Magnetised Air flow

I can believe that adding magnets to the oil filter will do some good, but addding it to the air intake, you gotta be kidding.

How can the air get polarise just by magnets?

If you meant ionize, it need several kilovolts (kV) to do that.

hey guys, i tried de magnet on my rampipe...

result is good!! B) even i'm using dual DIY air twister inside my rampipe..

better pickup... i'm using seagate HDD magnet...

Originally posted by stargate+Oct 24 2004, 18:37 -->
QUOTE (stargate @ Oct 24 2004, 18:37 )
I can believe that adding magnets to the oil filter will do some good, but addding it to the air intake, you gotta be kidding.

How can the air get polarise just by magnets?

If you meant ionize, it need several kilovolts (kV) to do that. [/b]

I understand where you're coming from...
Like I posted somewhere up there.. I don't exactly know how it affects the air passing thru. I did it out of curiousity, and I shared my idea here. It's up to you to try for yourselves to prove or disprove it...

--QuoteBegin-khguan
@Oct 24 2004, 23:45
hey guys, i tried de magnet on my rampipe... result is good!! B) even i'm using dual DIY air twister inside my rampipe..

better pickup... i'm using seagate HDD magnet...
[/quote]

Time to get someone else to test power. I mean get a buddy to test drive your car without knowing what u have done to see whether it's placebo effect or there is a noticeable difference.
BTW, did you put in the dual DIY air twister at the same time?

Time to get someone else to test power.

wat do u mean at se same time? u mean put together?

well.. my DIY twister is one after de air filter... another one is at de end of de rampipe... in other words.. i put them at both ends of de rampipe..

de HDD magnet position is same as urs.. B)

Originally posted by khguan@Oct 24 2004, 23:59
Time to get someone else to test power.

wat do u mean at se same time? u mean put together?

well.. my DIY twister is one after de air filter... another one is at de end of de rampipe... in other words.. i put them at both ends of de rampipe..

de HDD magnet position is same as urs.. B)
what I mean was whether u install the air twister at the same time as the magnets or you had the air twister previously.

if you had installed the air twister and the magnets at one go, it'll be difficult to tell which mod actually give you the added power..

u got my drift?

I always do 1 mod/add-on at a time to see/feel the difference. Let the ECU learn the new setting. then only consider the next mod/add-on.

oh... i was using de DIY twisters previously.. :P

dats y i asked bout whether de magnets can be used if i using de twisters mah...

de power improvement is definitely from de magnets.. B)

Originally posted by khguan@Oct 25 2004, 00:31
oh... i was using de DIY twisters previously.. :P

dats y i asked bout whether de magnets can be used if i using de twisters mah...

de power improvement is definitely from de magnets.. B)
ok, just to be sure ;)

hope you like the new found power.

Do keep track of the fuel consumption.

cool stuff khguan..

er.. how many magnet do you get from one HDD? i got one lying around but i'm lazy to open it up.

what about indivitual throttle? you'll need 8 magnets?

aw man~ never thought the magnets in the HDD is so powerful, well i had a pair in my mom's wira now, go test drive it soon. Can't do it in my car since it runs on carbie

well.. one HDD normally will have 2 pairs of magnets... (4 pcs)

i saw b4 HDD with only 1 magnet.. its bigger in size... dats wat u saw in my pic in my car profile...
normally magnet works in pairs.. N and S... but in this case here.. they use another metal without magnetic field..

but however.. de results is still de same.. cos i tested with normal HDD magnets with 2 pairs of magnets.. mayb de strength is de same.. B)

the Western digital HDD i open up few hours ago (with a screwdriver and a big hammer) only have 1 pair (2 piece). I've tied and stick it in the engine now, with nylon rope and the HDD's waranty seal i tear open(damn sticky too).

going out now, come back in a few hours (maybe after having dinner) and post the result. Wonder if it works, gonna sit 4 ppl in the car.

Originally posted by rollakid@Nov 16 2004, 15:05
the Western digital HDD i open up few hours ago (with a screwdriver and a big hammer) only have 1 pair (2 piece). I've tied and stick it in the engine now, with nylon rope and the HDD's waranty seal i tear open(damn sticky too).

going out now, come back in a few hours (maybe after having dinner) and post the result. Wonder if it works, gonna sit 4 ppl in the car.
get something better to secure the magnets.... I used 2 inch wide aluminum foil tape. can buy from hardware shop, RM16/roll...
and it's useful for other stuff too...

I have another fren tried it in his Wira 1.8 SOHC auto. better pickup too... better throttle response..

Result on an 4G13 efi wira, 4 ppl sit inside, my mother driving:

I dunno if its psycology or not, but here is what i feel:
1. Feel like my mother change driving style
2. Everytime change gear feel like the car want to accelerate more than before, but not really doing it, maybe 4 ppl sit inside.
3. Somehow the rev go up faster, maybe i'm just imagin it but dunno for real.
4. Somehow easier to overtake ppl even got 4 ppl sit in the car.
5. This one for sure, go up shoping complex parking seems easier than before, can really feel this one.

extra:
1. (1) and (2) stated above kinda fade away after 10 min driving, dunno if the magnet's power change after it got real hot.
2. the 4g13 efi growl like a 4g15 runs on carb when the engine is cold, dun really know what happen, never happen before.

rollakid, what did you mum comment on it? Did she know what you did to it???
As for (5), this show it improved on the low and mid range torque... better hauling power up the parking ramp... ;)

I'm pretty confident that it works, I'm just not sure how it worked... It affect the air passing thru in some ways, exactly how? that would be the scientist's assignment....

she only say can overtake car easier abit.. but she can say that also if she rev the car higher since she hardly rev really high.. i can't tell how much rev it goes up to cuz it doesn't have a tacho.

all changes are minimal, just that the engine somehow growl like a 1.5liter carbie, very strange.

I'll try to give it a run on myself, revving it (probably without the knowledge of my mom, or she'll kill me) with and without the magnets in a few days to test it out myself.

And i'll be trying to make something to hold the magnets instead of using aluminium foil tape or whatever, maybe for those who are just lazy to go to the nearest tool shop or dun wan to spend an extra cent on things. i got alot of junk lying around, who knows what i'll come out with. maybe something that will be able to hold the magnets yet easy to install and remove from the car.

a good try man.... i still havent install it.... kind of lazy on these holiday... this saturday will think how to install it....