questions regarding LSD

bera

Hi forumers,

i need to ask something...actually a couple of things regarding LSD...

ok...the thing is...i'm own a corolla and recently transplant 4AGE 20V blacktop...and it comes with 5 speed lsd gearbox ( can i safely presume that its C56..??) after much reading about LSD ...it become to confusing (ie the full lock, 1.5 lock and all those locking thingy) for me...so i choose to ignore the technical workings...please pardon my n00b.. :)

the questions are

1: how to determine that the LSD is factory fitted or aftermarket one...?? (because i notice that there is some kind of yellow/orange paste around my gearbox assembly)
and on the other note...both tire spins when front end jacked up and rotated

2: since it is a moving component...i guess it must subject to wear and tear...so what is the periodically maintenance i have to perform...??( do i have to tear it down and rebuilt on periodically basis or just change the oil and hope for the best)

3: and the most stupidest question of all...what grade of oil should i use/you guys recomend :P (before this only using auto gearbox...so all i know is toyota ATF oil) :hmmmm:

thanks... :burnout:

Congrats on your 20V BT transplant! Well, all of the 5 speed BT comes equipped with C56 gearbox, but not all the C56 gbox comes with LSD though. Although mine doesn't have LSD, I hope I can answer your doubts though (better double check with sifu first):

1. If there's some kind of orange paste near the gearbox, which doesn't look like it was factory default, chances are your gbox could be fitted with aftermarket LSD. Yes, you can jack up the car, put it in neutral and spin the wheels... if both tires spun in the same direction, you have LSD. But to verify if its aftermarket LSD, you would need to open up the driveshaft and see the size of that driveshaft hole.

2. Usually LSD no need to rebuild, unless you hear some weird noise coming out from it (normal for full lock). Just have to maintain the gear oil and change periodically.

3. Using AFT I dont think is suitable for LSD gearbox. Any LSD gear oil is better than AFT oil such as Toyota LSD oil. But if you have higher budget, can try Kaaz LSD oil, Cusco LSD oil or even Motul LSD gear oil.

For more info, refer here: http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car-talk/153936-lsd-gearbox-oil.html

Write your reply...