Need your opinion on this.

marcuszzz

hi guys, i wanna ask about the estimated cost to knock back my car's dent.. the dent is at the back, just before the tail lights. No paint has came off, i suspect someone vandalise my car with bare fist :angry: . im driving a black proton iswara. i just wanna get you guys opinion before i go to the workshop, i dont wanna get ripped off by the work shop.

thanks.

If your car is not badly dented, you can DIY knock it back.

Here's my experience in fixing a big dent on my car:

http://img164.exs.cx/img164/65/dentsm1qf.jpg
As you can see, the metal has been pushed in BUT no paint chipped off.

http://img109.exs.cx/img109/4857/aftersm2pk.jpg
After: Dent fixed. However, since it was my first time, I pushed on the dent at too many places, making the metal uneven (as you can see from the reflection).

Tools: Rubber mallet, toilet plunger.

Process: From the inside of your trunk, feel for the dent. Use the plunger to suck out the dent from the outside. Apply gentle pressure on the dent and give a sharp pull. Once the dent is more or less "pulled back", use the rubber mallet and hammer GENTLY from the inside. DO NOT APPLY a lot of FORCE as it will make the dent area uneven and cause paint chips. And hammer the dent area uniformly. Don't focus too much on one area.

Happy DIYing!

if juz knock bk dent, e cos is no high, if u wan fix it wif paiting job thn other story lo,

example: i go fix my car's bonet, dented cos i kiss a volvo ass, e labour charge 4 it only RM70, but painting job cos me RM200+-

Last time my kancil front kena langgar, size of a football and as deep as half a football (soccer ball, mind you).

Total cost of knocking and repainting the whole section and some bumper = RM300.

Then after that got motorbike langgar his handlebar into the back of my kancil... but I didn't bother to knock it back.

wah.. nice work la imoloq.. better DIY at part which don't have chasis frame = save ur pocket, unless it was serious..

Write your reply...