manually using the auto gear

Rarely drive auto car. But for me, the only reason to manually drop the auto GB is before entering fast corner n downhill. Even if I want to sprint at traffic light, I'll just using D, floor the pedal and let the ecu shift up. Ecu will do it at best rpm point. Some driver will start from L or 1, and shift up manually and think they'll go faster. Hahhaa... they may shift under-rev or over-rev. Even if the change it at perfect point, it still a two step job. 1st, driver change the gear level, 2nd, ecu detect it and start change the gear.

on older auto gb yes u have to manually shift down on corner as no such function is programmed into the tcu be it standalone or built in the ecu.

on modern gb like the Invecs III or the dpo which i had on my 1.8 waja.it will downshift to produce engine braking.it will do so when it detec certain rate of slowing down or a slope.
the difference between the programming is how quick the box detect the situation.

the invecs III on my blm will downshift to aid braking and when i am going ballistic downhill.However it took ages to detect the situation meaning i have to go mad for few minutes untill it detect what is happening. it will also shy away from the redline or holding to a gear when it detect a lift during hard throttle action.

the dpo om the other hand only needed abt 30 sec to know what are u up to.as soon as it detect heavy braking even on flat surface it will downshift to aid braking.on downhill its better as the engine is kept at relevant rev to make pulling out of corner easier.
it is also not shy of the redline and will hold a gear when it detect u lift during heavy throttle action.very useful function as while u are accelerating hard and something block u,the gear holds and once the blocking car has moved u just resume accellerating.

both the invecs III and the dpo has this function but the dpo execute it better.the shifting is even more direct and quick.hence the better fc even in city.The DPO also will adapt to the driver and select from a preset of 9 mapping for everyday drives.
which is also why new driver whom drives it will say that the gb is not smooth.

on older auto gb yes u have to manually shift down on corner as no such function is programmed into the tcu be it standalone or built in the ecu.

on modern gb like the Invecs III or the dpo which i had on my 1.8 waja.it will downshift to produce engine braking.it will do so when it detec certain rate of slowing down or a slope.
the difference between the programming is how quick the box detect the situation.

the invecs III on my blm will downshift to aid braking and when i am going ballistic downhill.However it took ages to detect the situation meaning i have to go mad for few minutes untill it detect what is happening. it will also shy away from the redline or holding to a gear when it detect a lift during hard throttle action.

the dpo om the other hand only needed abt 30 sec to know what are u up to.as soon as it detect heavy braking even on flat surface it will downshift to aid braking.on downhill its better as the engine is kept at relevant rev to make pulling out of corner easier.
it is also not shy of the redline and will hold a gear when it detect u lift during heavy throttle action.very useful function as while u are accelerating hard and something block u,the gear holds and once the blocking car has moved u just resume accellerating.

both the invecs III and the dpo has this function but the dpo execute it better.the shifting is even more direct and quick.hence the better fc even in city.The DPO also will adapt to the driver and select from a preset of 9 mapping for everyday drives.
which is also why new driver whom drives it will say that the gb is not smooth.

Not fast enough. Normally i do drop to 3rd before entering a corner. Sometimes need to drop til 2.

TCU la.

Renesis And if I had the option of swapping to manual on my current car, I would consider it when budget permits. But this car doesn't have a manual variant

I think there is manual variant but that is not sold over here. Or maybe some other fitting gearbox from the same manufacturer?

BTW, if you really decide to do a manual conversion, I think that could be the one and only manual version of your car in Malaysia.

Mine have but have to go for 2ZZ only got manual 6 speed :biggrin:

But I think your type got manual but that is for the 1.6 variant. Whether it fits yours or not, I'm not so sure.

Oh! now I know why my ex colleague complain his Waja cannot coast to a stop. Whenever he lift off accelerator the car downshift with engine braking.....:driver:

That weird feeling when I floor and nothing much happens until it reaches a certain speed.
Sometimes I need to downshift when I'm in the 60-80 kmph range if I am to actually speed it up.

Try lifting off the accelerator for a moment before you floor....:driver:

Oh! now I know why my ex colleague complain his Waja cannot coast to a stop. Whenever he lift off accelerator the car downshift with engine braking.....:driver:

not sure abt his waja but invevs III is slow to detect such thing.
under normal driving it wont do so.

regarding 4 speed auto.notice that there is no lock to prevent from the lever to be pull from D to 3.
for 3 speeder like old wira there is no lock from D to 2.

---------- Post added at 09:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:04 PM ----------

The thing abt modern adaptive gearbox is that the driver needs to adapt to it too.what i mean is that the gb cant see what type of road ahead but the driver can.
some manipulation of the brake pedal or throttle will induce downshift better or hold a gear longer.for sure it cant beat a manual but i never complain as i hav to endure the jam to Kuala Pilah every weekend.

not necessarily true, our fish works better downshifting manually what, the downside for me is oni if oni the gb comes wit 4 gear shifting rather than 3 (1st & 2nd gear in 1 gear selection).

Yup, for fish really big difference to shift manually. Totally feel like in control. For kancil as well but usually I feel the L gear ratio seems to need to shift up to 2nd earlier. While 2nd gear can hold longer.

For me, yes. while dragging the conventional auto GB. just put on D and floor.

So far for all my cars downshifting or shifting manually makes a lot of difference. Even the Corolla 1.8L but seldom do that when using corolla. Usually just floor it like u.

That weird feeling when I floor and nothing much happens until it reaches a certain speed.
Sometimes I need to downshift when I'm in the 60-80 kmph range if I am to actually speed it up.
Depends on what car I guess. For BLM really have to drop gears.

not sure abt his waja but invevs III is slow to detect such thing.
under normal driving it wont do so.

regarding 4 speed auto.notice that there is no lock to prevent from the lever to be pull from D to 3.
for 3 speeder like old wira there is no lock from D to 2.

---------- Post added at 09:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:04 PM ----------

The thing abt modern adaptive gearbox is that the driver needs to adapt to it too.what i mean is that the gb cant see what type of road ahead but the driver can.
some manipulation of the brake pedal or throttle will induce downshift better or hold a gear longer.for sure it cant beat a manual but i never complain as i hav to endure the jam to Kuala Pilah every weekend.

What do u mean by no lock to D to 3rd? Don't get what it means.

Depends on what car I guess. For BLM really have to drop gears.

What do u mean by no lock to D to 3rd? Don't get what it means.

Last time i did that frequently with my blm.3rd gear and 4th has too much difference in ratio and the gb is not that responsive.

by lock i mean u dont have to push the button on the gearknob to do so.for example u need to push button to shift from P to R.Did u notice that the button does not need to be pressed from
1. R-N-D-3.
2.D-N
3.D-3/2(depends on how many gear the box has)
4.L-2-3-D
its a safety lock.

on my waja i cant shift from D-3 as there is no 3.My box is a 3 speed with an overdrive.so,to overtake i just switch off the od.
The are only L,2,D,N,R,P.
The knob is lock from D-2,have to push the button.i never did that as the engine have enough torque.

Last time i did that frequently with my blm.3rd gear and 4th has too much difference in ratio and the gb is not that responsive.

by lock i mean u dont have to push the button on the gearknob to do so.for example u need to push button to shift from P to R.Did u notice that the button does not need to be pressed from
1. R-N-D-3.
2.D-N
3.D-3/2(depends on how many gear the box has)
4.L-2-3-D
its a safety lock.

on my waja i cant shift from D-3 as there is no 3.My box is a 3 speed with an overdrive.so,to overtake i just switch off the od.
The are only L,2,D,N,R,P.
The knob is lock from D-2,have to push the button.i never did that as the engine have enough torque.

Oh, I get what u mean, but usually I make it a habit to press the button along when shifting, since I drive diff cars at times and do not know which one got shift lock and which doesnt haha! Guess I better find out then no need to press the button.

yeah agree. But I hope you have a ATF cooler. Doing this often will overheat the ATF
Thanks to Izso a lot. Owe you a lot for the kind courtesy and effort for that. Banyak diff which was unexpected :biggrin:

Of course do it manually have more control....:driver:

Ya many claim it works better and got difference. But 1 thing for my jetta is that if I start from L, which i usually dont, but only drop gears. Cuz if start from L, my engine roar real loud when accelerating. :stoned:

Macam Yes... which I do not really like to alert others on the road that I pedal to the metal haha! Prefer silent acceleration.

yeah agree. But I hope you have a ATF cooler. Doing this often will overheat the ATF

In my Tiggo, I always do that when driving outstation, but then my equipped with + and - :driver:

---------- Post added at 09:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:17 AM ----------

Ya many claim it works better and got difference. But 1 thing for my jetta is that if I start from L, which i usually dont, but only drop gears. Cuz if start from L, my engine roar real loud when accelerating. :stoned:

Macam Yes... which I do not really like to alert others on the road that I pedal to the metal haha! Prefer silent acceleration.

Low gear sure engine loud as the revs are in the higher region. You got tachometer mah! Look at the revs and change gear....:driver:

I've seen this term quite a number of times, but I can't seem to figure out what's an ATF. Is it the Auto Trans fluid?

That also reminds me, my mechanic told me that I might want to shift to 2 first, then D every time I drive (not talking about redlining and stuff, just mere city driving here) because if I go D directly it hurts the gears. Any comments?

In my Tiggo, I always do that when driving outstation, but then my equipped with + and - :driver:

Low gear sure engine loud as the revs are in the higher region. You got tachometer mah! Look at the revs and change gear....:driver:

Almost redlining one wor the shifting point :rofl: 6000rpm only reach max hp output :rofl:
But got once I did not even drop gears, just pedal deeper than usual, adi reach 6krpm. :rofl:

I've seen this term quite a number of times, but I can't seem to figure out what's an ATF. Is it the Auto Trans fluid?

That also reminds me, my mechanic told me that I might want to shift to 2 first, then D every time I drive (not talking about redlining and stuff, just mere city driving here) because if I go D directly it hurts the gears. Any comments?

ATF is Automatic Transmission fluid and ATF Cooler is to cool the ATF especially for those that always redline or hard driving. If u r not that type of driver, still okay.

Everyone when starts engine, will shift straight to D. I have never heard of such where you need to masuk 2nd gear 1st only change to D which defeats the main reason of driving an A/T car.

Just doesn't make sense at all. If u put in 2nd gear, A/T cars they will automatic shift gears for u when u r driving normally even if u start from 2nd gear