manually using the auto gear

Nope, VR nowadays I drive but maybe because mostly in town these days, need to highway blast once in a while. Today went Shah Alam, good run on Federal and back on Kesas and NPE....:driver:

Nice. Enjoy life!

If i am driving AUTO on road at 80km/h, i release accelerate pedal, and shift from D to N, let the car roll naturally.
Then, when i need to speed up, i shift from N to D, and press accelerate pedal.
Is that ok for AUTO gearbox ? Will it damage to AUTO gearbox ?

it depends wether u r that knowledgable bout when actually which gear will kick in at what rpm, but usually if u do that the gear itself will kick in at it's original min rpm/gear position & will be a case of engine braking. in a case of u switch the gear knob from N to D but your rpm is at idling position do expect what bro Izso mentioned.

when u free your gear, the rpm drops increasingly faster than downshifting so less fuel is used ma.

I don't know about other gearboxes but I do this all the time.
My Persona gear will kick in at the right gear. Never experience engine braking when shift form N to D. TCU aren't that dumb lah guys haha.
I always put to N when I can roll. Increase FC, ATF runs cooler.
But make sure, you accelerate only when the gear is in. If you don't, might hurt it.

You'll get a violent jerk and then it'll kick in. Not exactly good to keep doing this. I don't think you're supposed to drive an auto like that.

Damn youuu... I know la. It's damn expensive, forget about impossible. I tried asking about the rear discs from the Chinese variant and it'll cost more than it's bloody worth after shipping. No point la.

And MR16DDT ?????????? from a 2.0 to a 1.6T? Hell no!!!

The MR20DE is like a pair of saline, saggy to the knees E cup....

The MR16DDT is like a pair of natural, perky, D cup...

So yeah.. it is bigger in capacity... but its not any better. Beats me why anybody wants saggy E cup over perky D cup.. oh well. :rofl: better cabuts. :vroam:

Can you really get perky D Cup? Perky C cup i suppose can. :rofl:

coz i feel that it's pick-up is better than the pedal alone, why dont u give it a try & maybe i'm right @ myabe i'm wrong, i even drop my gear when cornering coz in manual book gear 3 engine breaking is around 75 km/h & i feel that i exit thr corner faster than oto alone:biggrin:

It depends on the gear ratio, doesnt it?

Can you really get perky D Cup? Perky C cup i suppose can. :rofl:

Aiyoh! all the cups coming in, later will be, do you manually cup them or automatic......hhahhahahha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:36 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:36 AM ----------

It depends on the gear ratio, doesnt it?

Gear ratio and speed, keep within torque range of the engine is best.....:driver:

it depends wether u r that knowledgable bout when actually which gear will kick in at what rpm, but usually if u do that the gear itself will kick in at it's original min rpm/gear position & will be a case of engine braking. in a case of u switch the gear knob from N to D but your rpm is at idling position do expect what bro Izso mentioned.

when u free your gear, the rpm drops increasingly faster than downshifting so less fuel is used ma.

Only does that when at traffic light then I free gear, but when driving as in cruising, speed will decrease if on N. Also while driving and shifting to N gear is kinda dangerous especially when u need to accelerate due to emergency time, is a few seconds slower by then.

I heard lots doing that when rolling downhill, including me but after knowing that is not advisable to do that since in gear D, engine braking will assist in braking while in N, it wont work.

Can. You just got to catch em' young.

Like cars where horses dies over the years and make less power.
Cups also get saggy over the years due to gravity.

So, smaller cc cars is still a safer bet than bigger cc cars then? :rofl:

Aiyoh! all the cups coming in, later will be, do you manually cup them or automatic......hhahhahahha:rofl:

Gear ratio and speed, keep within torque range of the engine is best.....:driver:

My torque range is @4500rpm means i have to maintain at 4500rpm? :hmmmm:

1.6T can tapau ur 2.0L wor :biggrin:

What's with the whole tapau tapau thing la? You should know me well enough to know that I don't care. I just want a responsive engine and an enjoyable drive. The 2.0 would be more torquey in the lower rev ranges and the pull to top speed would be easy. A 1.6 turbo would be revvy to get it to move and to lug around a heavy car like the Sylphy is kinda hard la. Sure it will be great on a smaller lighter car compared to a 2.0, but not on a family saloon me thinks. I need low end torque.

I don't know about other gearboxes but I do this all the time.
My Persona gear will kick in at the right gear. Never experience engine braking when shift form N to D. TCU aren't that dumb lah guys haha.

I always put to N when I can roll. Increase FC, ATF runs cooler.
But make sure, you accelerate only when the gear is in. If you don't, might hurt it.

Yeah, the TCU won't let you explode the gears that easily la. Not in "D" mode anyway. Going at 180km/h then suddenly shifting from "D" to "2" is just asking for a big repair bill.

And I think you mean "decrease FC", not increase.

It's easier to understand if you think of the body as a full bodied woman instead of the supermodel with artificially large boobs. Not that I want it, but what I have already so instead of non-proportionate sizes, I'd rather go with what makes sense. Besides, a super model with perky D's would look really weird. I'm more of an ass guy. :thefinger:

What's with the whole tapau tapau thing la? You should know me well enough to know that I don't care. I just want a responsive engine and an enjoyable drive. The 2.0 would be more torquey in the lower rev ranges and the pull to top speed would be easy. A 1.6 turbo would be revvy to get it to move and to lug around a heavy car like the Sylphy is kinda hard la. Sure it will be great on a smaller lighter car compared to a 2.0, but not on a family saloon me thinks. I need low end torque.

Yeah, the TCU won't let you explode the gears that easily la. Not in "D" mode anyway. Going at 180km/h then suddenly shifting from "D" to "2" is just asking for a big repair bill.

It's easier to understand if you think of the body as a full bodied woman instead of the supermodel with artificially large boobs. Not that I want it, but what I have already so instead of non-proportionate sizes, I'd rather go with what makes sense. Besides, a super model with perky D's would look really weird. I'm more of an ass guy. :thefinger:

Ah yes. Wasn't paying much attention.

Only does that when at traffic light then I free gear, but when driving as in cruising, speed will decrease if on N. Also while driving and shifting to N gear is kinda dangerous especially when u need to accelerate due to emergency time, is a few seconds slower by then.

My torque range is @4500rpm means i have to maintain at 4500rpm? :hmmmm:

It is dangerous to drive in N. Like you say when need engine response slow already.

Yup, if torque peak at 4.5k, means you should drive and change gear at 4.5k, unless you want max power then red line....:driver::rofl:

It is dangerous to drive in N. Like you say when need engine response slow already.

Yup, if torque peak at 4.5k, means you should drive and change gear at 4.5k, unless you want max power then red line....:driver::rofl:

Redline when reach 6k rpm means reach peak HP adi :driver:

Kawan, that 1.6T makes 240nM of torque @ 2000rpm all the way to 5200rpm
Your 2.0L make 193nM @ 4300rpm... what low end torque?

Below 2000rpm your MR20DE makes 160nM to 180nM..the MR16DDT about 150nM to 190nM below 2000rpm..

http://www.nissan-global.com/EN/DOCUMENT/PDF/ENVIRONMENT/TECHNOLOGY/en_engine_ura.pdf

Replacement.. old school already man.. now even the mighty Honda moving to turbocharging. Doesn't matter how much displacement you have, its the power curve that matters.

Human stupidity can overcome anything, even TCUs.

I googled "a super model with perky D's"
This is the first image that showed up.
CmMCbqI.jpg

Weird? I guess you have exquisite taste then. :thefinger: I DON'T WANT TO KNOW YOUR TASTE. TQ.

Ixeo no way thats a D cup. And that 1.6T quite impressive! Hmm. Doubt its a pnp tho

I googled "a super model with perky D's"
This is the first image that showed up.
CmMCbqI.jpg

Weird? I guess you have exquisite taste then. :thefinger: I DON'T WANT TO KNOW YOUR TASTE. TQ.

Izso is not really a boobs guy bro, he prefer perky asses. That's why he said weird :rofl:
Perky at the wrong part. :rofl:

That's my way of driving auto gears :burnout:. Traffic light start, D2 around 3-4k rpm, switch to D3. Won't be on 4th unless more than 100km/h.

Driving around 2 years. Fried my auto box. Switch to stick. :stupid:

That's my way of driving auto gears :burnout:. Traffic light start, D2 around 3-4k rpm, switch to D3. Won't be on 4th unless more than 100km/h.

Driving around 2 years. Fried my auto box. Switch to stick. :stupid:

Means you use D3 most of the time, probably why you fried it.....:rolleyes:

RPM must sound quite loud if dragging 3rd gear throughout the journey... Heck even my car driving at 100kmh at 5th gear is already very noisy. Still stable but noisy which makes you feel like its going very fast.