Painting a car [HELP]

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Well taikor vr2, its really kinda hard to tell coz some items in ACE are really cheaper than outside e.g car wax sponge (ace selling RM1.90, others selling RM2.50, the cheapest i could find), car detailing products same price with others but sometimes ACE would have some discount. Some sort like item of the month.

I personally used a spray paint from ACE hardware before (Their own brand) and I gotta say, it is good. Cost is 30-40% higher but it is better than Nippon Pylox. The spray nozzle is of high quality and better design. And I dont know if it's my noob feeling or what, it actually last longer than Nippon Pylox.

twistedichc

Jan 22, 2013
Ampang Point
Well taikor vr2, its really kinda hard to tell coz some items in ACE are really cheaper than outside e.g car wax sponge (ace selling RM1.90, others selling RM2.50, the cheapest i could find), car detailing products same price with others but sometimes ACE would have some discount. Some sort like item of the month.

I personally used a spray paint from ACE hardware before (Their own brand) and I gotta say, it is good. Cost is 30-40% higher but it is better than Nippon Pylox. The spray nozzle is of high quality and better design. And I dont know if it's my noob feeling or what, it actually last longer than Nippon Pylox.
yeah forgot 2 mention that, do not use Pylox it is crap for outdoor use, well i bought 1 from a hardware brand have 2 double check, got the flat black for my bumper & grill, still looks fine untill now & only bought it for RM6.5 only, later have time take a pic of my finished job & put it in my album in my bio, check out my kancil legroom lite:biggrin:

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
yeah forgot 2 mention that, do not use Pylox it is crap for outdoor use, well i bought 1 from a hardware brand have 2 double check, got the flat black for my bumper & grill, still looks fine untill now & only bought it for RM6.5 only, later have time take a pic of my finished job & put it in my album in my bio, check out my kancil legroom lite:biggrin:
really pylox is crap for outdoor usage? I sprayed my wira center console so it's kinda indoor and its holding up good so far. I use pylox clear for my plastidip clear coat. Not much but just to hold the plastidip and enhance the shine.

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Originally Posted by LesleyAprotto
Sorry to interrupt,

Just tumpang to ask a bit...

Im not hijacking this thread....

Since you all are talking about spray paint in cans,

Can anyone assist me in where to find good quality

FLOURESCENT COLOURED PAINT ?

I wanna spray my sports rims...

I was thinking of flourescent green for the centre hub of my sports rims...

well bro lesley, those fluo type u can get @ a good hardware, just ask for 2 star spray paint coz the colour difference & heat resistant factor, for the 3 star ones also limited colours but it made for the heat resistance that u can use it for the exzos too
Thanks Alan for the reference...

Hey Twistedichc, I didnt know such paint got star rating...

So which star rating is suitable for sportsrims?:confused:

well mine is not the original paint from toyota. so i really need a custom one. if minimum 1 liter can they make it into a spray can? because i dont have the sprayer.
Nope, they won't be able to can them in spray can. They mix for spray shop, because I followed spray painter there and had a look....

---------- Post added at 07:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:53 AM ----------

If you compare to accessory shop probably cheaper or same but I am talking about local hardware shop. Or probably because my local hardware shop is old school in old town...haha:biggrin:
I wanted a switch for my tap to water filter, ACE selling RM35, bought at Hardware shop RM20.
Now buy most of my stuff from HW shop, near my place also....:biggrin:

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
im actually asking for something like in this video
Bumper Paint Touchup - YouTube
you can skip to 2:40 for the part where the paint is made. i saw this in lots of tutorials on youtube.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
If you compare to accessory shop probably cheaper or same but I am talking about local hardware shop. Or probably because my local hardware shop is old school in old town...haha:biggrin:
I wanted a switch for my tap to water filter, ACE selling RM35, bought at Hardware shop RM20.
Now buy most of my stuff from HW shop, near my place also....:biggrin:
haha i guess most items, the Kedai Perniagaan Logam XXX will be cheaper than ACE..or XXX Hardware haha...but at my area, only got 1 good hardware shop. Others are selling cheap stuffs...even the paint, once i bought a silver spray paint for RM6. Used 1/4 only then the nozzle broken lolllll so fragile. But i love shops like ACE Hardware...its a shopping place for us LOL :rofl:

Nope, they won't be able to can them in spray can. They mix for spray shop, because I followed spray painter there and had a look....
Got la. I had a custom red colour mixed into a spray for my old Kelisa bumper repair.

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
Got la. I had a custom red colour mixed into a spray for my old Kelisa bumper repair.
where bro? mahal tak?

alantjw

Mar 26, 2008
i think its ok to try 1 can first. its almost the same price as Plastidip anyways

As I said earlier, I need to get a can mixed for a mini project of my own. If you're interested we can get it done at the same time.

fazidk

As I said earlier, I need to get a can mixed for a mini project of my own. If you're interested we can get it done at the same time.
Yes bro count me in too :)

hi all, i'm planning to buy a new engine on my wira aeroback 1.3..going for half-cut....my choice is Mivec 1.6+rear breakdisk but without putting in the dashboard,and bodykit to save my $$$$...i'm preparing about 7k in about 4 month...is it possible to get a rear breakdisk and mivec engine for only 7k...can u advise how much money should i prepare....

and can you guys list down what kind of meter can i put into my car ofter my mivec transplant example = autotimer,mivec...