Price: ae92 vs ae101 spare parts

ExceL

Planning on getting a reliable & affortable car, so far narrowed down to either of those models. Hope owners & sifu's can give advice on the following;

1. I guess the older model spare parts are cheaper, but by how much?
2. Which is a better way; buy a bone-stock Corolla, or a already BT or SVT 20v converted AE92/101 corolla?

I know the AE101 is considered a mini-Lexus, does that mean the maintenance cost of it is Lexus-like also?

Thanks guys

Parts for AE92 and AE101 should be about the same price coz they share the same parts. However, if you're talking about JDM parts like bumper, headlights and stuff like that, AE101 is usually more expensive than AE92. This is because a lot of AE101 kaki hunt for FX and Wagon bumper for their ride. Also Kioto crystal headlamp for AE101 can cost over RM600. Luckily AE92 owners can get their crystal headlamp for around RM400, but have to special order... not ori Kioto lah.

Considering the price of halfcut nowadays, its better to buy a fully converted AE92/101 with 20v, but better look for BT 5spd or even 6spd.. with LSD of coz. Basically an AE92/101 with 20V doesn't cost much for maintenance, just change engine oil & filter very 5000km will do. Also, try to avoid SuperStrut system if you are annoyed with squeaking noise from the suspension... but SuperStrut has awesome handling though.

everyday use or 'main2' car????

Main car for a soon to graduate student. So no modding or hard driving.

I noticed by lurking around this section, AE101 owners all want those uber-rare parts :biggrin:. I wont be hunting for such parts tho, so I'm more worried about the cost of the mechanical parts. AE92 looks more retro, AE101 very much more modern & sleek..hmm..

I also read the comparison on BT vs SVT, and it raised more questions than it answered :hmmmm:. BT=delicate, SVT=robust? I see more BT Corolla's for sale than SVT's. Which would you guys reccommend? BT or SVT?

i am second with ya.... US people also buying 16v 4age hcut in bulk.... soon everything will be less in market... but SEG still OK... and the sales is the highest in Japan and the sale record only beaten up by Daihatsu Move, still remains the best selling car in Japan in those period

here here car for sale! 20V inside
1_744668329l.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Just helping......

If u buy stock SE/SEG and convert.....(what engine dont care laa)
Advantage......U can feel the way and fun of upgrading, finding parts, performance part by looking for urself..once u get it and fix it...u'll know the different..as a new owner of the car at least u know all the parts...bodypart, interior as u built it from Stock....

Dissavantage.....of course money and time need to be spend more n more...dont expect all the item u want can be found easily....money is the main factor....got more money..u can do lot of thing, less money..heheheh
One more thing if u wanna convert...find a right workshop n foreman....can ask lots of sifu here regarding the engine u want pro n con...

As u buy converted car.....u just buy, drive, feel n maintaince...no need to thinks tat u need to find itu ini..unless u want some next stage upgrade laaa

Just my 2 cent.korek me if wrong....

very simple ...

u wan look moden ae101
u wan play bodypart definitely is ae101
u wan comfortable drive ae92/ae101 also can
u wan light body ae92
u wan economic car ae92
u wan to feel the experince get ori engine ( right nnik?.. so am i)
u dun wan headached on modify n hunting stuff get converted car
u wan headache suspension aka superstrut then ae101 for sure (good handling)

tat all i can think.. who got somemore.. just list it down... correct me if wrong also ..

thank s

7, I not worthy to drive your car.. :adore::biggrin:

Thanks for all your input guys. After doing more research on SVT & BT, 4AFE seems to make more sence as well as cents..but is it underpowered? especially since its done several years on the road ?

This car is most probably going to be my main car for many years, afraid the aging 4AFE will give alot of problems only.

ExceL,

I myself have just bought a converted SVT SE. Only regret so far is I bought a car that has tons of things to fix. Interior is roomier than a Proton Wira and if i'm not mistaken the 101 is even roomier.

If you get a stock one should be very nice & comfy while if I'm not mistaken 4AFE saves fuel & if you not kaki rembat than it's powerful enough. The SVT on the other hand is robust & needs to be rev to feel the power + it's not well known to save petrol. Consumption I've read last time is full tank can roughly go 350-400km only.

ps - If you are not kaki kereta, I suggest you stick to a 4AFE. As for chassis, since you keeping it for a loooong time, get the 101.

find the ae101 with Golden emblem ,Limited Edition SEG. mirror is brown coloured.
firewall there got a piece of fiber sound & heat insulation.(can be seen from engine bay)
but it's 1.5L 5AFE engine only.

for me, 4age 16v is most balance between power and economical aspect. want power, power is there..standard healthy engine can get below 10 second for 0-100.. (but cant beat BT/SC la..) want economic also can.. ok la.. drive slow milo, get 85km per RM10.. drive fast / >5000rpm /main pickup.. still can get more than 60km per RM10 (1.92 per litre) ok la tu..
hehehe :p correct me if im wrong

yeah!!!!! have 4age 16v before in my AE80!!! really miss the feeling. tough engine and engine much lighter than ST.

I'm considering a stock SEG AE101, but just wondering how much is a redtop 16v 4AGE, including convertion? (roughly)

from my experience :
4age halfcut 16v non-tvis ----RM3000
conversion: small2 part, labor charges----- adik price)
btw its almost 1 year oredy.