Mechanical Engineering vs. Automotive Engineering

me me in universiti teknologi petronas foundation yr 2nd sem....doing chemical eng later on... nothin to do with mech or auto but i know some frens taking it, so got some little experience to share..dont bang bang me if wrong yah? =)
and me still noobie, lots more to learn..

wah, here so many sifu in engineering...
so, must conduct some free lesson to all zth members, can?
:) :)

actually if u wish to study in this both courses....u must really need to consider and get more information b4 u all decide.... :lol: :lol:

too bad FIT chears no more :(

but the space shuttle still there :lol:

Originally posted by P_driver@Mar 24 2005, 01:29
me me in universiti teknologi petronas foundation yr 2nd sem....doing chemical eng later on... nothin to do with mech or auto but i know some frens taking it, so got some little experience to share..dont bang bang me if wrong yah? =)
and me still noobie, lots more to learn..
[snapback]835470[/snapback]​

Learning process is a continous process. It won't stop till the last breath actually. So no prob then.

BTW, taking Chemical engineering u'll learn also about thermodynamics. But for UTP syllabus, u'll be concerntrating more in process instead of internal combustion engine. But if u manage to learn about otto cycle or breyton cycle, somehow that's related to car engine.

I just finished my thermodynamics exam today. And im going to REPEAT the damn subject !!! :(

If ur going to take engineering, dont play2 like me. Study last minute and then regret :ph34r:

bezet : as for ur question, life in utp is dam boring, i really mean so..really nothing to do here..only thing to study and sleep..ocassionally going to ipoh which is 1 hour drive from here..very far.. and 1 more thing, its far from my home, seldom go back nowadays.. but overall the facilities here r marvellous.. big labs, its humangous man.. really big.. for studyin purposes, its good here.. but if want to play play, got nothing to play here.. maybe with ur small brother only :blink:

ISWARA GT-R : thanks for ur statement, but as for now, dont really know what is thermodynamics all about.. hehe.. and i dont know why i took chemical engineering.. why eh? maybe more related to chemistry? wonder why, sometimes feeling a little regret as im more towards cars.. any sifus can tell me the job prospect for chem eng? just curious as im very blur when it comes to job prospect thing..
:)

p driver: thermodynamics would be important for determining dew points, calculating fugacity, understanding various equations of state, calculating K values, the prediction of physical properties and non-ideal vapour-liquid equilibria, amongst other things.

prospects? industry/ research / consultancy/ end up in the business world

First to clarify something, my younger bro has taken my nick to reply to this post. So i will now reply from my prespective. Currently 4th year EE engineering in UNITEN.

First and foremost to those interested in persuing the engineering path. Do you love add maths in SPM? Whatever the school teaches you the degree of difficulty is just 10% of what you will face when you enter first year. You will cry at the type of pembezaan and pengamiran that you are expected to perfom. That is for ME only, wait till you see the ones that is used in electrical.

Instead of choosing whether you want to take automotive or mechanical, might as well take mechanical first. You can always switch over if you decided you have the interest. The basic concepts will always be same. Heck even i'm doin EE and i took thermodynamics (for use in understanding power plant designs)

It is true that diploma will be easier to study as it has alot more hands on as compared to degree. Degree study concept all the way only. When you finish your diploma you can always go over to degree (transfer of credits will depend on the univerity and your grades. Get a C for a subject, very hard to transfer) Local unis are quite ok these days as compared to overseas and you don't have to fork out a single sen as there will always be PTPTN. Even if you study at those so called private unis, MMU, UNITEN..... PTPTN will cover full fees as compared to private colleges.

Hope this helps and all the best to you

I am on automotive technology student.... currently about to finish my second year.. in sheffield hallam univeristy in the UK.. and i would be out for a year in work placement... it only focuses on automotive... i have taken out engine blocks... in reverse engineering... we strip out old cars and uinderstand how each compoment work and ho it's being put together.. what material is used.. why... a certain material... manufacturing processes.... also got hands on project with the uni very own formula student car.... i would post it on later... as pic is on my other com.... i have learned to use various software.. like solid works... CAD CAM.... pro engineer... to design components.. and make it into a working scale down model... also manufactured a stud axle using machinary... some physics... to calculate stress strain on components... some thernal dynamic to understand fluid...ind compression in a piston chamber and so on.... i hope this help you guys to understand more about my course...

PM me is you need more info... i'll be nback this summer so can ask me more question to those who is interested in studying abroad in the same course... to show that this course is useful... i have fren that have work placement with rolls royce... toyota.... and i got accpeted in lamboghini...

got any college or institute offer automotive eng'rg course in part time????

walauweh mafia_boyz !!
lamborghini ?!?!?! can test drive every car ? :P

yup exactly..

most IMPORTANT THING b4 u wanna enroll in ME. if u are weak in mathematic tambahan during ur high skool level.plz plz plz think not even twice to study ME.even i myself are quite gd in ad maths last time also goyang now in ME.
the difficulty level for high skool level ad maths is really like one of our bro said..10% only.

typing this reply right after studying my integration..arghh darn,lousy lec rushing the topic like bullet train worst the fellow is a stamper.

munky>>thermodynamic? aiseh bro,y repeat lah? i also repeat onces but due to i ponteng too much kena barred. :P but onces u catch the concept of all the various system and technique it is quite fun.

munky: haha... i dun think i could even do that.. only a technician recruit for them.. to bad not test driver... haha

escaflowne : Repeat coz i dont understand what the lecturer is talking about, coz i cant remember the formulas, and the coursework doesnt include assignments, unlike the other classes. But i think it's all because of the lecturer la, coz the other classes with different lecturers, they all can score, but the 2 classes with my lecturer all like wanna fail only ;)

well,pal...it's good to hear that one more future engineer will be created...

Anyway,Mechanical Engineering and Automotive Engineering...are different.Some said...AE come out (sub-division) from ME...I don;t know...For my opinion,I think that Mechanical Engineering is a good course for you to select it to further study.I'm a diploma holder of Mechanical/Mechatronics.Mechanical study the subject like heat transfer,mechanical design...and mechatronics is like PLC,Motor,pneumatics,hydraulic,logic gate and some electronics subjects.

After graduate,I hv gone into a MNC(A***lent Technologies,guess yourself..for those who are from penang should know this company cos it's really large.).My experience told me that whatever you have studied in the school life is rarely used in the real life.BTW theory helps you to think wisely and logically to prevent any accident happened when u are going to work on something.For example,your boss ask you to change the tire of the car...first u will think that what tool should i need to use...like wrench,what kind of wrench do i need to use???25 lbf-in torque...or 50 lbf-in in order not to damage the nut.but honestly,before using wrench to open it,u need a hydraulic jack to lift up the car...hahaha.....well,real life......

AE is more on the vehicle side...for what i have passed through the diploma life,I did learn the flywheel,clutch,gear,...how they work,of cos in brief...ME is like a father of AE...when u hv studied ME,it becomes easier for you to study(intepret) other course like AE,manufacturing,mechatronics,.......

ok...this is all the stuffs thay I wanna share with you...hope that will help you...since you r planning to study engineering in future,study more on your Add maths,maths,english,and the most important is physics...

......... :lol: :lol: :lol:

wow...at here can find some ME fellow.come one day organise a gathering for all ME(future or current)..

for me the only thing that set me crazy is those maths..argh~~~

well guys... my add maths is really really weak..... but im really gonna start preparing for SPM soon... well yeah... soon...
hopefully i can do better in the next exam. >.
okay lets see lets see...
so basically, i get a ME degree then go AE? hmm i thought it was once stated here that in ME, after a certain year into the course... you can choose to specialize in automotive, aeronautics bla bla bla right?
if i chose to speacialize in automotive... do i still have to go into AE?

okay lets cut my question short.
My dream is to create my own car tuning company.. tuning cars up to 1000HP(lolz) and also manufacture my own line of performance parts... jsut like HKS, and the others
so.... what do i really need?
okay.. if i specialize in automotive for ME, will it solve all my probs?

if its said AE doesnt learn manufacturing... then how come mafia_boyz gets to play with the manufacturing softwares and learn the processes?

if you look at those F1 engineers, they are all AEs...
ookay... is it better for me to spend like uhmm 10 years doing both ME and AE, or just do ME and try to pursue my goal?

if i grad as a ME, can i work with HKS or JUN or Blitz etc etc?
dun really want to work for car makers... but would work for them if i have to.

dude, i tell you one trick, first, get ME, then go for some short course on AE.. and take as many as you can AE short courses... then you'll be prepared for everything..especially to automotive thingy.. these short courses is quite demandable.. bcos its a part of professionals and the certs that you'll get is your lucky star..it will lead you to some nice places where you can sharpen your skills.. so, its up to you now. :D

-cheers-