Pls Help Me On Buy New Car...

K_Takuya

Moderate Moderator
Hi guys, thanks for dropping by..

Im in the thought of buying new car. Heres my situation..

a)I have wira se. bought new and now with me 2 years plus (EON Bank loan)
b)My wife have satria 1.3 year 2000. Bought 2nd hand and now with her near 3 years..(Ambank Bank loan)

And now yes still paying the loan. Both car ok, never accident. we both would like to sell our current car and get a better car (use one car only). But currently don't have any idea on how to do it..or the best way (in term of value, process, method etc).

Hope someone can advice me on this. Planning to get a car like nisan sentra or similar value (but also have an eye on mitsubishi 2.0 gt hehehe...) We are looking for something like less than RM1k of loan payment per month for the new car.

Please advice me on the best method/process and what car to get (i dont like auto , just manual)

Thanks.... :wavey:

If u are eye-ing on mitsu lancer GT, forget about it as it has a waiting period of 12months.

I think best is, sell both car urself but not to dealer, pay up the balanced loan, then get a new car.

it aint worth settle the loan...i suggest sell cheap...then let the new owner continue the loan...cars prices are like shit lately...the longer the u own the car...the fatter the banks CEO will be...

Fritz

Wah..so long have to wait....

Doink..

Hmm..thinking the same too..

P:S Is it reasonable to sell the satria for rm5k and let them continue the loan? and is it reasonable for the wira se to sell for 10k? IS nissan sentra worth a buy? coz really dunnow bout nissan sentra coz less discussion about it.

correct me if im wrong but, ur planning on selling 2 cars for 1? would it be practical? i mean, 2 cars are definitely more convenient but of course, we will never be satisfied with what we have hence the urge to change to a newer nicer car.

just my 2 cents.

arrowhead..

My wife and i work in the same office.. and her parents house just nearby.. if need extra car..would be no problem..hehe

currently have an eye on manual nissan sentra.. hows the performance? what the top speed? other like honda city and vios..is just auto...is there other suggestions?

Fritz

Doink..

P:S Is it reasonable to sell the satria for rm5k and let them continue the loan? and is it reasonable for the wira se to sell for 10k? IS nissan sentra worth a buy? coz really dunnow bout nissan sentra coz less discussion about it.

How much outstanding instalments do you have on the loans, Takuya ? (you don't have to answer that...it's a rhetorical question). Doink's right...used car prices are like shit nowadays...especially on the older makes. So it makes it all the more tougher to sell the vehicles off and on top of that convince a buyer to pick up where you left off on the loans. Not many will be willing to fork out too much by way of outstanding instalments, more so on a 2 to 3 yr old used cars, even if you sell them at a cheap base price.

Tough break man. The used car market has seen better days.

Fritz

Doink..

I was on the 'impression' of the seller instead having to fork out of his own to cover the remaining balance of the loans. But it depends on how much u loan for the cars anyway. But do bear in mind that the car values depreciate faster than the amount u pay(loans) yearly expecially in cases like full loans and long duration of loans. And used proton cars have the reputation of being one of the lowest resale value cars. But it's a good idea though to get a japanese car instead except be prepared to lose quite an amount in term of car depreciation value now(for your current cars) and after u change car.

IF the loan amount is more than the market selling price of the car, I think u should reconsider to get a new ride unless u can just giv it to others to continue the loan.

r u sure u wanna do that for a sentra? the 1.6VTC i assume? it wont be on my favrite list..

if ur selling the two cars n get sumthing expensive n much2 better ok lar.. like Civic FD, new camry.. better reconsider ur options.. ur upgrade is just a little for two sacrifice..

I dont know anything bout selling your current cars, but if your looking for a car that costs RM1K and below per month (Im assuming you have the maintenance costs of the car included in the 1K) you wont have much choice other than Proton, Vios, City, Swift, or Sentra.

I was deciding on which car to buy as well a few weeks ago.Finally decided not to get anything as i didnt like my choices (Damn!!Have to wait summoree:banghead: ) .Anyway I'll give you a list of calculations i made for the cars above.All calculations are based on 20K downpayment and roughly 2.38-2.4% interest rate

City Vtec/Vios (They cost roughly the same)
Monthly Payment 753.25
Monthly maintenance* 300.00
Total 1053.25

Swift
Monthly Payment 665
Monthly Maintenance* 350
Total 1015

Sentra (1.6 Auto, Lowest end)
Monthly Payment 790
Monthly Maintenance* 350
Total 1140

Lancer
Monthly Payment 1080
Monthly Maintenance 478
Total 1558

*Maintenance includes how much you would need to set aside for road tax, insurance, tyres, & regular servicing of the car.

I got the estimated servicing costs from dealers or owners of the cars.Tyres are changed on a 2 year basis.

Hope this helps!

2 car for one car...i wil suggest u go for more expensive car...

the money saving we owes see ppl talk bout vios/city...its not bad actually...worth to buy.

if mmc lancer gt is ur choice, u can hv a test drive or visit the showroom to get more info.this will be even better if the installment/maintenance wise is not a major problem to u.

Are the Protons giving you trouble on mechanical aspect? Before starting to think of the new car, you better think how to get rid of the Protons. Continue repayment is too risky man, better reconsider. Few of my friends also in your situation where they wanted to change car but still owning bank for repayment (very hard to catch up with car market price, hope u understand my mean, haha....).

thanks guys for all ur help and advice,

currently theres not so many choices for my budget. my wira se dun have any problems..FC and overall still good.. but someone hint me to get a new car..thats why..hehe

get sumthing much better if u want to let go 2 cars.. worth while.. a 2.0 instead.. yess the maintenance is higher.. but comfort wise is much different.. n built quality is much better.. a camry or a FD, maybe an Accord..

first, check the full settlement of ur wife's satria, then sell at that price (hopefully u dun hv to top up la). advert in ZTH.
secondly (after the satria sold), do the same to ur WiSE. once confirm u get the buyer, then find new car.. really risky to find buyer to continue ur loan.
once default, bank will look 4 u..
my 2 cents