need help bout exhaust

reedoor

Hi all,

im driving a GTI & i wud like to change my exhaust system, but im not pro in this.
i wud like to exchange with someone whos using a straight piping with muffler (not those pipe bent till like kemek to 1 side like tat), like 5-zigen or tanabe design (after i hav some idea, i will post at the correct place).

hmm... so, can anyone tell me, wats de best size, piping for my car? 2.5in "inlet"? wat does "inlet" means anyway? hahaha... mean de diameter of de pipe, rite? my criteria is tat i can accept it to b soft & bassz sound but not blaaaaaaaa.... so loud.

Or... anyone can giv me any idea... ur comment wud b much appreciated. Thx!
Or anyone wanna exchange? i can top-up some :)
cheers...

Inside a muffler

http://static.howstuffworks.com/gif/muffler-cutopen.jpg

I also want 2 know a good combination of exhaust systems..

direct piping sure will be loud le... why don u make s-piping + a muffler. if noisy then add 1 middle bullet.

this is an HKS silent... hehe.. look nice..

najibkl,
thx for de info. :)

gloss,
yea... this is exactly de design in my mind. but wats so different for straight & s-piping? wat about silencer? add in silencer then meaning "silent"??? hahaha... then, wat about power? with silencer, will it affect much flow?

Oo yea, wud like to know also...
my fren also recommend me to use either 2.3 or 2.5 inch piping for my car, but, wats de different?

& i did went to c test a forummer's exhaust, hes using 2in piping, but seems bit loud on his 1.3, but he mentioned tat is his piping is in my car, then wudnt b tat loud & wud b more bassy sound & more "quiet", isit true a?

Please help man...

Someone told me that straight piping can provide more pickup...is it true??And if we wan better top speed add more than 1 mid bullet.....true ha??

may i suggest u R3 Tuned Exhaust System :rolleyes:
it should be the best setup for GTi (i presume ur Drving Satria GTi)
for the sound.. i think it would be bassy as it should be within permitted range, like Satria S.E 1.5 :biggrin:

anyway.. don't get ur self to large piping (i.e: 2.5 inch diameter piping) coz will loose pickup power.. as far as i know.
for the sound.. go test a few muffler at exhaust shop. as them, they'll let u hear. :wink:

-just a piece of my mind-

good luck. post again the end result ok

artraider said:
may i suggest u R3 Tuned Exhaust System :rolleyes:
it should be the best setup for GTi (i presume ur Drving Satria GTi)
for the sound.. i think it would be bassy as it should be within permitted range, like Satria S.E 1.5 :biggrin:

anyway.. don't get ur self to large piping (i.e: 2.5 inch diameter piping) coz will loose pickup power.. as far as i know.
for the sound.. go test a few muffler at exhaust shop. as them, they'll let u hear. :wink:

-just a piece of my mind-

good luck. post again the end result ok

yea im driving a GTI. hmm... actually i can accept bassy sound (my filter sound is alredy kinda "loud" already lo), but then i don wan it to b too loud, cos sometimes i need to travel far, & drive 3 to 4 hours, it wudnt b comfort to hav loud "broom broom" sound for de long drive lo...
u're true also, asking exhaust ppl is better, but im kinda bz, dont really hav time to ask around, tats y, asking forummers wud be better lo.. :)
thanks man. Cheers...

skyline2778 said:
Someone told me that straight piping can provide more pickup...is it true??And if we wan better top speed add more than 1 mid bullet.....true ha??
but straight piping is LOUD rite? hmmm....

HELP!! my extractor got crack. WILL it affect the performance and f/c ?
advice needed URGENT! what happen if left unchange?
should i really need to change to new ones?
How much is a standard 1.5 satria extractor will cost?

sorry for borrowing this thread

extractor crack??... ask the foreman weld it back for u lo...
erm, if left unrepaired, u will notice lost of power... when power goes down, u tend to tekan gas more... thus, fc also increase... hehe...

standard satria extractor should be less than rm200 lar if u go for cap ayam ones..

Im looking foward in changing mufler also.. not planing 2 touch extractor nor ctr bullet(if necessary then change ler) neither piping. JUZ mufler...
Wanna ask cfus here wat r the best choice.. for 1.8 n/a manual car.. my aim is 2 get atleast bit of hp, n improve d car look abit.. not reli into those 'subaru' wannabes'.. if can get like the new Saga sound that'll b gr8.. was thinkin 2 get RS*R or 2nd hand muffs.. budget +-500.. again, my concern is increase of hp..
tx..
sori for dizterbing yr thread bro..

FoarGeez said:
Im looking foward in changing mufler also.. not planing 2 touch extractor nor ctr bullet(if necessary then change ler) neither piping. JUZ mufler...
Wanna ask cfus here wat r the best choice.. for 1.8 n/a manual car.. my aim is 2 get atleast bit of hp, n improve d car look abit.. not reli into those 'subaru' wannabes'.. if can get like the new Saga sound that'll b gr8.. was thinkin 2 get RS*R or 2nd hand muffs.. budget +-500.. again, my concern is increase of hp..
tx..
not too sure about muffler... but for normal sedan cars (not Kcar), buy those boxy type... not those small small ones lo.. coz my mech say save petrol wo...
there are many brand to choose from.. if can, ask the mech to test the sound of the muffler make before fixing lo... coz no need regret after fxing... :tee:

FoarGeez said:
tx..

waaa... my thread has bcome not my thread liao lo... hahaha... is ok la...
o yea... for my GTI, if can, i also wud like to jus change muffler, but i donno who shud i ask also la. Eh bro, if u can manage to get any info, & u already got ur final decision on wat to do, pls dont mind hav a lil discuss here le... i wanna no also... :)
cheers...

SkYwAlKeR said:
standard satria extractor should be less than rm200 lar if u go for cap ayam ones..

aiyoh.. if price like dat better buy zenden one :biggrin:

correct me if im wrong, from wat i knoe, the bigger the muffler is, the more quiter itwill be.. .. well im trying 2 get those 4" outlet. looked b4 HKS Dragger(2nd hand) is kinda big and awkward if put with my car..
But then if counter with jpj.. aiyo.. sendiri tanggung la.. if worst come 2 worst might juz change the tips with custom ones.. u knoe la the putra tips looks so ciput(small).. then shouldn't haf much a problem if counter road blocks.. trying 2 make my car street legal as much as possible. :biggrin:

this is the technical exhaust system reference : sucessfully tuned mine using this guide.

http://www.sportcompactcarweb.com/tech/9912scc_ssbbpart2/index.html

However, the article failed to mention same as the magazine did that this is from Apex Integration USA...

1500cc-2000cc engines- 2 inch
2100cc-2500cc engines- 2.25 inch
2600cc-3000cc engines- 2.5 inch
Add half an inch to the pipe diameter to optimize for nitrous oxide use. For turbocharged engines, 2.5 inches is the minimum size pipe to run, even for the smaller engines. For 2000cc and bigger engines, 3 inches works well and for bigger engines, the biggest (usually 3.5 inch) you can find is appropriate.