LSD vs Non LSD

Anyone knows what are the symptoms if the LSD is not in a good condition? My car will go left when I accelerate and back to the normal position (straight) as soon as I decelerate. Also, the steering will bounce back if I turn the steering into the correct position when it goes right/left.

So, anybody knows if this is the symptoms of LSD "kong" ? :adore::adore:

Bump: Anyone knows what are the symptoms if the LSD is not in a good condition? My car will go left when I accelerate and back to the normal position (straight) as soon as I decelerate. Also, the steering will bounce back if I turn the steering into the correct position when it goes right/left.

So, anybody knows if this is the symptoms of LSD "kong" ? :adore::adore:

Gear box with LSD cannot see a metal piece in that hole. I normally use Redline. Rain using LSD is a nightmare + using Neouva Advan Yokohama. But dry on tarmac, muahhahaha. Poison on your right foot!

• AE92SC1.5LSD.jpg
    AE92SC1.5LSD.jpg
    43.2 KB · Views: 212
Bro,
I also confius with my bt.
is it got lsd or not.
when i spin left wheel (gear at N-auto).right wheel also rotate but in reverse rotation.
i ask my mechanic he said that lsd, both wheel will rotate in same rotation.

wau...thread revive...:)

---------- Post added at 12:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:16 PM ----------

wht is the best lsd for toyota gearbox...any comment .. sifoo ...:)

fuiyo thread revive.
after reading all the above comments, I still find it hard to determine if im running lsd or not.
because

1- some said that u jack the car up and manually spin the wheel, if both side spin, means LSD. some pulak say one spin fwd, one spin bkwd. So which is correct?

2- when i tekan and enter a corner, i feel the steering becomes heavier and "stiffer" to turn, but if i roll into a corner, it feels lighter

any help is appreciated !

fuiyo thread revive.
after reading all the above comments, I still find it hard to determine if im running lsd or not.
because

1- some said that u jack the car up and manually spin the wheel, if both side spin, means LSD. some pulak say one spin fwd, one spin bkwd. So which is correct?

2- when i tekan and enter a corner, i feel the steering becomes heavier and "stiffer" to turn, but if i roll into a corner, it feels lighter

any help is appreciated !
Yes, hard to determine LSD unless you look through the driveshaft center hole or completely dismantle the differential.

1. Usually LSD fitted gearbox, both wheels should spin at the same direction with the gear in neutral. If both wheel spins in opposite direction, it is non-LSD (open differential).

2. Yes, LSD gearbox will cause steering become heavier but usually for LSD gearbox, the steering will try to "fight back". Many other factors can cause your steering to become heavier eg: tires, alignment, power steering... etc

3. Another suggest another way to check for LSD is to jack up only one wheel and try to spin that wheel alone. Usually LSD gearbox will make one wheel hard to spin for 1way & 1.5way and even harder if its 2way. It will feel as if there is some resistance on the wheel as if its on gear, like something holding it back. Non-LSD (open differential) will have no resistance and allow you to spin the wheel freely.

Correct me if I'm wrong... :driver:

One more way to check LSD is to do a burnout... from what I know, non-LSD will only cause one wheel to spin/smoke and easier to do a burnout. But if you're on LSD, gonna be harder to do burnout and need to do on super slippery surface (basement carpark)... and both wheels should spin/smoke.

Or you could also attend gymkhana... ehehe

Well, while we wait for the real sifu to explain on the gear oil, I'd recon any LSD gear oil will do. Currently using Toyota LSD Oil and no complains so far. Heard good raves for Kaaz and also Motul ...depends how deep is your pocket though ;)