalance? sorry.. really newbie here.. :ph34r:
any suggestions for a better 4 channel amp? the one i mentioned above is not good enough?
[snapback]849387[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
staging is to create a 'fake' stage infront of u.....juz look like in a concert hall... u can see the whole stage in the front of u and all sounds is from the front.
If u have a rear speaker, they will spoil the stage because u can hear the singer sings behind.....
the reason rm980 for that unknown brand is not worth the price. At around 1k++ abit.... can get good amp liao.... with warranty...less good.... with no warranty.... better ones....

not sure about the price..
if got the money why don't go for it!!!!

Originally posted by madforce@Mar 29 2005, 15:20
not sure about the price..
if got the money why don't go for it!!!!
[snapback]850909[/snapback]​

would like to know r u in SQ sys or SQL?

looks like with that budget i could get a better amp.. any suggestions from you guys?
actually, could say im into half SQ half SQL but slightly more to SQL..
judging from you pro's opinion, i shud just leave my stock rear speakers there?

Heh heh. Hey calvinhpk we meet again.

Anyway Yes get forget the rear if u are on a budget. 4 channel amp if u want to power the sub in the future. I can't think of any good amps that is way above others. I use soundstream but it's a bit pricey in Malaysia so that won't do for u. Sorry lar u have to figure this one out yourself. Try the old Soundstream rubicons 2nd hand.

I'm curious to hear what calvinhpk suggests for the amps ;)

XLS.6's midbass is not enough for me. I use them =) Your price is good/fair them. Suggest u not get two of them. Get one pair and u can move them to the back when u upgrade. If u have decided on these I can sell u mine...just got them two weeks ago.

Good luck shopping anyway :)

Originally posted by ronl@Mar 29 2005, 17:54
Heh heh. Hey calvinhpk we meet again.

Anyway Yes get forget the rear if u are on a budget. 4 channel amp if u want to power the sub in the future. I can't think of any good amps that is way above others. I use soundstream but it's a bit pricey in Malaysia so that won't do for u. Sorry lar u have to figure this one out yourself. Try the old Soundstream rubicons 2nd hand.

I'm curious to hear what calvinhpk suggests for the amps ;)

XLS.6's midbass is not enough for me. I use them =) Your price is good/fair them. Suggest u not get two of them. Get one pair and u can move them to the back when u upgrade. If u have decided on these I can sell u mine...just got them two weeks ago.

Good luck shopping anyway :)
[snapback]851386[/snapback]​
hi ron, :D... see u here.... ahahaha
maybe u should try PM bert or [email protected]
i think u get get his 4ch Precision Power PCX440 at a little above RM1k. A superb deal i can say. Personally listen to the amp before.... it's good.

Compare to the RM980 no brand amp and Precision Power amp with slightly above 1k.... i would definetaly choose the Precision Power

chocobo, ICE is a funny hobby, it will never end. You have 10k, there will be 10k equipments and maybe not enough.
You have a very healthy fund to start with, I suggest you go around and listen to similar setting in others car. You will spend your money wiser this way.
After you bought it, try to tune it to your liking and you will satisfy for a while.

ronl - aiks, just because of abit or mid bass you wanna change already meh? im on a tight budget so cant really complain so much lo.. i dont really know the price for it cuz never do enough research yet.. furthermore soundstream is abit pricey in msia.. urs is 1 set + tweeter set issit? can pm me ur best price if you plan to let it go?

calvinhpk - thanks man.. i'll pm bert n ask about his amp ! ;)

kww - yea what u said its true.. sure no end to it.. but currently im on a tight budget so wanna ask all the pros here whats the best deal i can get for around 3.5-4k. then when i start to work only think of upgrading summore..

Ur HU is most likely a 2V output HU... I would suggest gettign a lien driver in this case.. There are pretty cheap made in malaysia ones for sub 200 or Audio control ones for
Also dont buy a component set for the rear... If you insist on using rear speakers, get a coaxial which is cheaper as rear speakers are very soft to give ambience and to fill in the sound for the rear passengers.

Use the 1.3k for the front speakers which will then give u more options for better stuff as well. Tomorrow we have a tt if you are interested at DDP Foodcourt, Taman Desa from 730pm onwards till probably 2-3am

an ice TT...i didnt know tat :(

chocobo...
u wan SQ o char kei?

last time 1 fren of mine quoted rm 500 4 the sound stream xtreame sries component set onli

Originally posted by Bert@Mar 31 2005, 19:02
Ur HU is most likely a 2V output HU... I would suggest gettign a lien driver in this case.. There are pretty cheap made in malaysia ones for sub 200 or Audio control ones for
Also dont buy a component set for the rear... If you insist on using rear speakers, get a coaxial which is cheaper as rear speakers are very soft to give ambience and to fill in the sound for the rear passengers.

Use the 1.3k for the front speakers which will then give u more options for better stuff as well. Tomorrow we have a tt if you are interested at DDP Foodcourt, Taman Desa from 730pm onwards till probably 2-3am
[snapback]857821[/snapback]​

omg, missed the tt session cuz i didnt check forum for 2 days already.. sorry guys wasnt at home this 2 days.. will join u guys the next time
btw, whats a 2V output HU and lien driver?
i might get a better front speakers but can the rear last in future?

Yong_5290 - erm, can i go for SQ + char kei but more to char kei side? erm, rm500 for the soundstream xsc.6 component? or for others? wheres the place maybe i can go check it out?