My Poor Toyota Levin!!!

LE_20V

Hi All, (I am new here)
I bought this car (LE 12V 1985) few months ago at chop chop price, just for fun. I was not really a Japanese Car Fan but I just try as people say Toyota is a good car. When I bought it, the engine was already in bad shape, already "eat oil". so I send it to Kedai Potong and ask the tauke to change the engine! and make it Kaw-Kaw. When it was finished I collected the car and he said, "This is your new Levin!" When I tested drive it, Wow! Better that I thought. The car can "fly" arr! even with auto GB.
From that point my perception of Japanese car, Toyota especially has changed.
So folks, sifu and all, I don't know anything about Levin animal. I heard only about Black top lah.. silver top lah... but I enjoy driving it so much that I am driving it everyday instead of my other continental car.
Please let me know what else do I do with the car? Body parts? Suspension? etc. Some people say go and get LE body kits. Where do I get it? The current 15" tyre kena body, do I change back to 14"? Pity my poor Levin....... Please Advice....

BTW, any LE club here?

VERY clean engine!!!! :D What engine did you put in your baby? Any idea?

I believe the silver/black top usually refers to 4AGE engine variations, can try this link for more info: http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/7177/4ageengines.html

from the pictures itself you can see he running a 20v silvertop auto ...

ahahahaha any car can be a good car, even if toyota is said to be "better", buying a used 1985 car is not the surefire way of getting a good car :lol: u may want to make ur goals and expectations more realistic there. even most AE92s (Toyota SE) oledy start rusting by now, apa lagi Toyota LE!

1. The original body should be ur first concern. if u think ALL (or OLD :lol: ) Toyotas are good cars, check ur car's undercarriage or passenger cabin floor (under the carpet). if there are any rusts in the body seams, joints or the pillars, repair them at ur nearest bodyworks shop. then paint it as nicely as u can.

2. If u "fly" often, yes the suspension should be ur next target. depending on ur livelihood and wealth, the choice are limitless. i assume that when they put ur engine in, they modified the suspension from the halfcut as well? the japanese absorbers from kedai potong coupled with normal lowering springs are good for daily driving. if u can afford it, buy some brand new and branded sets or adjustables.

3. For the wheels, u have 2 solutions. go and learn about wheel offsets and buy the properly fitting sportrims for ur car, OR go to a bodyshop and tell them to knock the wheel arches bcoz the tires are hitting body. they know what to do. it is also sometimes called "rolling the fender arches". Remember to study. Google is your friend.

4. LE bodyparts.... .... . .... gonna be hard to come by. but i wont tell u to stop hoping. just be patient, ask around or go visit as many chop shops as u can. if u're lucky... someone might sell their stuff :D WARNING: they will be expensive. ridiculously expensive :p

glad to know u enjoy the car, but it wont last that long if u dont take care of it. personally id say its better to buy a newer toyota, but its ur money. welcome aboard. have fun and remember, u can search for past topics on any part of the car bcoz most of them have been discussed before.

do visit the http://photobucket.com/albums/v243/AE80TypeD/CarGallery/ link in my signature for ideas or comments. cheers.

Le 20 Valve

Lucky for You, yur enging very clean. and the conversion complete with dashboard , not like my halfcut , the dashboard was banged up already, so used back original dashboard with modified silvertop meter cluster.
My experience, the SVT is reliable (maybe coz i seldon rev it high). biggest problem faced was the fuel regulator kong (need time to identify the problem ,have to diagnose about 2 weeks) .
according to Levin 818 (Sifu WOng) ,Care should be taken to your ECU coz Auto SVT ECU usually have problem when 120 000 km onwards (but can send to him for repair) .

Bodykit usually use AE85 but hard to find, so i stick to stock bodywork.
Next, if you want better cornering , go for Ultra Racing fender bars. The work!.

Suspension, don't know much , but my LE is usinng SEG for front and SE for rear (coz i use discbreak from halfcut for front and AE92 for rear). My collegue says for SE and SEG are same frame (build) , but different load setting .

One thing to ask, you are using your original LE radiator or the LEVIN radiator?

don't worry...most of toyota parts can be used in diferrent model...

BTW...LE_20V do u live in Pandan...by the look of the first pic...

Bro... nice and clean engine you got there.
May I know what is the halfcut mileage clocked?
must be below 100k I assume.

With auto GB, yeah must put to POWER mode to feel the high rev engine power.

anyway... enjoy your ride
:biggrin: :biggrin:

whoa..that was nice...free bump..

i think ae80typeD has mentioned alot...yeah go get a set of suspension

twin brother

Shit, first glance i tot someone was stealing my car!
weicum welcum :rock:

Wow,

Thanks for all your feedback. This is really fun, friendly and helpful group. Some answers to your questions;
1. Yes I m staying in Desa Pandan
2. Mileage is already >100K Km. That's why I got it cheap.
3. Radiator? Gosh... I don't know but I know they replaced everything under the hood. It was a different radiator than the original one.
4. Ultra Racing Fender bar? What is it and where do I get it?

Some more questions;

How do you take care of the ECU? Clean it everyweek? How would I know if I have problem with the ECU?

What is the best tyre size for this car?

Anybody here from Desa Pandan?

LE_20V

ECU...aaaa...
well u can learn to diagnose ur car...see how's ur car condiion...
beleive me, it's help...

http://www.club4ag.com/faq%20and%20tech_pages/ECU%20Diagnostic%20Codes.htm

why don't u join us on TT (Teh Tarik) every fort night...Friday 9.00pm onwards...
then u can join for tech talk...:D
summore u can met all the sifooo who is very nice...
if u lucky enough, they will belanja u...or the other way around :D

toyFan said:
Shit, first glance i tot someone was stealing my car!
weicum welcum :rock:

toyfan, still remember me? we met at TPM with Alan Cheong :biggrin:

anyway, nice car u hv there....

aiya all sifoos..the latest TT at Syed afiff I oredi there but don't know which table..H/P credit gone oredi..don't know to call who??so eat by my self and wife and daughter..which table you all are??? :eek: ..i drive black CORONA ST 150..