Mr-2 Sw20

how2drive said:
rx7,
I was using a set of hi/lo cusco with front pillar ball for awhile... given by the previous owner. Too hard and noisy for my liking so i took it out and replace with cartridge type with springs.... much more comfortable.

If u are interested to buy them over do let me know but gotta tell u before hand that the entire set needs reservicing... i can be reached at 0193000772

how is the condition? is it leaking? where 2 service cusco?

You can bring it to HWL in sg buloh to reservice it and u can even let them know the dampening rate u want harder or softer. I will get the contact number and person to look for in HWL for u to liase with.

opsss.. forgot to answer the rest of the question... hehe

Condition still ok lar.... after washing it and cleaning up all the oil and stains it look pretty good.

Yup its leaking... so need to do some revalving and pump back some oil into it and its back to a normal cusco again. Will cost u approximately rm200-250 per unit to revalve and re-oil

how2drive said:
opsss.. forgot to answer the rest of the question... hehe

Condition still ok lar.... after washing it and cleaning up all the oil and stains it look pretty good.

Yup its leaking... so need to do some revalving and pump back some oil into it and its back to a normal cusco again. Will cost u approximately rm200-250 per unit to revalve and re-oil

any pics?

selling HKS fuel rail new

selling my HKS fuel rail(new) no hassle complete bolt-on

letting go at RM 750 firm

fits only 3S-GTE 245hp

Hi again.... another problem.. hehe

when i go over speed bumps or uneven road .... i hear a loud squeek coming from the rear not too sure exactly where. So far i have changed the rear end link (or something like tat) and the suspension and springs are pretty new.... but still having squeeking sound.

Another issue is when i rev the car up around 4,500 rpm - 6,000rpm... i hear this 'tak tak tak' sound on all gears..... is tat normal ka?

Looking forward for your feedbacks... thanks

how2drive said:

when i go over speed bumps or uneven road .... i hear a loud squeek coming from the rear not too sure exactly where. So far i have changed the rear end link (or something like tat) and the suspension and springs are pretty new.... but still having squeeking sound.

Another issue is when i rev the car up around 4,500 rpm - 6,000rpm... i hear this 'tak tak tak' sound on all gears..... is tat normal ka?

Hi how2drive,

I'm not really sure about your suspension but ... did the sound came after you've changed your cuscos or before? I've got those sounds as well when driving slowly over speedbumps.

Bout your 'tak tak tak' , do you think they sound like detonation? Or simply the air filter case knocking against the steel fuel pipe? Or maybe a loose engine mounting?

best to check the undercarriage of your car to make sure all is tighten and in place.

as for 'tak tak' sound coming out when you you hit revs of 4.5 to 6.0, it means the car doesn't want to go anymore... it should sound 'yes yes yes' :)

on a serious note, have you replaced gear oil? ensure you are using lsd gear oil

how2drive said:

hahaha....... midship good one lar. If my car can go yes yes yes i have to take it down to the temple for blessing lar.

Anyway, I send the car to the workshop today to rectify the squeeking sound and apparently the rear ball joint are worn off, so getting that replaced. When i was having the cusco i didnt really notice the sound coz the front pillar ball was making hell lot of noise.

Aeroz..... it sounded more like some mechanical sound rather then detonation. I notice when the 'tak tak tak' sound comes out... the car tend to get abit sluggish. Could it be the plugs i m using? normally wat plug ratings and brand do u guys run on?

Sigh..... never ez maintaining an old car..... but its kinda fun owning it

how2drive said:
hahaha....... midship good one lar. If my car can go yes yes yes i have to take it down to the temple for blessing lar.

Anyway, I send the car to the workshop today to rectify the squeeking sound and apparently the rear ball joint are worn off, so getting that replaced. When i was having the cusco i didnt really notice the sound coz the front pillar ball was making hell lot of noise.

Aeroz..... it sounded more like some mechanical sound rather then detonation. I notice when the 'tak tak tak' sound comes out... the car tend to get abit sluggish. Could it be the plugs i m using? normally wat plug ratings and brand do u guys run on?

Sigh..... never ez maintaining an old car..... but its kinda fun owning it

Yup, its kinda hard/troublesome maintaining an old car, especially if the car is more than half as old as myself. Anyhow, it's still fun for me cuz I learned alot from all the troubles cropping outta the car. I wouldn't have learn as much driving a new problem free car.

BTW, you didnt mentioned how old is your car or if your engine force inducted, right? For plugs I'm using IK22 plat. and due to be replaced soon, this time only cheaper plugs though. BKR7E, 1 step colder than the specifed rating BKR6E. I had my distributor cap replaced just last week... feels much better. Previously, once the power band reaches about 4500rpm it runs out of breath, almost struggling to reach 7000rpm. Now it reaches 7000rpm effortlessly.

My car is stock though except for an AFPR and minor stuffs. If your car is HIGHLY MODIFIED, the MR2 sexperts better come out and say something hehe. It's better if you ask them during a TT or bring your car to somewhere with diagnostics equipment. It'll be hard to diagnose your problem through the net, as I've demonstrated earlier a few pages back where I wrote a thesis and got nothing hehehe.

Oh btw yea all, the defective knock sensor was causing the engine check light to come on and the hesitation/stumbling comes from the aged distributor cap.

Yeah.... learning the hard and expensive way in up keeping a car which is half my age..lol.

Anyway, my ride is 14 years of age and registered in 96 comes with a converted 245 which was done by the previous owner. The engine is stock which onlyfitted with air filter and bov and planning to keep it that way ... for the time being. Planning to get the distributor cap replace this weekend as i heard some of them mention turbo cars tend to eat up the cap.... how much is the price of the distributor cap btw?

So far i have gotten alot of help and support from most of the members in here and thats a very good thing.... and to those who i hv called and irritated... sorry ya... next round teh ais on me.

how2drive said:
Yeah.... learning the hard and expensive way in up keeping a car which is half my age..lol.

Anyway, my ride is 14 years of age and registered in 96 comes with a converted 245 which was done by the previous owner. The engine is stock which onlyfitted with air filter and bov and planning to keep it that way ... for the time being. Planning to get the distributor cap replace this weekend as i heard some of them mention turbo cars tend to eat up the cap.... how much is the price of the distributor cap btw?

So far i have gotten alot of help and support from most of the members in here and thats a very good thing.... and to those who i hv called and irritated... sorry ya... next round teh ais on me.

ICIC... wooooow 245. Mine's just a 225... with AFM =( ... 14 years OLD as well. Yeah, they're all friendly peeps. They know the MR2 like it's part of their body ;p

The cap costs me RM200. Installation will be pretty straight forward i guess. :)

dear 2's, how anybody keen on meeting up at shell, ttdi this friday around 10pm for old members to welcome new members?

1. midship

Dear 2's, anybody keen on meeting up at shell, ttdi this friday 10pm for old members to meet with new members?

1. midship

Dear 2's, anybody keen on meeting up at shell, ttdi this friday 10pm for old members to meet with new members?

1. midship
2.de blue's

who wan to go singapore for the sin motorsport event this week end?
1.deblue's
2.midship