How to control your automatic gear change using the accelerator?

For me, drop gears is more responsive then letting go the pedal, I only let go the pedal when I floor it till certain rpm
where it needed gear change to higher gears, if not, rpm increase but speed remain at 120km/h :rofl:

Tried that once before when testing a friendly drag with my friend's car...was like wth is not moving and
stay at 120km/h but rpm 6-7K?

Quickly let go the pedal and step on it again before reach redline then the gear change on its own.

That's like 2 years back i think.

Having driven autos for a goddam long time and being driven in one too, I have to say that using the accelerator pedal to shift down has its downsides :

1. Too much pedal will shift down 2 gears and depending on your car, it may only just make a lotta noise and no performance. Like on a Myvi the shiftdown is just embarassing. No power to overtake really memang no power.

2. Stabbing or dabbing the accelerator pedal to shift down will make your passangers uncomfortable. The sudden and short burst acceleration from your dabbing the pedal will make everyone bop their heads. Having a wife who vomits easily due to motion sickness makes this dabbing technique very annoying.

The key to a comfortable drive in an auto is to maintain pedal pressure and hold it there long enough for everyone to adjust or adapt. Then slowly release to slow down. Or just hold the accelerator there and manually shift down one gear using the stick or paddles. The head bopping will reduce dramatically.

Lastly is if you don't have the power to overtake a car in your current gear and speed, don't bother. Automatics are for comfort use so just cruise. Want performance get a manual or shift to manual mode.

Yes true, stabbing the gas can be a bit uncomfortable. Luckily for my daily car it's still relatively smooth when down shifting. I also rarely do that stabbing as most of the time the engine has enough torque to overtake without downshifting, so I just press the gas more smoothly but deeper and deeper to overtake. Even if it needs to downshift, it does it pretty smoothly.

Lagi best = slogan for new myvi 1.3
Lagi best lagi power = slogan for new myvi 1.5

I'm not sure about auto 1.5 as I'm driving a manual. Overtaking is pretty easy. I have driven 1.3 auto and though it is not underpowered, but sometimes overtaking can be a little bit hard when the gear and engine rpm doesn't click.

Izso, if myvi 1.3 auto gives you headache in overtaking, try picanto auto. Last time I test drive my sis in law's picanto on Jalan Kuching. From middle lane I wanted to switch to fast lane to overtake. I signaled, glance the rear view mirror, the car behind me was around 4-5 cars away and wasn't speeding, probably doing 90kmh. I was doing 70kmh in middle lane. Then I steered into the fast lane and put my foot in the pedal. Bloody hell the car doesn't move at all!!! I feel like I'm still doing constant velocity, not acceleration lol. Upon seeing the car behind me getting closer and closer, I switched back to middle lane and got stunned by the WTF moment. :rofl:

More like Lagi Power, Lagi Banyak Accident leh :rofl:

If perodua come out with a Perodua Coupe don't know what is the slogan,
Lagi Cantik, Lagi Best...:rofl:

Yes true, stabbing the gas can be a bit uncomfortable. Luckily for my daily car it's still relatively smooth when down shifting. I also rarely do that stabbing as most of the time the engine has enough torque to overtake without downshifting, so I just press the gas more smoothly but deeper and deeper to overtake. Even if it needs to downshift, it does it pretty smoothly.

For my 1.3 Auto, stepping more on the gas really kinda like it is having a down syndrome
and it just wont move, I got to downshift and downshifting 1 gear down does makes lots of
difference in pick up when I need them. Only works on straight.

When comes to hill climb...is where I :banghead:
Want more pick-up, shift to L gear. :dontknow:

Write your reply...