Mechanical Engineering vs. Automotive Engineering

:o wah so many ME here.
wow...at here can find some ME fellow.come one day organise a gathering for all ME(future or current)..

for me the only thing that set me crazy is those maths..argh~~~

agree with you. math is a hell to eng. stdnt. and if u get those new lecture, you'll suffer like me. need to repeat my freaking eng math 1. damn.

Originally posted by -e f i n i-@Apr 8 2005, 23:50
mind to tell me more bout this short courses thing?
[snapback]880682[/snapback]​
these short course, you have to search it everywhere.. and you have to pay for it. i heard it from my dad and his frens who works for Petronas company.. he said that these courses quite expensive bcos its for professionals.. if you have all the types of skills that you get from the short courses, you'll get hired by some big company.. bcos you have the skills.. :D
at this part, money talks.. :D pay for the courses and get hired to cover back what've you spent in double.. so, no matter you have a degree or what, (in engineering) if you have no skills or experience, hard to get a job..

Originally posted by -e f i n i-@Apr 10 2005, 19:24
hmm approx. how much?
wah.. if i take the course.. wow, will HKS hire me? https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]884625[/snapback]​
i cant tell.. bcos this kind of courses conducted by professionals for professionals.. they might advertise the courses in local newspaper.. BUT, you have to work first la.. need money to pay the courses.. :D

better you study first, diploma.. then work.. while you were working, you can take the courses to improve your skill

HKS? even NISMO will hire you.. :lol: :lol:

Hm..efini..last 2 years wen i hav finished my spm..i also hav the same question as u..so..many engineers told me to take ME...know y?Coz they r like wat the ppl here replied u..ME can get a job easier than AE. Besides tht..i saw some replied that study ME and major in AE..tht is wat last time ppl used to take. But now..there are AE degree courses in overseas such as RMIT aust and many more in UK.

After i hav think about it for few months and c the subject diff btw AE and ME..i choosed AE..coz y? I like only automotive subjects..ME subjects dun really attract me! So..now im taking 1st year ME degree in Malaysia..after tht i will transfer to Sunderland Uni for AE. Actually u wan to choose AE or ME is all depends on wat u r interested. U can go n hav a look at ME 3 years subject and compare to AE's subjects..c which one u will be more inetrested and go ahead.

I hav the same dream as u..so..i choosed this road to go...how about u? Think properly b4 u choose..if not..u cant turn back..u can..if u r rich enuf..hehe! One more thing..about maths..im damn sux in SPM..i just pass..haha! but now wen i joined ME degree course..maths is so kacang..mayb it is just first year..hehe!
Anyway..goodluck to u!

but then... other than being a tuner, i also wanna develop my own performance parts.... but AE doesnt cover manufacturing... and virtually everyone here said the basics for ME is needed to enter AE.... so how? I take ME first then take AE?
btw...i wanna clarify something. okay like what one person said(sorry i forgot the name edi)... study ME then after sometime into the course, choose to speacialize in automotive.
So is that the same as ME+AE? If i do it like that... will my knowledge be enough, minus the experience, to achieve my dreams?
AE and ME learn different things... but how if i choose ME then after that choose to specialize( or would the more appropriate word be Major?") in automotive?... would it be killing 2 birds with one stone, meaning doing ME and AE at the same time?
if so... at which year into ME would i have to chance to choose to major in automotive?
is that choosing to speacialize/major in specific areas memang a part of the ME course?? or is it you have to follow some certain procedures to do so?

Wat they mentioned about major in AE for third year of ME is totally different from AE. AE is speacialized but if u take ME n major in AE..its would not be speacilized..correct me if im wrong. Actually nothing is perfect...if u wan..study ME..then go postgraduate for AE or something related. For me..AE is my choice..as there are few types of courses for me to choose..either AE + design or AE + mechatronics...intresting rite?hehe...good luck!

fritz..
im interested in AE too..
but arer they available locally?..
i cant afford goin overseas..
im already goin to finish my foundation in a local college.. :(

so as mentioed by fritz earlier

AE + design
is tht AE + Part design which also includes manufacturing? or AE + Fiddling around with Design softwares only?

is there any college offer courses to become a pro driver or rally driver??? :P :P

Beng Hons Mech. Eng (auto)

hahah... its been a while since this thread had been replied to..... just wanna share opinions and life experiences (well not much...)...

i just finished my bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering, specializing in automotive.... I studied in UTP, Tronoh Perak.....

i would say that , whatever u pick, make sure its safe and has a holistic view!

I started of a lil bit like u -efini-, i was so enthusiastic about cars, tuning, going fast... etc2..... having that fire early this stage might turn u down. The education system that malaysia has adapted ( for my uni that is...) is quite safe. the course that i took spanned for five years, with an 8 months industrial training (which was truely useful). the first 3 1/2 years of my course had undergone many theories and concept that later in life, u'd know , u wont be using any of them. But the syllabus is there for the students to understand the very fundamentals of engineering.... eg: why is friction important? which metal has more carbon ? .... these kinda understanding would give a "the exact" judgements on situations which requires quick justification..... u'll understand what i'm saying when u've entered the industry! :_:

by my forth year, (upon completion of my 8 months internship at PROTON), i had this dramatic paradigm shifts in ideas and principles about the way i'm suppose to head...... I had understood on what were the purposes of taking subjects like Mechanics of material, Fluid Mechanics, etc2 way back when i was still in the 2nd years.... like i mentioned, u are able to make just the right judgmenets based on your engineering instincts (that u had developed befre).....

why do i say this? because once u have completed industrial training, u'd come back to ur uni to do ur Final Year Project. haa... Final Year, such a hectic year.... And only in your final year u'd be able to pursue ur dreams in many field of ur interests. I took up Automotive as my specialisation... had no regrets! why? because u are still a mechanical engineering graduate! furthermore, with a specialisation in automotive.... Once u are in the mechanical engineering field, the choices are endless....

My final year as a student was really hectic. My final year project was on design and fabrication of a formula race car.... and to further pursue my interests in the automotive field (mainly motorsports) my friends and i had established the first ever Formula team, which is the Team UTP Formula SAE 2006..... WE DESIGN, WE BUILD, WE RACE.... yes, its true.... without the aid of any technicians nor foremans...... it was hell...... Running the team was a big responsibility. u got so many things to think about. logistics, manpower, design performance,assembly problems, branding, sponsorship.... the list is just unstoppable.... joining such a team, had mostly turned the members into a more sensible engineer. U keep with the timeline, u deal with CNC machining, and sometimes manual machining, u deal with the finance department of your uni......... When u design sumting, u must consider many things
1. can the machinists do this?
2. Is the CNC machince up to the standard of the design?
3. What's the cost?
4. Would it fit? etc222.....

One more thing, in the process of understanding how should a race car work, u'll realize that "fast" is not just about what cams are u using, what turbines size is on the engine, what's the hp's.... there's more to a car than just engines people!

it all comes back to the very basic of engineering and common sense. for eg: suspension, driver ergonomics,drivetrain, braking, chasiss...... Is your suspension crtically damped? what's the natural frequency? what are the roll rates?......... these kinda questions are easily answered if u really take it serious in your first 3 years of your studies if u're taking a degree....

upon the completion of the study, u'll notice that most of the tuning "myths" are answerable with logical explanation. and when u have reached that level of understanding, u would have your own ideas on what should work and what should not.... and once again, these judgments are backed up by fundamentals that no one can object or disagree upon.

If u are willing to go all the way, go with sumthing that satisfies u the most!

if u are unsure, go with ones that are safer and have more assurance

if u wanna be filthy rich? go into Oil n Gas industry! hahahah (one of my lecturers said that)

i'm grad from UTM with mechanical Engineering..
u have a good ambition bro.. bump for u! but i think better u think twice before choose ur course.. automotive is part of Mechanical also..
with degree in Mechanical u can easily get a job.. manufacturing.. power plant.. oil & gas.. petrochemical plant.. an so on..
but in automotive there's only couple of company in M'sia and market is not so good..
in UTM.. 1st 3 years ur silibus is same either mechanical or automotive..
so better get some advise..
may god bless u..

im now doing my degree, and vector dynamics is freaking hard !!! dunno how am i supposed to pass this subject haha