my friend need a comparison in these 2 cars

scoupe said:
guys the sales man told my friend if he is a sprited driver than should go for savvy. he said savvy very good handling. handling done by lotus.the savvy very fast to reach 140. he also thinks the wira se absobers are to soft, can anyone verify this. he had a bad experience with second hand car. last time he drive satria. after buying the car got lot of problems. his mech said that car was in floods. by the way i thought wira steering is too light even at 100. is it true?

any car with power assisted steering has light feeling to it. worst if the car is using electric power steering and not engine driven hydraulic power steering pump.

we all can always compensate that by using bigger and heavier wheels. for example, standard wira 1.5 with 13" wheels. changing to 15" wheels will put some weighing on the feel, plus you get improved and more predictable handling out of the car.

i am not very sure about the absorbers of wira SE, but example a perdana V6 does have softer spring to compensate for the 16" alloys.

imagine without softer suspension, after half hour ride, we will have funny feelings in our butts... ha ha ha :lol:

BUT

by simply tune the suspension to be softer will also affect ride and handling. that's why proton ask lotus to help tune the perdana V6.

its visible by the lower front suspension and slightly higher rear compare to normal 4 pot perdana making it akin to diving looks..

wira se n savvy. 4 me wira se is better.even if we heard some complaint about it but i ithink its easier 2 get spare parts compare to savvy.but i heard proton will improve back side of savvy.just wait n see.

i'm drivin a wira SE. and mine is the first batch with serial number and rear disc brake..

imho, the rear suspension is a bit soft worst if u have 3 person sitting at the back..

pick up is quite slow i think coz of 16" rim...other than that is a good car suitable for family...

get wira se. bigger size. savvy look like upgrade from kancil(my view) c liao super sien.

se

I also think the SE is a wiser choise...

But make sure it's da manual version !

The interior is black & it's nicer.....

TaFe said:
i'm drivin a wira SE. and mine is the first batch with serial number and rear disc brake..

imho, the rear suspension is a bit soft worst if u have 3 person sitting at the back..

pick up is quite slow i think coz of 16" rim...other than that is a good car suitable for family...

go for WiSE..... then change sport rim from 16" to 15" for better pick up and ride comfort then change to sports springs to improve handling and looks...

and never bring 3 passenngers at the back! ekekekekekekekekek...

I'd buy a Savvy for comfort and handling but not for the look! And I don't think I would ever buy a Wira LOL

Easy, just go test drive both the cars and your friend will know which one suit him best. CHEERS...

MYVI

Anyway, if your friend is really considering only a Proton, why not get a second hand Waja? cheaper by lot, very good build, of course the catch is still the pricey window, and the notorius gearbox.

But the thing with buying a Savvy and a Wira, savvy's market demand is still in equilibrium with the production numbers, hence the savvy you get, will most probably be a newer car by all means. Take a stroll along the outskirts of KL and you'll know, tonnes of unsold wira, saga, waja were there, laying outside, dried by the hot sun, soaked by rain.... the one that you're getting might be one of it. Savvy ..... really dunno what to say lar, the interior space .... the boot.... the fugly looks (this is subjective) and all..... just get a Myvi.... the queues not long already. around 1 month. But if ever i was pointed a gun next to my head for these two, i'd humbly go for the wira aeroback, at least it looks better, larger interior space, relatively comfy. thats all. But i will always go back and look for a second hand waja if it were to be proton. :)

To fork up sub RM45k for a 'brand new car' with 15 years old tech n design? I dont think so if I were ur fren..
Opt for Savvy if u dont mind its small size and looks. Opt for another car (MyVi perhaps) if u wanna go for mods...to mod a Wira? sorry to say this...dontcha think its outdated already?
However, If u still prefer to mod a wira, get urself a used one, way cheaper than a brand new.

Just my 2 cents.

modding wira outdated??>... yes, i agree with u... but 'outdated' means loads of performance parts out there that is suitable for it.... if u wanna mod new cars, have to wait for the aftermarket product manufacturers to manufacture it...

between savvy and wira, really depends on what u use that car for and what's ur requirement... we cant jz judge a car jz like that...

why not top up a little more get a vios or city??... not bad ma... at least it isnt malaysian... hahahaha...

well i would only say, one is a really bad sedan, the other is a ok ok supermini. sedans are always in advantage to supermini.

scoupe said:
guys the sales man told my friend if he is a sprited driver than should go for savvy. he said savvy very good handling. handling done by lotus.the savvy very fast to reach 140. he also thinks the wira se absobers are to soft, can anyone verify this. he had a bad experience with second hand car. last time he drive satria. after buying the car got lot of problems. his mech said that car was in floods. by the way i thought wira steering is too light even at 100. is it true?

If ur freind married,better go for WiSE.Cheap maintainence,easy parts (mitsubishi,proton),Comfortable,Worth for long journey,Save fuel.
Second hand cars,is like pull hair in the flour.If u are lucky,the car serves you well,and much better than new car.I drove a Wira (second hand),even when i speeds up to 160kmh,the steering is firm and steady,no lighty feeling.I think ur freind must take a test drive on these two cars.:regular_smile:

savvy, from my observation and tests...
all new design (not the engine),
the torque is there but not hp,
fuel consumption better than wira,
u can go 450km for rm40++(cruising),
handling not bad (if change to bigger rims eg 16inch),
more stable power assisted steering,
the front seats nicer than those wiras,
safer than wira if front collision happen(the engine mountings is quite special rumors heard)
meter gauges cun.(quite bright)
powerful enuf front disc brake (dual layer type oso found in gti's) except for the rear(drums),
btw, the timing belt costs rm500++, and an oil filter will cost u a clean rm80!

my friend savvy's(1 i test)
24022006002.jpg

both car i dun really recommend.. with that amount of money, why not consider myvi?? good value of money.. in terms of performance and spaciousness, it s consider about average.. look also not bad ar before and after conversion to passo.. for a guy.. i think black myvi suits him the best!

I agree with sixthythree. A proton WIRA? My god….it was launched in 1993 and you still wana buy a WIRA? What specs u got now? Still 1.5 auto with 3 speed auto for 45K? Pls , for this money and if you want a new car, I would go for a MyVi anytime anyday.
Wiras should be sent off to junk yard by now. Design is so old and outdated. pls dont buy such a car especially the 2000 and above Wiras. Look at the quality and i can tell you they are shite. look at the body gap and panels.

buy a wira and i can tell you will regret for life.