Petrol Station - Need help..

sas_world

Hi ZTHers..

Generally, i need some help from u guys... i'm interested to build petrol stations hence I'm looking few small piece of land to develop few petrol stations...

Since most of us live in Klang Valley, do u mind to share where are good and strategic locations for petrol stations? :angel_smile:

I'm not familiar with Klang Valley, Shah Alam, Klang, Putrajaya except Ampang area and it seems Ampang is an developed area... there are plenty petrol stations in Ampang already.. :confused_smile:
Maybe if you guys have spotted a good location and the needs to have a petrol station which is close to ur housing area or office, please share with me.. New/developing housing area is also very helpful..

Cheers!

infernaL said:
isnt the location tendered ?

True, if you 'dont' have a piece of land...

if you have money to buy a piece of land, you can propose to Shell/Projet/Petronas/Mobil/etc and they will decide whether the location would give them benefits or not...

once they've agreed, they will start injecting money to build a petrol station/kiosk...
:regular_smile:

not to mentioned you'll need a certified reserve capital of god-i-forgot-how-much-but-its-freaking-alot................

anyway wil look out for u....would I get any incentives??.....
dun mind free petrol for 1/2 year though.......hahahaha

...............eerrr........are you a bumi? if you are not a bumi you can just forget about dreaming of a petrol station.......sad but true.

Ya..wat devious17 said is quite true..my dad did tried to apply for projet petrol station but unfortunately no reply at all.
U might be able to solve this problem by using more $...lol...

My ex's mum owned a shell petrol station and I found out that they did not earn much and no free petrol too.

if u can consider outside klang valley, there's a petrol station land for sale in melaka. located in bukit katil. i dont know how much is the price for the land. just saw the signboard while using the road.

devious17 said:
...............eerrr........are you a bumi? if you are not a bumi you can just forget about dreaming of a petrol station.......sad but true.

yea...mostly only for bumi.....any yet, some chinese are partnering wit bumi to open up a petrol station....mean using the bumi guy's name for registration......sometrhing like tat...otherwise cant get approval....

not to offense anyone, but this is the fact..fact for malaysian!

correct me if i'm wrong, putrajaya and cyberjaya got nothing but PETRONAS,
and it's only 1 at cyberjaya. Maybe you can try there.

Bandar Utama is full of loaded ppl, they have bigger CC car (SUV like harrier) and they have more luxury cars under 1 roof (E46 need to park outside the gate because inside got weekend Porche and wife's Harrier), you may try there, but I was told that no more Petrol Station are allow to be built nearby BU housing area .

managing petrol station is not very good business now a day,
the entity who gain biggest benefit from the fuel price hike are manufacturer like SHELL, EXXONMOBIL, PETRONAS and etc.

not petrol station, because the commission per lit still the same,
and with high fuel price, car owner tends to use lesser fuel and smaller car (which consume lesser fuel) are more popular.

sas_world, all be best for your Petrol Station business. And don't tell ZTHian your location, else they will ask for free gift or discount instead of giving you new business :laugh:

my area got all type of brand, but i don't get my fuel at my area, reason behind: lousy equipment (not digital air pump!), bad toilet, and attitude.

In 1 of the SHELL petrol station have a note on the cashier, "Credit card only for transaction more than RM30 and above", WTF, my money, my car and my credit card, and you telling me the minimum amount i shall pump?! they need to know who is the boss here!

Petrol station? Nowadays, whether your have the land or not doesn't matter. If you don't have at least RM 300k for a petrol station, forget it.

Best petrol company ( for those who's interested to be dealers ) nowadays is Shell and Petronas ( although until today, Petronas fuel quality is still a question ).

Other than lots of cash ( and the ability to hold on to the station for the 1st few years, as the probability of your making profit for the 1st year is slim ), you have to be a very patient man, able to spend at least 10 hours a day at the station, must know inside - out of the station, from repairing the pump hoses to troubleshooting computer platforms used in today's petrol stations.

Business politics is another matter also.

Location : go for newly - developed housing estates. Depends on which kind of housing estates you locate your business to, it's gonna be either : a good cash flow due to more cash sales, or a dire cash flwo due to more credit card sales.

Best location for a petrol station is always at the main entrance of the said housing estate.

The problem of CCs is that the banks charge a certain amount to the dealers. That is why they ask for a minimum of purchase if you want to use a CC. Same lah at other business / shops oso.

A correctly - located petrol station that's been properly run and the towkay knows to keep his books in order, can make lots of moolah, that's for sure. And keep to those 2 major petroleum companies, and God - willing, you'll do fine.

if you are a non chinese,tamil,sikh and the dan lain-lain only will you be eligible to run a petrol station, those chinese owned kiosk you see are those who have been in the business for a long time before the stupid regulation was made and now they are all just waiting for their contract to expire and taken over by those non chinese,tamil,sikh and the dan lain-lain ( I hate the term non bumi so I used non chinese,tamil,sikh and the dan lain-lain instead)