photography books for a noobie

hid3

I've a lot of interest in photography, but due to time constraints wasnt able to pick it up during my school days until now.. i was hoping all the pro's out there can recommend me on what books to read up for beginners like me. hmm.. talk about digital ones.. for a person like me to be in the IT industry i still havent got a clue on how to use the different functions and options in the digitalcam... lolz.. :biggrin: all help is most appreciated.

oh yes there's another thing, which digicam would you recommend? i've narrowed the scope down to 3 cams as below:

1) Canon IXUS 50
2) Panasonic FX 8
3) Casio Exilim S500

erm...
panasonic fx-8 is de upgrade version of fx-7... cos fx-7 de stablizor not tat good..

if u wan a pro pic quality go for nikon... very nice.. or not fuji..

if u wan sumthing cheap n good then go for canon

hi there, actually u dun have to buy books to kick start yr journey, there're online materials available, something like dpreview.com is good. lots of imaging techniques & glossaries.

as for the cameras.if i've not mistaken, those 3 are point-and-shoot cameras. i suggest u to try canon's A series camera. cheap & cheerful with lotsa functions.

Mr sterling^moss has a point. Don't waste money buying books when there's loads of info from the internet. Else, you could also join the local photography forums like
http://www.photokaki.com or http://www.photomalaysia.com

One quick way to start out would be to read the camera's manual. It's usually meant for newbies to understand basic photography stuff.

Just shoot A LOTS of pics with different setting. You'll catch up faster.

thanks a million for the help guys.. all are most appreciated. I'll keep those adivses in mind. ermm.. one last thing.. any camera recommendation for a newbie like me??

NOSkill said:
Canon A95

i was abt to say the same there, mate. any canon A series cameras are good for newbies & semi pros. cheap & loaded with manual functions. try this A620 7.1 Mega pixels

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/images/canon_a620.gifhttp://www.dpreview.com/reviews/images/canon_a620.gif

or perhaps the IS with 12x zoom (for voyuer shots :P)
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/images/canon_s2is.gif

but if you got $$ to burn, should try this, the G6
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/images/canon_g6.gif
but if you've just kena toto or big sweep...then make sure u bring this to capture the moment u get the mock cheque from vincent tan/ananda krishnan
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/images/canon_pro1.gif
have fun!

satria_95 said:
Nikon D70. hehehe Or Canon 20D. hehehehe
I'm shopping for a used 300D. 350D is still expensive for me. 20D is like rm7k??

i'm using a IXUS 50.. works perfect for me... loads of functions...
but, only very fragile..

i dont know why... but i find the nikon pictures run very fast.... ur hand must be super still if wana capture a perfect picture... always the colour run wan... i dono whats the correct word to describe it...

NOSkill,
Pricing wise, I'm not very familiar but if performance wise, I've seen some really nice canon photos even from the 300D. :)
Go for it, dude! hehehe

AXXeLL said:
i'm using a IXUS 50.. works perfect for me... loads of functions...
but, only very fragile..

i dont know why... but i find the nikon pictures run very fast.... ur hand must be super still if wana capture a perfect picture... always the colour run wan... i dono whats the correct word to describe it...
Motion blur??

satria_95 said:
NOSkill,
Pricing wise, I'm not very familiar but if performance wise, I've seen some really nice canon photos even from the 300D. :)
Go for it, dude! hehehe
Yea, but the shop currently has no used 300D. I just need to be patient.