Please gave me some advice in ICE

ky69

I want to install ICE in my car and i took my car to the audio shop.He said if wanna nice sound must install at least Rm10k of product.He tell me all the audio system that i dunno what is that please help me on this

What is Amplifier,Pre Amplifier?
Tweeter?
Woofer,Subwoofer,Midbass?
2 way,3 way and 4 way speaker?
Fusebox?
Gold Plated Fuses?
RCA cable?
Crossover?
Capasistor?
What is all this stuff?

ky69,
I'm really not familiar about ICE but in my own opinion, I think you would first have to make a few personal decisions before selecting what kind of setup you want in your car. This, of course, may differ from one individual to another, but I guess for me, the basic questions are as below:

1) How loud do you want your ICE to sound? Loud enough for outside people to hear, or just for your own self to enjoy inside the car?

2) What kind of sound do you personally prefer? Do you prefer clarity (nice, sharp and clear sounds, usually for listening to jazz, classic, etc.) or do you prefer those bassy kind of sound (like rap, hip hop, techno, club music, etc.), or ....?

3) How do you plan to install your ICE? Is it like Stage 1: component speakers (door speakers and tweeters) and head unit, stage 2: AMPS and 1 sub woofer, stage 3: Another sub woofer and sound proofing, etc. etc. etc.

4) What kind of budget has been set for each stage of ICE upgrage.

5) Will you upgrade more and more in future?

This is just an idea I have in my head. I'm also planning to fix up a little bit of nice ICE in my car so I'm using that as a guide line. Hope it helps. hehehe

I drive a satria. I've got my door sound proof one layer already. My current plans are....

Stage 1: Upgrade component speakers (at door) and use slightly better cables

Stage 2: Upgrade to slightly better 3 way speakers at rear passenger area and sound proof 1 layer.

Stage 3: Get amps that is able to cater to 2 units of 12" sub woofers.

Stage 4: Get 2 units of 12" subs.

Stage 5: sound proof roof and install heat retention foils.

And that's about all I'm going to do to my car's ICE. hehehehe It's objective is for personal listening pleasure. :)

Averagely, if you setup your system from zero, the total cost will be around RM8K. for above average zetup.

CD Player: 1.5K
4 Channel Amp - 2K
Sub + box- 1.2K
Sub amp - 1K
Component (one pair 6.5; speaker _+ 1 pair tweeter)- 1.5K
Installation + cabling - 800

So, is about 8K, if you know how to source for 2nd hand item, you will be able to cut your budget down 30%.

One of my friend setup -
CD Player - 2.5K
4 channel Amp - 2.5K
Sub + box - 1.2K
Equipment setup only below 7K.
and his system won 2nd place in recent competion. so .. Do some research, I am sure you can get a better deal !

Good luck in this hobby .. hehe!

satria_95 said:
I drive a satria.

Stage 2: Upgrade to slightly better 3 way speakers at rear passenger area and sound proof 1 layer.

Stage 4: Get 2 units of 12" subs.

Huiyoh! 3 ways setup in Satria ... Hope u r driving automatic .. I dare not think of 3 ways cos I know it cannot fit in my Gti.

2 12' Sub.... Hmm... you practially will have zero space at the back ... but now I assume u should be installed with 1 x 12' and you likely will have min space to put a beg huh .. haha!

ky69 said:
-amplifier is what powers your speakers from the signal fed from your head unit
-preamp is anything that comes before an amp, like crossover or equiliser, used to alter the signals coming from your HU before feeding it to the amps.

Tweeter?
-the small speaker (around 1") that plays high frequencies

-woofer plays bass frequencies, subwoofer plays sub-bass (lowest) frequencies and midbass plays midbass frequencies. ( i think it should be midrange speakers, that play the middle frequencies)

- this is the cheap all-in-one unit for ppl not using amps

Fusebox?
-a box that holds the fuse, in between battery and amplifier, installed just after battery, some add another just before the amp.

Gold Plated Fuses?
-most fuses are gold plated oledi. goes inside fusebox, need suitable one for your amp power.

RCA cable?
- cable that comes from HU to amp.

Crossover?
-2 types, electronic crossover to divide the frequencies to different amps, or passive crossover that divides the sound to different speakers (tweeter & midrange)

Capasistor?
- a temporary power storage for amplifiers used for bass heavy systems for cars with inadequate charging.

aiya letih taip......... :mad: :mad:

ky69 said:
I want to install ICE in my car and i took my car to the audio shop.He said if wanna nice sound must install at least Rm10k of product.He tell me all the audio system that i dunno what is that please help me on this

Tweeter?
Fusebox?
Gold Plated Fuses?
RCA cable?
Crossover?
Capasistor?
What is all this stuff?

how good you want your system be? 10k can do lots of thing and can buy some high end product already

Cheap got cheap play, expensive got expensive play... Still your budget is important. Basically rm3k can get a midlle end already:
HU with minimum 2 pre-out 600-800
2ch amp for speakers 400
2ch amp for sub that bridgeble 400
component speakers 400-500
12" and box 600
2 RCA cable 100
low pass filter coil 80-100
speakers cable, power cable, fuse, workmanship 200.
Try to get a good installer, if not you will regret after this (airplane sound).
The above price is a guide only, is actually my ICE setup.

devil said:
Huiyoh! 3 ways setup in Satria ... Hope u r driving automatic .. I dare not think of 3 ways cos I know it cannot fit in my Gti.

2 12' Sub.... Hmm... you practially will have zero space at the back ... but now I assume u should be installed with 1 x 12' and you likely will have min space to put a beg huh .. haha!
eh, ya ka? hahaha I don't know la. It's just tentative plans only. Since you say the 3-ways can't fit in your GTI, I guess it can't fit in my car too. If there isn't a 3-way that can fit, then I'll just thrash the idea of that 3-way. hahahaha

No ler, don't have 12" subs yet but with the box, I know it's going to take up quite a bit of space. Again, this is just tentative plans and will be altered if needs be lor.

I don't know much about ice, just a bit of here and there about the brands when I flip through car mags. hehehe So just rough plans to see if it falls in place. :)

May I ask if you've upgraded your ICE and if you did, what kind of setup are you currently using? Maybe can give some ideas on an average good enough setup for a satria, assuming it's for my own listening pleasure and I'm the type who likes bass. hehehe

zenn seefu : aiya, give face a bit la. You and I were once noobies like him :D

KY69 bro : if you want to setup ICE there are a few things you MUST invest on.

1. A good player (Otherwise known as Head Unit - HU). Must have RCA output and make sure the RCA out (otherwise known as PREOUT) is at least 4Volts (4V)

2. A good amplifier. 4-channel is most of the time preferred to save cost. Other get two 2-channel amplifiers. 4 channel means it has 4 outputs. Meaning you can connect 4 speakers to a 4-channel amplifier. 2-channel means you can only connect 2 speakers.

3. A good speaker set. People usually refer to Component sets. Components means it has tweeters (to produce the high range of sound) and midbass (to produce the mid-range of sound) speakers. Good component sets usually cost in the range of RM1K+

4. A good sub-woofer. This is the speaker that produces the thump or boom in techno songs. BOOM BOOM BOOM or THUMP THUMP THUMP depends on what type of sub woofer box you buy. Ported box (box with hole) will usually give you booming bass. Sealed box (box totally sealed, no hole) will give you a more thumpy bass. How loud and how accurate the bass is depends on the brand of subwoofer you buy. Brands like Boschmann, Lightening Audio, Rockford Fosqate are mostly SPL (sound pressure level) woofers. Meaning they were designed to go LOUD. Brands like IDMax, Alpine, Phase Aliante are SQ (sound quality) woofers which gives very controlled and musical bass. They can go loud but are most of the time no match for SPL woofers.

5. Crossover comes in 2 types. Electronic Active crossover or Passive crossover. Most component speakers come with passive crossovers. Passive crossovers basically filter the sound and splits it to go either to the tweeter or the midbass. The passive crossover will basically sends a fixed high frequency sound to the tweeter and fixed mid-range frequency sound to the midbass. Electronic crossovers basically let you control what frequency you want to send to the speakers. Passive is fixed. You need crossovers to ensure the speakers get the proper range of sound otherwise you'll end up with weird sounding music. Woofers producing high frequency sound would sound awful and tweeters producing low range sound might damage the tweeter, etc.

6. Fuses and distribution blocks are basically what is needed to tidy up and protect the sound system. Fuses are used to ensure any short circuit does not damage your amp and all. Distribution block is basically used to split the power cables to go to different amps. One power cable will be pulled from the battery to wherever your amps are, then a distribution block can split the one power cable to 2 cables to go to your amps.

7. Don't worry about capacitors and gold plated fuses and all that. Those are just extra things that basic ICE system guys don't need to worry about. Only hardcore ICErs use Capacitors and gold this gold that stuff. Hehehe... :D :D :D

ky69 said:
Tweeter?
Fusebox?
Gold Plated Fuses?
RCA cable?
Crossover?
Capasistor?
What is all this stuff?

Q1. Amplify the sound for technical details please do a google search.

Q2. Playing music at High Frequency where other speakers don't for technical details please do a google search.

Q3. Woofer mainly Mid Bass those speakers you place on the door, sizes usually range frm 4" to 8" for technical details please do a google search.
Subwoofer, those big kick ass speakers usually placed in the lugguage compartment that ranges frm 8" to 22"; for technical details please do a google search.
Midbass... errr... for technical details please do a google search.

Q4. 2 Way speaker, usually these type the speakerS are seperated equipments. Meaning, the midbasses and tweeters are seperated; for technical details please do a google search.
3 Way speaker, usually means that the tweeter is placed with the midbass. Gives less quality in sound and very hard to tune; for technical details please do a google search.
4 way... for technical details please do a google search.

Q5. Fusebox, a place to keep fuse. This is very grey coz anyone drives a car MUST have a fusebox no matter the cost, for technical details please do a google search.

Q6. Gold Plated Fuses is where the fuse are "celup" with gold plated material and not gold its self to save cost and look bling² like gold. For technical details please do a google search.

Q7. RCA cable are signal cable send through frm equipment to equiptment. It comes in a pair and thicker than speaker wires. These cable have heads to be plugged frm the HU to AMP. USE good RCA get better results, for technical details please do a google search.

Q8. Crossover, errr... to get to the other side? He he he :tongue:. Well this is an equipment to seperate your frequencies before the amp, for technical details please do a google search.

Q9. Capasitors are like car batteries. They keep power to juice up your amps so your car battery won't die too soon, for technical details please do a google search.

Q10. All these stuff may or might not be needed to setup your system. If you have no clue of these then DON'T jump the gun and blindly install them. Go for a meetup and learn a few basic things or two. Due to market influence, I bet there are ALLOT of people WILLING to help you. Well it all ends up TO YOUR CHOICE and no one can stop you from there. Remember to ask QUESTIONS to yourself...
i. Is this the kind of sound I want to?
ii. What about those shaitties days, I want to crank up - can it go?
iii. Shoot now I don't have money to eat! Should I have gone with that alcheapo instead?
iv. Will I be an addict and less pak toh sessions for me?
v. WILL THESE BE ENOUGH?!

Happy hunting dude :wink:

Izso said:
Phase Aliante are SQ (sound quality) woofers which gives very controlled and musical bass. They can go loud but are most of the time no match for SPL woofers.

Izso taiko

absolutely agreed with you!But let me rephrase:

Phase Aliante are SQ (sound quality) woofers which gives very controlled and musical bass. They can go loud but are most of the time no match for SPL woofers in term of SPL but when it come to SQL - NO match from SPL woofers.They are tamed n obedient pony not wild horse :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

and one more point if u have extra cash, go do the grounding n install a voltage stabilizer, it will be very good for your overall ice system. :smile:

Subwoofer and component speakers advice

Need a little help on choosing subwoofers. Between Pioneer TS-W300R and Kickers C124 12" subwoofer, which is better for SQ?

Also on component speakers, many people selling the SoundStream LS.60c. Is this componenet speakers good for SQ listening?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

hhtoh88 said:
Need a little help on choosing subwoofers. Between Pioneer TS-W300R and Kickers C124 12" subwoofer, which is better for SQ?

Also on component speakers, many people selling the SoundStream LS.60c. Is this componenet speakers good for SQ listening?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

since u haven't bought anything, whats your budget? :smile: I can suggest you something better in term of sq :smile:

Hey Hatyai Prince wanna install ICE in ur car.I heard nowadays my friend said u always go to hatyai find that girl?

You may want to start off reading up car audio magazines or do a search for car audio basics on the www and you'll find plenty to read. Once you're equipped with some basic knowledge of what each equipment in the link (system) does, then you can come back here to discuss how to put together a good sounding system. 10k is not little money, which you have to know what you want or you may end up getting only 1/2 of what its worth if you pick the wrong place to buy. An alternative is to join local car audio gatherings where you can slowly pick up what it is all about and what people are trying to achieve.

I got a tough one to ask sifus.

It's regarding component speakers for my front. Now everything is stock but I took off my stuff from previous car. Here's my delima. Oh BTW, I'm into SPL cuz I can't stand very sharp tweeters.

I went to CV audio and Peter recommended me Alpine Type R component at 790 and a better one SoundStream Picasso at 1xxx. Haven't ask him to test both items for listening pleasure.

Then I went to another shop can't remember the name and they push for MB Quart and Epsilon 62T @ 500. MB Quart the guy didn't mention price.

Now I'm all confuse liao. Well actually my budget is 600 for component set but RMS at least 100W. Dunno whether got or not.

Here is my existing stuff :

1 pair 12" Rockford Punch woofer in box

1 pair 6x9 3-way Infinity Kappa

1 2-channel Rockford amp (purplish pink color) dunno what wattage

1 2-channel Rockford amp (black color) dunno what wattage

1 JBL active cross-over

The amps I beqeath from previous car owner so I dunno how the tell the wattage but confirm very very old model.

CV audio, KF Audio, & Tehnichi all say the rear speakers take out and not put so that the woofer sound pressure can go thru the rear speaker holes.

I see some sifus here also put the rear speakers. Now I dunno what liao.

Comments please.

Thanks.

use the more powerful RF amp for the sub, maybe get a ported box since u like SPL. use the other RF ap for the front comps, get the alpine type-R its got good bass and tweeter isnt sharp. no need 6x9 bcoz u already have sub. if u install it will only cause some cancellation when they play the same frequencies resulting in crappy bass.

Great seefu Zenn has spoken :D

Erm.. you got some interesting stuff in your car.

1 pair 12" Rockford Punch woofer in box b]

1 pair 6x9 3-way Infinity Kappa b]

1 2-channel Rockford amp (purplish pink color) dunno what wattage b]

1 2-channel Rockford amp (black color) dunno what wattage b]

1 JBL active cross-over b]

And like Zenn said, get the Alpine Type-R speakers. Those are quite nice entry level component speakers which aren't harsh on the ears in terms of tweeters. I am quite sensitive to sharp sounding tweeters so brands like Lightening audio and Boschmann (both SPL brands btw) are a no-no for me. I used to use the Alpine Type-S and now using the Type-X model. All quite ok and not sharp at all.

Don't buy any extra amp yet for your front comps until you've tested and utilized your RF amps. Otherwise they'll be just sitting in your storage room growing fungus which is a waste for RF branded amps. Especially if they are the old-school ones.

And like what seefu mnkh0027 said, join some of the ICE TTs that they have and audit some of the setups there and decide on the brand and setup you want. :D