LSD vs Non LSD

How bout gb lantai?any code stick on housing?thanks

bro.. must engage gear first leh... coz i think when free gear lsd is not working one woh....

no need engage gear also can see the lsd work anot la bro...
if 2.0 means full lock, it will spin for both side all the way..
1.5 way means spin when u accelerate
1 way means spin when reach certain speed and certain condition...

last night i tried to spin the wheel. the result is when free gear the other side wheel not spin. but when i engage the gear its spinning but reverse rotation.
consider its lsd or not?

From what I read about LSD, 2-way & 1.5 way you have to be careful in the wet/rain.
Because when you lift your foot from throttle, the two wheels still want to spin at the same speed. So if there is a big puddle of water on the left side of the road and dry road on right side, the LSD will try maintain same speed to both wheel, if not control, can cause spin.
1 way LSD is safest for FWD, but grip during cornering is lowest compare to 2 or 1.5 way LSD.

How bout gb lantai?any code stick on housing?thanks

no code on it...

To see from GB lantai, see the housing of gearbox are open before or not... Majority the opened before and gum back are LSD....

Another thing is... if got driveshaft... try to spin the driveshaft, you will get same result as turning the disc or tire too... If no, need to see thru the driveshaft hole already (hard abit)...

hehehe... bro nothin wat brand u suggest for gear oil.

bro,KAAZ LSD lub is not that bad.
coz now i'm using it,engaging feel more smooth,and the sound also not so loud oredi.
juz to share my experience.
correct me if wrong,thanks and regards.:itsme:

last night i tried to spin the wheel. the result is when free gear the other side wheel not spin. but when i engage the gear its spinning but reverse rotation.
consider its lsd or not?

bro i think don,t have lsd . if lsd both wheel spin together . correct me if im wrong :hmmmm:

consider its lsd or not?

huh? engage the gear can spin the tire? U mean u manual spin it or... u press the pedal?

if free gear no spin, majority is no LSD already... If u engage the gear, and pedal down... Another side will spin a little bit as well... This is normal...

From what I read about LSD, 2-way & 1.5 way you have to be careful in the wet/rain.
Because when you lift your foot from throttle, the two wheels still want to spin at the same speed. So if there is a big puddle of water on the left side of the road and dry road on right side, the LSD will try maintain same speed to both wheel, if not control, can cause spin.
1 way LSD is safest for FWD, but grip during cornering is lowest compare to 2 or 1.5 way LSD.

yes... it dangerous in raining...

bro,1 more thing to share.:idea:
The LSD gb is only can experience when you drive it.
the handling feel is totally different from those non LSD gb.
what i can say is "damn shiok" :rofl:when you attack cornering,but first you had to have a good suspension set too la......
hahaha.......:biggrin:

bro sco i spin it by hand. not press pedal or start engine.

edra.
viscous lsd = toyota OEM lsd for 20v cant be determine by using method of turning. why? because it will only lock when certain criteria met. viscous is using pressure in order to lock both side, so no pressure, no lock. thats why cant pusing one side, and the other one wont pusing.
i bet yours have lsd. why? superstrut and twin pot. dont worry...

i havent test normal / open differential gearbox, but last time with viscous gearbox, it will behave like what u said, engage gear, turn one side forward, the other side will turn the way around

no need engage gear also can see the lsd work anot la bro...
if 2.0 means full lock, it will spin for both side all the way..
1.5 way means spin when u accelerate
1 way means spin when reach certain speed and certain condition...

wei ivan taiko, i want to make some comment a bit, dont angry wif me aaa....
2 way....lock both way either u accel or deccel.... supreme drift setup. is that mean full lock?
1.5way....best for FF setup. full locking when accel, half locking when deccel....not full lock meh?
1 way (cusco plate type)....very typical type of lsd, full locking when accel, full release when deccel. full lock oso ka? noticable response, very aggressive behavior, nasty and u will beggin for more....

lsd will provide better handling of course, but it will also easily make ur both front tire spinning when u hardly accel....but normally when i am driving in very2 wet cond, or through a poll of water, the wheel spin from the lsd still pulling my car to the straight direction, i have never experinced the lsd will caused the pulling direction into the left or right like some of our brother mentioned/experienced before. maybe something wrong with me, my car not good, maybe i am driving too slow or maybe my lsd not good......maybe........

just my thought...if not agree oso okay....

consider its lsd or not?

oem lsd oso good.

in this case i remember my ke20 rwd when we spin the left tyre then the right tyre also spinning but the reverse rotation. is that also consider got lsd?

that mean my gearbox got lsd lah but oem punye? what is relation between superstrut/twinpot with lsd? sorrylah friends banyak tanya. "malu bertanya sesat jalan"

what is different (performance) with the LSD brand? TRD, cusco, others

that mean my gearbox got lsd lah but oem punye? what is relation between superstrut/twinpot with lsd? sorrylah friends banyak tanya. "malu bertanya sesat jalan"

I think nothin bro mention like this:
if the halfcut was together with the superstrut and twinpot... majority is equipped with OEM LSD. Correct me if wrong...

what is different (performance) with the LSD brand? TRD, cusco, others

ermm... This 1 should ask nothin (sifoo LSD) liao le...

lsd will provide better handling of course, but it will also easily make ur both front tire spinning when u hardly accel....but normally when i am driving in very2 wet cond, or through a poll of water, the wheel spin from the lsd still pulling my car to the straight direction, i have never experinced the lsd will caused the pulling direction into the left or right like some of our brother mentioned/experienced before. maybe something wrong with me, my car not good, maybe i am driving too slow or maybe my lsd not good......maybe........

just my thought...if not agree oso okay....

I bet is tire problem.. Me actually also no face "in wet... the lsd will caused the pulling direction into the left or right" problem before too.... But my friend said, he was accident-ed because of this too..

oem lsd oso good.
Yes... compared to no LSD lo... Anyway, if base on info above... the OEM LSD is called 1 way LSD also ka?

Bump: this is LSD and non LSD differential.... Please check and you will understand..
- Video -

This is how the LSD work
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=29QpZrMQ9v8&feature=related

hi all sifus n mmbrs of ZTH....I got several issues regarding this topic...hope U mind to share.

1. I could hear a knocking sound 'ktak' once, each time I drive my car out of junction (steering was fully steered to either left or right). does it indicate LSD or chasis crack? (hv changed driveshaft, yet still same)

2. LSD gb with normal/regular gb oil, will it cause damage to LSD gb?

FYI, just converted my LE to 20v bt...halfcut come with superstrut n twin port...

TQ all....

hi all sifus n mmbrs of ZTH....I got several issues regarding this topic...hope U mind to share.

1. I could hear a knocking sound 'ktak' once, each time I drive my car out of junction (steering was fully steered to either left or right). does it indicate LSD or chasis crack? (hv changed driveshaft, yet still same)
can you check the knuckle or ball joint? both of that also can cause this happen.

2. LSD gb with normal/regular gb oil, will it cause damage to LSD gb?

FYI, just converted my LE to 20v bt...halfcut come with superstrut n twin port...

TQ all....

What LSD u using? Normally not so nice if with normal gb oil lo... but i not sure too...

bro scomatic, tq 4 da prompt response..

already change the ball join, bushings....n hvn,t ckecked the knuckle yet....i'll try to look at it after this...

n i'm not sure if it's LSD or not....according to mech it's non-lsd, but some friends say that bt20v with superstrut n twin pot come with LSD gb...

anyway tq again...

Can we fit a normal differential c56 gearbox with LSD? is it as good as OEM LSD? do we need to change the gearbox oil to LSD type such as Castrol LSX or stick with normal 75W/90 GL-5 oil? Does the oil change interval differ from normal gearbox? What is the change interval for normal C56 anyway..... sorry for the many questions