Most Economical Honda Engine

johnsmith

taught of getting a half cut for my old car....and thinking of honda engine

as most honda engine is quite powerful, i want to get an auto gearbox. since the car is mainly for town use, achieving speed upto 160km/h is good enough. the main criteria is good fc and reliable engine....should last me for couple of years (>5 years). i am looking from 1.3 to 1.6 litre engine with auto gearbox.

any suggestion which engine i should go for? taught of b16a or b16b but it is too powerful and fc must be quite high. looking for fc about 10 cents/km.

Originally posted by Jackie Leong@Apr 24 2005, 00:26
you might want to let us know what car you're driving as well..
[snapback]922130[/snapback]​

thinking of buying a mini and fitting a honda engine into the car. any recommendation?

you can try to look for the ZC engine. Its a DOHC non-vtec engine and has auto too and its cheaper than b16 series engine.cause I'm using one myself the fc is bout the same rate as ur looking at. good luck to your conversion. Cheriooooo mate. :) :)

well, L15 is great engine for a mini, but how about D15 or D16??? I heard nowadays B series engine price dropped already, fit a B16a into the mini and it'll fly...about FC it's not that good, but considering power to weight ratio, I think it's hell a lot better than fitting it into a civic. 'cause you don't have to floor the throttle too much and you'll stick to your seats already.

for your mini
you can drop in either b16a or b16b it has been done before but make sure it is done by professional mechanic.otherwise ZC ( got auto meh? ) or d15b should be suifficient for daily use.some modifications on the mountings must be done.

second, im not sure either you are from malaysia but if you are, pls make sure you have runner to do the jpj registration or otherwise you will run into trouble later for registration or if luck not on your side, if you run into accident.that will be a major headache then.

there's also an economy variant of the D15B called the vtec-e.

only about 90 horses (plenty for a mini i think)

thing is this engine is quite rare. :(

EG8 said:
for your mini
you can drop in either b16a or b16b it has been done before but make sure it is done by professional mechanic.otherwise ZC ( got auto meh? ) or d15b should be suifficient for daily use.some modifications on the mountings must be done.

second, im not sure either you are from malaysia but if you are, pls make sure you have runner to do the jpj registration or otherwise you will run into trouble later for registration or if luck not on your side, if you run into accident.that will be a major headache then.
There is a mechanic that has done the B16A conversion located in Puchong