"Looooong" headlamp... new trend?

sam1741

hi all...
check out cars lately...(and not-so-lately)

toyota celica,
nissan 350Z,
suzuki swift,
cadillac CTS,
nissan skyline R35,
etc etc...

seems like.. car nowadays very like 'long' light..
dono is new trend or not? :D

what is your opinion/thoughts?

(p.s. : maybe next time we can see car design that..
the headlamp length from just after the A-pillar right to
the bottom of the bumper? :D )

er..check out those car...
their light is long....
like | is long, -- is wide

dono how to describe..

Viperleed said:
really have no idea bout tis...you mean rear lamp or front one??

i think he means the cars 'hooters' ;) larger, long & scultured!!

besides front grill, the headlights form an appeal & styling. thanks to projectile bulbs, more defination can be scultured via the cars 'eyes'.

and to think Gen2 headlamps are so unconventional :rolleyes:

yes the current celica hooters are nice, so is the BMWs. The 350z takes a while to get use too but that design is more a faddish then the rest. (means it will be tired design sooner than it wants too)

i know what u mean... something like the headlamps in avanza and myvi??..
perhaps square lamps arent the 'IN' thing now.. but then, i still prefer the square ones... preferable projector type... nice nice..

well prob they got the same computer cad to design for them
:D
but those long rectangle 1 are nicer
my view lah

yeah, this is just a fashion in automobile market.

started with Civic SO4 in 1996 with BIG (bigger than norm) headlamps. Ford Focus followed in 1998 as well as Yaris/Vitz/Echo, MR-S, Celica, RAV4 and Estima in 1999. then out of a sudden every car manufacturer was designing weird looking headlamps.

'long' taillamp started with Fiat Punto and Volvo 850 Estate just before mid 90s. Honda CRV followed not long after.

slim headlights used to be the 'IN' thing in early 90s. the slimmer the better. Cefiro A31 and Accord SM4 were pioneers. 2nd generation Integra has the widest slim headlamp causing for a small nose.

when it comes to design it is a very subjective in saying. but in order to sell, then must follow what is market trend. just like year 2000..silver was the IN colour. u see silver cars everywhere. at anytime and anywhere. silver had evolved then to become yellowish, blueish and greenish but under the microscope its still silver.

this is what Proton had failed...to follow market trend. ha ha ha..padan muka.

I observe they also tend to design the headlight shape like Integra DC5 such as Gen-2, Spectra, BMW, coming Subaru STI, and SRM

headlamps are getting bigger in conclusion... they afraid we cant see the road clearly, thus cause more accident... but still, i dun like... haha...
small small nice mar... install HID mai clear lo...

zan said:
......silver was the IN colour. u see silver cars everywhere. at anytime and anywhere. silver had evolved then to become yellowish, blueish and greenish but under the microscope its still silver.

because silver is the fastest colour :D