Did the different offsets cause this???

faeizal

hi bros...

got a problem here with my ae101 and i do hope u guys can help out...

last month i changed my rim to a 15x7jj offset 35... previously it was 15x7jj offset 40... the problem is my rear tyres are rubbing the wheel arch when there are passengers or extra load at the back... on both sides but the left side is more obvious... i can see scratch marks on tyre's outer sidewall... and so sayang laa coz tyres baru.... aiiii...

rear suspension setup is standard oem... already tried adjusting the camber to negative but the scraping is still there..

so to the questions... what's causing this??? any of u got this problem before and what was ur solution back then (was thinking of 'shaving' the arch a bit)? or is it my suspension due already (2 mechanics said it's still ok)...

please share... tq guys

going from offset 40 to 35 will make your wheels go outward sommo laa ... so if previously already scraping is offset 40 .. now with offset 35 expect more scraping laa ... since your wheels now extra 5mm outwards liauu maa .. hehehehe

how to solve ??? ketuk the car fender ... or change to super hard suspensions so tak turun lorrr ... hehehehehee ... increasing negative camber will oso help abit laaa ..

errr... mind if i ask, what is the correct off-set for SEG ae101 ar?

sifoos... if ketuk actually how they do it haa? i blur laa this part...

me not sagat rear..my rear already set -ve..me sagat at front...but if i set the chamber to -ve maybe can gua..but my tyre 195/55/50..how come i alreay used tein hi/low if i drive fast at bumpy road i can hear the tyre kena the fender..r my tein kong already..my tyre & fender gap 1 finger..

to ketuk .. please consult ketuk mud guard ppl if u dunno what to ketuk laaa .. hehehehehee ...
the correct offset is the one that doesnt hit your fender laaa .. hehehehe ... width of rim oso play a part one maaaa ... trial and error lorr ... your spring rates and abs condition plays a part oso maaa .. if too soft until bottom out then whatever offset oso might kena laaa .. haahahahahahaaa

faeizal.. ur problem same as me.. the tyres badly scratch. the solution:- ketuk that mudguard, now tada 'sagat' lagi.. make sure to ketuk nicely or ur arch will 'lekuk' not so smooth and sometimes the paint will come out..

Put ur hand in the rear arch and you will feel like an L shape .. this is the one that hits the tyre usually .. so what ppl do is to whack/flatten the L shape so that it doesn't scrape the tyre .. very rarely you will need to push the arches out unless you using gila kuasa rims :shades_smile:

know your rim...

http://www.enkei.co.jp/en/images/elem_local_t_know_sketch03.gif

source page : http://www.enkei.co.jp/en/t_know.html

my first experience mudguard rubbing tyre was when i use 14X6JJ offset 38.

then change to 16X7JJ offset 38.also hit the tyre

finally i 'ketuk' mudguard then problem settled

16X7.0JJ offset 38
15X7.0JJ offset 35
15X6.5JJ offset 38
15X6.5JJ offset 30
14X6.0JJ offset 38

ae101 best offset range should be (did my own calculation,correct me if im wrong)

35-40 for 7.0JJ rim (my benchmark for ae101)
29-46 for 6.5JJ rim
23-52 for 6.0JJ rim

it's hard to understand this calculation via writing.....need a piece of paper,pen and a glass of teh tarik to explain

additional info left.....

35-40 for 7.0JJ rim, 205/50 tyre
29-46 for 6.5JJ rim, 195/55 tyre
23-52 for 6.0JJ rim, 185/60 tyre

yolk said:
Put ur hand in the rear arch and you will feel like an L shape .. this is the one that hits the tyre usually .. so what ppl do is to whack/flatten the L shape so that it doesn't scrape the tyre .. very rarely you will need to push the arches out unless you using gila kuasa rims :shades_smile:

yes... was thinking to bantai/shave this L shape thingy too...

Fixed mine at TRIAL Tuning. Go look for William. err...anyone with address or phone no.???

Cheers.

if any sifu's out there now the offset for rim 17", 16" & 15" for ae 111...please list..tq.