Mr-2 Sw20

TaE|VoN said:
He's the man, champion for bangkok trips too.
When will he be going head on with the thais?

Oh aeroz: if u got the powersteering rack for sale, i want it!
Put me in the list ok?

Yo, I fixed up my car already, and checked out the nose cut... no powersteering rack... no nothing in there. Just the rad, cond., popup lights & motor, amber signal lights, bumper... that's all i think.

Anyway here's my story...

Prior to fixing everything in, my radiator (and condensor) was phucked, damaged by the impact. So. I went home/mech's place in limp home mode, took out the radiator cap (was adviced this so that the pressure doesnt force the coolant out of the leaking rad , or something like that hehe) and keep pouring water in between stops, I can see the massive steam boiling out from my rear view mirror.

Suprisingly the temperature meter stays the same, as if it's running normally. Not sure if this means the temp. sensor is located somewhere unstrategic enough to sense the increasing temp. Since engine's power doesnt seems to drop so I just continue my journey for about 10-15km until I reached my destination.

After that I got my rad and cond. replaced with the units from the nose-cut. All seems to be fine until last Saturday when I travel down to Seremban with my brother. Was driving, pushing a little here and there, overtaking, 160km/h, nothing grand. Everything was smooth and sexy. Till to the time when we went back, was driving much harder than usual, and I was curious when does the rev cut comes in on this car so I poped 2nd gear after the first and revved away. Curiousity kills the cat, they always say. As soon as I've touched 6900rpm (SAFC shows 7400rpm) , the check engine light comes on.

God save me. I think I just choked it half dead. Car still drives normally, but only without engine load / boost. It'll hesitate badly at low RPM (1-3k rpm) if I load it. Boost will STILL build up (even up to the stock full boost of 0.7) when it's above 3krpm or so. Condition is as if like the one I had earlier... hesitation, where the AFM is kinda fooked until I've reset the ECU.

I remember I've previously reduced the FUEL PRESSURE to 25psi (just for experimental purposes). Don't really think it's the cause, as I've no problems prior to that stupid move of reaching 7400rpm. I've since set it back to 35psi (stock's 30psi for the 3SGTE IIRC). Also, the coolant refill after the rad was fixed in wasnt that much. Just a small bottle of 600ML worth of coolant in the considerably long piping system in the MR2. I've also toped up another 300ml of coolant. Engine oil seems to of a smooth brown colour. No signs of any coolant leaking into it. Tried checking all the nuts and bolts on all the hoses, vacuum hoses, intercooler, etc. and they seem secured.

Now, I'm not sure what all these means. I shorted E1 & T1 in the little Diagnostic box and extracted error code 52 , which translated to : Open or short in knock sensor signal (KNK). Sounds simple but it can mean so many things.

Okay basically here's a summary of what I've written just to simple things up:

- Engine light comes on after revving to rev-cut limit at 7400rpm.
- Engine light now comes on EVERYTIME after starting the car and having some load (hard to define what is load... but it's probably about 20% throttle @ 2krpm @ 3rd gear).
- Car hesitates badly upon load & refuses to go
- Boost still fills up when it's above peak boost (not sure if thats the correct term but, around above 3krpm).
- ECU fires up diagnostic code 52 : Open/Short Circuit in Knock Sensor Signal
- Resetting and getting rid of the ERROR CODE doesn't work

Suspects following problem since I have the error code 52 (knock/detonate):

- Not enough fuel (clogged fuel filter , fuel pump etc.)
- Leaking/blowned head gasket (but that's supposed to lower compression not increase, no?)
- Phucked ECU
- Radiator not working properly / Leaking / Coolant leaking into crankcase etc.
- Leaking air from various spots (manifold, hoses, vacuum hoses, pipes, etc. causing ECU to misread airflow)
- Spark plugs not firing properly ? (hmm...)
- Something wrong with grounding
- Something wrong with my eyes and butt (hmmmmm !!!)

Need to find a new mech already... current one is just incompetent in turbo applications.

Looking for parts.

I m a newbie in here and just manage to get hold of a mr2 few days back. Hopefully all the sifus in here can help me with advice and opinions :) Anyways, i m in search of a few items

1) 245 original fuel pump
2) TRD or CS short shift
3) 260kmh meter

If anyone in here tat has this parts for sale, feel free to contact me at 019-3000772

Thanks in advance

Andre

The 260km/h meter can be a bit hard to find. I've only found one so far, from Aussie MR2s.

MK,
i have one installed in da car now... but its abit cranky sometimes it goes on and sometimes it just settle down at 'zero' then hop up again.

Btw, anyone knows where i can get a set of bilstien with the original upper mount? Planning to take out the cusco that is fitted by the previous owner.... too bumpy for my wife :(

Is it bouncy? If it is then chances are it's the cable (if yours is cable driven).

I got an extra set of Bilstein black with either H&R or Tein (medium spec) springs lying around somewhere. Wanna swap? :D

hey mk,

From wat i see the meter panel is not cable driven... i dont see any cables at the back of the panel... mostly wires running in and out of the sockets. Is there anyway i can get this fixed? Sorry lar... i was driving a proton all this while and stuff are much easier to be replace..... sigh.

Hows the condition of your bilstein? good ar? hmmmm swapping sounds interesting but the cusco needs to be re-service coz the dampening is all out oledi.

Hello Andre,

Just recently somebody was selling a TRD 300km/h for the 245.
If u need it let me know.I have spare 180km/h meters for the 245.
The problem u mentioned could either be a wiring problem (shorting), loose connection,
,probably worn out gearbox gear sensor or it could be even loose hehe.
That is assuming your car is 245(or 225 2nd gen) and has not been modified to use the cable versions(225 1st gen).Get it check by a mechanic.If u have probs, do call me at 012-3831601 or u can enquire with the other MR2 gurus here...MK,Sam,etc.

last nite when i was at Orange...i saw this sexy looking MR2..i was so inspired by the sight that.. i didnt see where i was going.. then i stepped on the front lip..and it went KLAK!!...see see.. aik? nothing wan?? ooo.. it's metal... wah... i wonder whose car it is.. oish....

MRMIC2 said:
Hello Andre,

Just recently somebody was selling a TRD 300km/h for the 245.
If u need it let me know.I have spare 180km/h meters for the 245.
The problem u mentioned could either be a wiring problem (shorting), loose connection,
,probably worn out gearbox gear sensor or it could be even loose hehe.
That is assuming your car is 245(or 225 2nd gen) and has not been modified to use the cable versions(225 1st gen).Get it check by a mechanic.If u have probs, do call me at 012-3831601 or u can enquire with the other MR2 gurus here...MK,Sam,etc.

Hey Mickey,

Thanks for the info bout the meter. Will go get it check tomolo and see wats the problem with it.... hopefully nothing serious la. Manage to open and see the rear end of the meter..... no cables just wires. Anyway, u planning to sell the TRD meter or the stock 180km meter? how much? can pm me on it?

Looking forward to meet up with all u sifuz :)

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
last nite when i was at Orange...i saw this sexy looking MR2..i was so inspired by the sight that.. i didnt see where i was going.. then i stepped on the front lip..and it went KLAK!!...see see.. aik? nothing wan?? ooo.. it's metal... wah... i wonder whose car it is.. oish....

LOL..I saw someone with GF drooling over babes in bikini on the stage.
I stand right in front and wave also didnt see me....
no wonder u step on my lip...hehe

BTW...I tot I saw a few people sitting on the Soopra's Yellow Bonet for photo session...hehe
Girl asking - " wah!So colourful wan tis bonet ar??!?
Boyfriend - "Sure wat...Kevlar wan...bulletproof wor"
Girl - "wah! can jump up and down and make lup no prob then hor..."
eeee...I turn and walk away... :)

Anyone planning to sell good running condition suspension (with springs or coilovers)? Planning to take off the cusco.... too bumpy for my liking.

dear 2's, anybody keen on meeting up for tea with mr2 and jsoc boys at damansara perdana?

contact mrmic2 or myself for more info

how2drive said:
hmmm..... rm1000 oso i let go lar. Wife nagging at me oledi lar.... the coilovers are left sitting in the living room area :>

wat coilover u using.....r u really keen to sell?

rx7 said:
wat coilover u using.....r u really keen to sell?

rx7,
I was using a set of hi/lo cusco with front pillar ball for awhile... given by the previous owner. Too hard and noisy for my liking so i took it out and replace with cartridge type with springs.... much more comfortable.

If u are interested to buy them over do let me know but gotta tell u before hand that the entire set needs reservicing... i can be reached at 0193000772

Help needed... car sengget :)

Need help from all u pioneer owners

Scenario of the story... when i bought the car i notice the car is tilted to one side so i tot it was the adjustment of the coilovers which was out. After driving it i decided to replace it to a cartridge and spring suspension but the car is still tilted to on side in front.... the rear sits in nicely and evenly but the front has a gap difference about 15-20mm difference. My mechanic have already checked and the springs are sitting correctly on the plate but still scratching his head over the tilting. Would appriciate if some of u can give some feedbacks or any idea wat is happening.