photos taken with wrong mode..
quite small but can be englarge with
photo viewer like ACDSee.

Can it be cure? or hopeless...
mechanic said hopeless. :(

i found gearbox shaft got sound.
like something slack. and will move.
but i still try it. and heard strange noise.
no idea wht it is, 1st time using LSD.
it still works, corner good. but somehow
car like losing a bit power.

2nd day, lots of oil on floor. so the car left
there until i got back from hometown sent
to overhaul. i tot oil seal leaking.

mech opened up... and i was speechless.
the body got shear off. put together still
got little grip.

can it be weld back? thanks...

i got 4 litres(2 tin) of KAAZ L.S.D. 80W90 oil for sale...

Bought it for RM130 per tin. and freight charges cost me RM50.
freight charges will not be include in sales. don worry.
prefer those in sarawak... interested pls pm me. or call me
at 0198178323.

Ngaiti.......

Ur LSD is from Kaaz right, been heard u bought from zth member, well, really sad to heard that.....try to consult the seller asap lar!!!!

Aloo Alvin,

It's no secret that you are using the LSD + C56 bought from me. And it does hurt for me to see that the item I sold to u is broken. In fact I was not even sure of the condition when I put it on sale, and because I was not too sure, I did not dare to sell them at market price.

Anyway, looking at the pics, seems that the speed pinion gear is broken, I have seen cases like this before and I have to say that all is not lost. If I were u, I would send the LSD unit for TIG or MIG Steel based weld with some filing on the joint before welding. The broken part is the housing itself and I am sure the LSD clutches inside are still quite ok. One might argue that the LSD will be not as strong as before - but consider this, the LSD itself is confined within the GB housing which is tight fit, welding it back will only to ensure it does not move - once inserted back the GB wall will hold it down.

The reason this can break is quite simple, there must be some excessive oversteer at high RPM with driveshaft which is not entirely tight - meaning the driveshaft is a bit loose on the teeth, the minor play will cause akward angle on heavy turn or during hard acceleration at high gear (1st to 3rd)

Another option that we can consider is to sell me back the LSD unit as a faulty device. Personally, I would love to have them back becoz that was the first ever LSD that I used for SIC track sessions. And I have resources that can have them all fixed up. What do u say?

PS: The C56 GB that came with the LSD, those shud be in tip-top condition with perfect Syncromesh operation on all gear - treasure them well becoz not many C56 are in good shape.

trd_ae92 said:
Ur LSD is from Kaaz right, been heard u bought from zth member, well, really sad to heard that.....try to consult the seller asap lar!!!!

U sounded a bit offensive there my fren, for a fully functional C56 + KAAZ LSD do you think can get price below RM400? When I offered my whole engine and GB for sale the price I put was RM1500 for everything (Engine, Harness, GB etc). Why I put RM1500? that's becoz the sale was for coverage on item which have unknown status - yes I do know the whole engine still runs very well, I took it to SIC and no sweat running grueling 11 rounds.

And then trouble comes, I needed cash urgently and put my engine set for sale, rough estimation the price should not exceed RM1500 at current state. OK quite a few interested and it was sold to Rollakid and Artnet, both good fellows. I was reluctant for the deal but the buyer insist that they want to go ahead - why I am reluctant, well it is because of the distance and with that comes the hassle of getting stuffs shipped. And in case something does goes wrong, it will be difficult to refer back to me.

Honestly, I was quite confident that the engine itself is in great shape - albeit looking very dirty and that - I never bother to wash them over the year - not even once. I did mention to Rollakid that he will have to change some seals and Cylinder Head gasket becoz it has already to leak out oils - that was clear. Do you want to know the real value of the engine? That's the very first and only one 4A-GE 20V fully prepped and rebuilt by NS Performace (Powerzone) - which cost me RM4000 not including the engine price - it has very refined block internals and re-balanced crankshaft, rods and pistons (lightened). The engine was rebuilt to survive constant 10'000 RPM if needed be - but it never seen 10'000RPM becoz I was still using OEM ECU. Rest assured that, that particular Silvertop is even lighter than most Blacktop with the strength of a Silvertop.

But hey!, I have used the rebuilt motor for over a year, and now I needed cash - ok lah sell it RM1500 only, with the LSD GB as a BONUS. get the picture now?

So before making remark such as yours, please think carefully before posting.

well, this post is not for arguing...

i'm trying to seek for solutions. regarding the TIG and MIG
i need to ask around see if anyone is confidence to do that.
selling it back? i'm not sure about that... it is very effective
altough in broken state. haha.

so i have two solutions now.. anymore? i think tht's all...

LSD rebuilt kit normally doesn't contain that huge thing i presume.

BTW, how can i clean the gearbox internals and the LSD unit?
can i wash them with sunlight and water? or to wipe the oil with
paper? thanks.

artnet said:

i'm trying to seek for solutions. regarding the TIG and MIG
i need to ask around see if anyone is confidence to do that.
selling it back? i'm not sure about that... it is very effective
altough in broken state. haha.

so i have two solutions now.. anymore? i think tht's all...

LSD rebuilt kit normally doesn't contain that huge thing i presume.

BTW, how can i clean the gearbox internals and the LSD unit?
can i wash them with sunlight and water? or to wipe the oil with
paper? thanks.

Yes, LSD rebuild kit does not cover for the housing assembly - of which the broken neck for the Speed Pinion Gear is. U can find TIG welders at any shop that does Intercooler Piping or high Precision Tooling shop - not just any weld shop have TIG. And on how to weld them back is not easy either. The plastic Pinion Gear will have to be pushed out fitst leaving the broken section exposed. Once exposed some grinding need to be done to make some sort of longkang along the broken joint to accomodate TIG weld material to sink in. Once welded successfully it will have to be filed down smoothly. If possible, weld from inside too - altought hsi might be a bit difficult.

For the GB, u can clean them using 2 cans of STP carb Cleaner - no worry they wont corrode the GB internals. Use pressurized air will be good too. Rinse off with Diesel Fuel and everything will be back neat and clean.

no idea who can did that nicely...
i try to ask around first... if really
no other way might seek ur help again.
:D

met one apek driving ef2 at the workshop.
ask the mech wht's going on... mech explained.
and he said install LSD no use one.. car won't be
fast... bla bla bla.. i just walked away... d@mn.

artnet said:
met one apek driving ef2 at the workshop.
ask the mech wht's going on... mech explained.
and he said install LSD no use one.. car won't be
fast... bla bla bla.. i just walked away... d@mn.

HAHAHAHHA like dat oso got aaah.........

artnet said:

EFN bro... how come my words become offensive to u??? well, i didn't " BLAME " or putting any insulting words ler??just ask artnet to insult with the seller, me also don't know is u too..... hmm......me also didn't ask u for whole explanation of ur difficulty???.....overall maybe i tooooooo busy body person lar. I just respect this forum is for trading and free talk but " NOT AGRUING ". Please don't be to sensitive la......:smile: hohoho....merry chrsitmas bro:tee:

aiyo..misunderstanding only...........relax.....lie trdae92 say...its free forum.relax.
salam..:tee:

EFN bro... how come my words become offensive to u??? well, i didn't " BLAME " or putting any insulting words ler??

Ooops! Somebody typo liao. hahahah. :biggrin:

Wah! dun wan the LSD sell to me la. I use for Art Deco in my house. Yummy!

artnet said:
EFN,

how much is it going to cost for tht MIG welding?

MIG Weld is cheap. No more than RM50 for a thorough job. But the LSD neck where the joint is going to be welded need to be prepped nicely first - proper grinding on the sides to create a longkang for the weld. MIG Weld machine shud be available a lot at Exhaust shop.

trd_ae92:
My bad, I was in a very volatile mood swing that day - some pressure at office. So I was a bit offensive actually. My apology for being so.

thanks, i talk to the mech first.. see whehter he got any recommendation
for the job.