looking for new car

At the moment, i'm open to suggestions as my civic will only be back after 3 weeks as scheduled by the workshop for repair.

thanks for some of the suggestions but i really think the maximum my dad's gonna fork out for a car for the time being will be at RM80k max inclusive of trading in my civic.

we have a mercedes, a daihatsu charade, and 6month old hyundai accent besides my civic at home so preferably other choices. thank you very much :)

get kia spectra...bragaining with N*Z* a bit,can get at 2-3K discount and with body kit thrown in...

Originally posted by GHOST@Jan 14 2005, 00:01
Get a Hyundai Accent. Not bad the car. Fits within ur budget also.... :D
The car that got the worst car of the year award from the 3 stooges on Top Gear.

dun get kia...very problematic....coz i used 2 own sepia...interior quality of coz better than proton...but power n maintainance can kill...

last time accident cash repair...1 headlamp rm 400...1 fender rm400....

a 2nd hand civic is a great buy, providing if you've spotted a good ex-owner. confortable, relatively big and powerful. the 99 spec civic(no vtec) would probably costs u about 67 to 70K while the vtec one would cost u somewhere 70 to 75K depending on condition. i'm currently driving a year 99 civic vtec but old spec ones. pretty happy with it and it definitely outruns most stock cars in its class.

si|verfish,
i never knew about it.. any link so i can read? :P

Yong_5290,
thanks for the info, appreciate it and will try to get more feedbacks whether it's only problematic to one car.. or it affects the other models as well.. :)

prodigy,
my car which is involved in the accident is a 96spec EJ7 4 door sedan.. that's why i'm quite reluctant to let go of it, but my folks are saying that the car "sueh" ler.. one accident after another.. time to give it up
i told them about getting me a honda integra dc2 model if going 2nd hand or a brand new toyota vios for a new car.. but just not putting high hopes as it all depends how much we manage to sell off the car :( i wouldn't be suprise if they get me something that is a really downgrade from my current ride.. but all in all, what can i do? it's their hard earned money, better discuss and see the best choice lo.. :)

for me, if my folks allow me to go get another 2nd hand car.. i'll go for the honda integra dc2, otherwise for first hand car i'd go for the toyota vios B)

sigh, can anybody comment on the selling price of a EJ7 4door sedan in stock condition that is involved in an accident? (does the ppl who advertise to their cars to be accident free, really are accident free?) :unsure:

Jackie,
Toyota Vios is a nice car within your budget for a new car. Less headache. Consumption wise is acceptable as well as maintenance. Sportyness, of course loh..just rope in TRD bodykits and a nice set of sports rim.

But if you are considering 2nd hand, your budget can get you quite a lot of choice for cars. It also boils down to your preference..many cars at this range can be sport too. But then, from the way you put it..I believe maintence is a factor for you..so I don't think used european cars can be considered. Otherwise, I'll recommend you to look around for Alfa's...sporty and class. But maintenance can kill you lar especialy the spare parts price.

I suggest you to get back a good condition Civic EK or EJ 4 door (since I can tell you like honda very much). I used to drive a EK9 convert (look at my nick..hehe) and I must tell you, it (2 door)get's inconvenient after sometime. If you intend to keep your car for long, get a four door. If you have no problem keeping a 2door at bay, then by all means...get the DC-2. Powerful beast at it's class ! Maintenance wise, easy also..just that you don't itchy hand go and mod...like I did. :)

Last thing...DC-2 consumption is one thing lor..definately higher than vios or alpha or any other cars. Matchable with turbo car man..if u always 'bukak'.

cheers.

toyota SEG really cun
old edi but the interior still like new...i mean...very quiet....

Originally posted by B18C-R@Jan 15 2005, 10:46
Jackie,
Toyota Vios is a nice car within your budget for a new car. Less headache. Consumption wise is acceptable as well as maintenance. Sportyness, of course loh..just rope in TRD bodykits and a nice set of sports rim.

But if you are considering 2nd hand, your budget can get you quite a lot of choice for cars. It also boils down to your preference..many cars at this range can be sport too. But then, from the way you put it..I believe maintence is a factor for you..so I don't think used european cars can be considered. Otherwise, I'll recommend you to look around for Alfa's...sporty and class. But maintenance can kill you lar especialy the spare parts price.

I suggest you to get back a good condition Civic EK or EJ 4 door (since I can tell you like honda very much). I used to drive a EK9 convert (look at my nick..hehe) and I must tell you, it (2 door)get's inconvenient after sometime. If you intend to keep your car for long, get a four door. If you have no problem keeping a 2door at bay, then by all means...get the DC-2. Powerful beast at it's class ! Maintenance wise, easy also..just that you don't itchy hand go and mod...like I did. :)

Last thing...DC-2 consumption is one thing lor..definately higher than vios or alpha or any other cars. Matchable with turbo car man..if u always 'bukak'.

cheers.
B18C-R,

Exactly what i was thinking for the Toyota Vios. But if it's out of my dad's given budget then will have to re-consider some car of lower end lo :(

I definitely don't intend to go for continentals as from what I can see from my dad's 2nd hand benz, changing parts and repairing problems every now and then gives him one heck of a headache. :freak:

Basically I'll be driving this car most of the time alone, and not always fetching a lot of passengers anyway so I don't see much of a problem keeping a 2-door. Really fond of the Integra DC-2. I like my EJ 4 door but from the way my dad puts it, he ain't gonna keep the car anymore. Sad, but yes it's a Civic EJ7 specifically, slightly kitted as well :(

Telling what I had in mind to my dad would probably lead to getting the Vios.. :lol:

VIOS also not bad lar..really. Value for money. With some extra's in hand or later on..u can easily 'kit' it with TRD kits...a couple of TRD'ed VIOS in my area...DAMN CUN !

DC-2 Also nice lar..definately. Once of my favorite but I sat in one before. I must warn you the height clearance for the back seat is very low. That means ur back passenger cannot sit straight lah, otherwise the head keep kena the roof. LOL.

Either one is good lar ! One is looks and value, the other ...looks and power loh !

Hi, i dun mean to intrud. Was juz wondering what about evo 3? Its a sedan. fast and looks nice. BTW, how much does is an evo 3 cost nowdays?

any of you guys driving o own a Vios or a City?..mind to do some compare ar?

coz i hear vios handling not good and all...somemore price if almost same as city with about 1k difference only...but city got 7 speed mode and magic seat...feel like more worth for it, but the butt of the car pissed me off.. :(

anyone mind to share ur experience on both car? performance? car built?...etc..?

Originally posted by bluesapphire@Jan 19 2005, 04:24
any of you guys driving o own a Vios or a City?..mind to do some compare ar?

coz i hear vios handling not good and all...somemore price if almost same as city with about 1k difference only...but city got 7 speed mode and magic seat...feel like more worth for it, but the butt of the car pissed me off.. :(

anyone mind to share ur experience on both car? performance? car built?...etc..?
i would appreciate the same information as well ;)

for the honda city, from the pictures.. i don't really like the interior.. the colour i mean.. makes it looks kinda "ancient" or something old.. the exterior is tolerable just not as sporty compared to the vios.. :rolleyes: