Our astro'nuts' project

koolspyda said:
even the US F14s tomcats retired liu (top gun fame).
http://home.hamptonroads.com/stories/story.cfm?story=100929&ran=17141

maybe the ruskies too sell retired old junkies for a man in space

>too bad no flux capasitorsquote]

BINGO! the malaysian govt spent a few BILLION USD to buy some 'latest' technology fighter planes from the russians. this was waaaaaaaaaaaay above the market rates. the french were selling the exact same planes at a MUCH cheaper rate. this deal was done under DrM's era if i memory serves me right.

got this from space.com

February 9

Competition Heats Up for Malaysia’s Astronaut Hopefuls

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (AP) – A dentist, a car designer and a female engineer are among eight people remaining in the race to become Malaysia's first astronaut.

The eight, whose names were announced by the government late Wednesday, underwent a battery of physical and psychological examinations to outlast more than 11,000 other Malaysians who applied for the selection process in 2003.

Four will be shortlisted next month to travel to Russia for a medical test that will whittle their ranks to two finalists, who will undergo 18 months of training at the Russian Space Agency in Moscow, said Science and Technology Minister Jamaluddin Jarjis.

But only one will have the chance to spend up to 10 days in October 2007 in a planned scientific expedition on board the International Space Station, the minister said.

S. Vanajah, the only woman among the final eight, voiced hopes that she would inspire other Malaysian women to participate in science-related projects, saying her achievement proved that women could compete alongside men in rigorous trials.

“Becoming an astronaut is the pinnacle of success for a person,'' Vanajah, a 35-year-old quality engineer, told the national news agency, Bernama.

Her competitors comprise two pilots, a military dental surgeon, a doctor, an automotive designer and two other engineers, whose ages range from 25 to 36.

Officials have estimated Malaysia's space program will ultimately cost around US$25 million (euro20 million), but it will be offset as part of a US$900 million (euro750 million) defense deal struck with Moscow in 2003 to buy 18 Sukhoi Su-30 MKM fighter jets. ...........................................true ?

Our Gov. purchased a bunch of aging Sukhois for quite a tidy sum, and in deep gratitude Putin agreed to buy shitloads of our palm oil produce, and knowing our Gov penchant for ego projects, throws in a bonus of shooting two of our guys into space. Sold! :)

jombiee said:
got this from space.com

Officials have estimated Malaysia's space program will ultimately cost around US$25 million (euro20 million), but it will be offset as part of a US$900 million (euro750 million) defense deal struck with Moscow in 2003 to buy 18 Sukhoi Su-30 MKM fighter jets. ...........................................true ?

PHEEEEWWW! i'm not going senile yet as i thought i may be! but then again, having memory loss (among other things from being senile) isnt that bad. that way, you get to forget about the sins of BN and live a more peaceful life.

Jombiee has hit the spot for the 'trade agreement' between Russia and DrM.

malaysia boleh!! if malaysia 'tak boleh', how are we to have 'towering malays' and become an industrialised country in 2020? not to mention, khir toyo(L) says 'selangor boleh' as well (inline with the national motto of malaysia boleh) and has already become and industrialised state. PJ will be a city come this June.

In malaysia, anything is boleh-wan and it's always 'semuanya ok'.

http://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/430062/2/istockphoto_430062_middle_finger.jpghttp://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/430062/2/istockphoto_430062_middle_finger.jpghttp://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/430062/2/istockphoto_430062_middle_finger.jpghttp://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/430062/2/istockphoto_430062_middle_finger.jpg

Here is my salute to all those astronuts and OUR G !

How do u pronounce that ?
Sukhoi SU30 = Suk hoi, Sok Hai, Suck Hai, So Hai....:_:

Hai(in cantonese) = Pussy

"Our Gov. purchased a bunch of aging Sukhois for quite a tidy sum,"

Good......more search and rescue work for the military and Headlines for newspapers when a So Hai SU30 go crashing down the forest...Hahahaha

Next time, when i see a So Hai SU30 flying in the sky, I will lift up my son and point to the plane and say:
"son, look there's a So Hai flying in the sky then when got white smoke come out from the plane can see fire work"

y de middle finger so short 1? longger better! ekeke

http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/1910/a0op.png

space.com said:
“Becoming an astronaut is the pinnacle of success for a person,'' Vanajah, a 35-year-old quality engineer, told the national news agency, Bernama.

heh, so we are all failures?

quite a bold statement made by her there. so what if you've been to space?

si|verfish said:
Everyone's entitled to their opinions.

yalar..what I'm saying is, she doesnt have to speak for the whole world.

if she thinks going to space is her biggest goal in life, so be it, it's not mine.

she could have used " going to space is the goal of my life" or something along those lines

Well, not everyone considers what comes out of their mouths that much. A good example is the good minister who recently chose to "advise" the non-muslims to shut the fuck up or risk being set upon by rabid dogs...or something along those lines.

I remember i saw the news about their G test at TUDM ....this "amazing" lady can't tahan at 5G...i wonder how she gonna take the G when she is strap in the rocket~~

escaflowne said:
I remember i saw the news about their G test at TUDM ....this "amazing" lady can't tahan at 5G...i wonder how she gonna take the G when she is strap in the rocket~~

i think when the rocket fly-up , her breast will go to the back lah !
that why she can't tahan the 5 G ! :rofl:

yes true... education for the future children is more important than sending the nuts up the space for a free ride.

itz not as if we're doing some space exploration .......