Need Opinion on Smart 4 2

jeanloo

Dear all sifu,

Like to hear your opinion on whether the Smart for 2 at RM 65K (NEW Car) @ 2.6% interest is a good buy? All feedbacks will be much appreciated.

P/S: Can anyone tell me anything about afta starting midyear this year?

Depends on u..
Actually this car have its good and bad..

The good thing is this car safe petrol and can park at anywhere as i have saw 2 smart park at 1 parking at shopping center.
Very grand when it in city at night..

The bad things is this car is not use for racing coz the front too near once (touch wood) bang.. leg also bye bye lor..
Somemore this car use 3hole rim (like Tiara, look carefully)

Good luck..

Previously i saw in this forum that Si Kheong Star is selling such price. Now this 1 is from Lowe motors of Penang giving such offer. for 4 about 62k, for 2 bout 66k. Got test drive some more free buffet, key chains and pen even if you don't buy any car. Very tempting at this price. The only turn down is that you don't get to choose the colour, subject to availability.

smart for 2 is not smart to buy if u have many friends, u know lar..haha

about maintanance is ok ok lor, about 50000km or more for next service.

save fuel also. is very good for city driving, sales person that always go here and there, easy parking.

but if u always go out will many people, always with family or having a family, always go far far place, You can get smart for 4 lor. nice looking car, plastic body(no need worry will get scratch or paint drop), got sunroof. (if the deal is like what jeanloo said )hahaha..

Well, it still depend on ur interest lar, the deal is not bad lar if u are looking for a european car.

smaft fortwo is a cute car. can be a chick magnet too.
it is super economical, the 660cc turbo motor is fun in town but tiring on long haul trip.

its small size let u drive and go almost anywhere like a motorbike, easy to park or squeez in tight traffic.

downside is..for a 65K its expensive and only seats two. luggage capability is small. and u cant make love in it. at least, not a comfortable one.
depreciation would be bad too.

its cheaper than the Peugoet 206CC too, which also seats 2 with style.

not a smart way to spend money.

Smart= Plastic stuck together...and they call it smart..

65k??
Make / Model Price (RM)
SMART FORFOUR 1.3 (PASSION) 101,837.95
SMART FORFOUR 1.5 (PASSION) 116,808.35
SMART FORTWO CABRIO (PASSION) 89,917.66
SMART FORTWO COUPE (PASSION) 83,746.00
SMART ROADSTER 140,198.25

this is from star....i dont see any car near 65 or 66k???

For a country plagued with high import taxes...the smart is NOT a smart choice...

bro carefull about the 2nd hand value.although is brand new... is maybe 04 new car or 03 if u are lucky it will be 05.. so is like u buying ungregisted car... 05/07... check on papers, magazine that sell cars.... call any and find out the market value .. and u make ur own homework whether is worth it a not.. .. lets say one year they drop about 40-50% of the new price better don buy u will lose alot. but if u like it and don mind i cannot say antthing is all up to u ... just to tell u when usell it will follow ur 05 not 07

jean, i was in lowe motors looking at the Cs. I saw a smart 2 there with broken rear. Someone told me that a civic hit the rear and its front was badly damaged, while the smart just required some minor fixing thats all.

May be it was just the sales man doing his job, or may be the incident was real. Up to you to decide :)

Thanks bro S1997. I think it's a true case scenario cause usually when a car kiss another from behind, the kisser will suffer badly. Once I saw a Toyota SE limited kiss an Iswara, the Toyota bonnet kemek teruk, but the Iswara bumper jatuh only. We all know the SE Limited is 1 damn solid car right? Anyway I think the for 4 is a good buy is compare to Myvi. Add 10 K you get a CBU continental built with all those extra safety features right?

Well my fren brought for2 and is a turbo series.....which addition called Brabus.....is hell of a power car.......he brought it at CC (cycle n carriage) as a test drive car.....so consider a 2nd hand car but have warranty as a new car.....he got it at 80k++ which origanally the car cost 90k++........but is fun to drive around city and is not good for long distance...........but is a very cute car.........i use it as my wedding car....hahahah........

Well, put it this way :

- Safety - wise, yes, the car is pretty strong for such a small size. I forgot the chassis, was it Triton or what Tri I also forget oledi.
- You'll get massive fuel mileage per litre as the car is damn light.
- People will ogle at your car.
- Easy to drive and park.

But....
- Only carries two people and limited luggage, smaller than Kancil's luggage area.
- Can drive long distance, but if you can bear a long - distance top speed of around 110 kph ( safe long distance driving for such as a small engine! )
- If you're willing to live with the car's badly depreciation rate ( remember, u buy at only RM 60k++, once you own the car and you want to sell it off, at least you have to chop 20 - 30 percent off the buying price, although you may only own the car for one year! ), well, maybe it's a good buy for you.

So, weigh up the pro's and con's lah.