Local ECU

Hmmmmm......have to call Mr.Manan......or switch to sleep mode....and wait for a decade....PM say "Proton is National company".....and by the time,next PM will be.........

Today call MR. Manan. ( surounding have teh and coffee sound...ting.ting..ting , i think Mr.Manan just had a morning tea )
Not much on progress..still wait for Proton....you know....pass these level,then that level...and then pass back again......

Hmmmm.......i think no one support him.....NO ONE. ( Prof. move the "BIG" head and look at the floor )

Hmmmm.....me too....me too.

Well, world is like that, if you can't beat them, joint them....this is the way...and you see.....story is not end yet and it's just begin......

"Row row...row the boat.....gently drow the stream.....merrily....merrily....merrily...life is but a dream"

Boys and girls, again

"Row row...row the boat......."

Hello Guys.. Sorry for the long absence. I actually had a very good meeting with Proton last month. In short, they would like to revive the project and agreed that it would be good for motorsports application. However, it turned out to be HOT AIR. I've been trying to get back to them every week for the past 4 weeks without any success.

My prototype hardware is ready and integration work with the firmware (i.e. the embedded software inside the C-167 micro controller that runs the ECU) is taking place quite well. At the same time, the user interface software's progress is also quite encouraging and its communication link with the ECU hardware is doing well. Once this is all done, the next step would be to run the ECU on an Engine Simulator by injecting real signals to see whether the output responds well as expected. When this is all completed, then we will be ready for actual engine dyno or vehicle testing. This is where I hope to be able to use Proton's facilities. They have agreed in principal to do this together with me. Unfortunately, I'm not getting any feedback from them about this.

My other biggest problem now is to find the exact Siemens VDO ECU connector to use on my ECU. This will allow the ECU to be fitted nicely (i.e. plug & play concept) into all Proton's car model from year 2000 until now, except for Perdana and Savvy. I am trying to get its part number so that I can speak to its original manufacturer and purchase from them.

Well, you all have to excuse me if I don't come into this forum often. Quite busy with other projects laa..

Xbalance2002,
Thanks to drop by.
You are the first customer to see us, so prize will be give away...(he..he..he)

Stay tune, i will show my small R & D room intead Mr.Manan and his term.
Just like Mr.Mah...say : "Prot....is dead"

Anyway, new life will begin.....

ecupro,
Haha....what a news from aliyatech

in fact we got alot of local ppl with great idea but some time not every 1 can show their idea and no 1 know how far their idea can take them to.....

so brother what u have for us....another Motec??

xbalance2002,
You quote :
"so brother what u have for us....another Motec??"

He..he...he...Malaysia off track enthusiasts championship..Motec.

My R & D Room and tools

Capture signal using gravity pull method or poor men method.

Vtec Distrubutor and Toyota super charge ( 4AGZE )

My tuning method, idle and road dyno method

Piping with norrow band O2 sensor ( with heater element ) and A/F electroinc device.

ecupro said:
My tuning method, idle and road dyno method

Piping with norrow band O2 sensor ( with heater element ) and A/F electroinc device.

Since your 02 sensor is a narrow band unit, how are you able to know the A/F accurately?

As heavily tuned engines (big boost, big injectors, etc) sometimes run too rich or too lean.

If not mistaken narrow band 02 sensor is only able to read stoich / near stoich a/f (0.1 ~ 1V).

Ecupro,

One question to you, coming back to the Siemens EMS700, for campro, if one is running with a fuel requlator, no cam fitments but got filter and exhaust mod, my question is, will siemens detect a change in a/f ratio measurement and then completely come up with a new map again to comply with whatever emission control mapping programming that it was initially program for? i:e whatever settings done on the fuel requlator to be redundant after a while since this is a OBDII system. Hope to hear from you soon..

Joeker,
You quote :
"Since your 02 sensor is a narrow band unit, how are you able to know the A/F accurately?"

Normally, this A/F electrinic device have to calibrate first, and normaliy, this O2 sensor output voltage is 0.1v ~ 1v. Off cause, wide band O2 sensor is much much better like LM-1.But, at least, you have a ref not allow your engine to run lean,right!.

I think the Apexi turbo timer have A/F reading, not bad at all,right!

You quote :
"If not mistaken narrow band 02 sensor is only able to read stoich / near stoich a/f (0.1 ~ 1V)."

You are right on output voltage but not in A/F
The actual reading is :

0.1v - 16.5
0.2v - 15.5
0.3v - 15.2( Lean )
0.4v - 14.9
0.5v - 14.8
0.6v - 14.7( stoich )
0.7v - 13.6
0.8v - 12.6( Rich )
0.9v - 11.6

Just a ref. You can get it from web site.

Good Luck.

ethanphoon592,
You quote :
" One question to you, coming back to the Siemens EMS700, for campro, if one is running with a fuel requlator, no cam fitments but got filter and exhaust mod, my question is, will siemens detect a change in a/f ratio measurement and then completely come up with a new map again to comply with whatever emission control mapping programming that it was initially program for? i:e whatever settings done on the fuel requlator to be redundant after a while since this is a OBDII system. Hope to hear from you soon.."

All depend on how smart EMS700 can do. It might re-map the original map and off cause there is a limit for up and down.

If EMS700 so smart, it is waste of money and time to install "the blue" and "the silver",right.!

pok si din pan:_:

ecupro:any complete tuned demo car from u?interested to see.whats the price for the ecu?

ecupro said:
Joeker,
You quote :
"Since your 02 sensor is a narrow band unit, how are you able to know the A/F accurately?"

Normally, this A/F electrinic device have to calibrate first, and normaliy, this O2 sensor output voltage is 0.1v ~ 1v. Off cause, wide band O2 sensor is much much better like LM-1.But, at least, you have a ref not allow your engine to run lean,right!.

I think the Apexi turbo timer have A/F reading, not bad at all,right!

You quote :
"If not mistaken narrow band 02 sensor is only able to read stoich / near stoich a/f (0.1 ~ 1V)."

You are right on output voltage but not in A/F
The actual reading is :

0.1v - 16.5
0.2v - 15.5
0.3v - 15.2( Lean )
0.4v - 14.9
0.5v - 14.8
0.6v - 14.7( stoich )
0.7v - 13.6
0.8v - 12.6( Rich )
0.9v - 11.6

Just a ref. You can get it from web site.

Good Luck.

Tat means you can't detect how lean or rich if its beyond 16.5 or 11.6.

Assuming I'm boosting 1.5 bar and my A/F goes up to 18. Your reading will only show 16.5 or maybe no reading at all.

Would you please tell me website did you get this figures from? (I mean the volt vs A/F ratio)

DO you know the APexi Turbo Timer A/F ratio reading processor speed? is it reading in real time or is there a delay? :emoticon_U:

"Tat means you can't detect how lean or rich if its beyond 16.5 or 11.6"

so u just enrich or enlean the mixtures till u see a value, no problem.

apexi turbo timer reads in real time. the delay is more apparent the further u put the oxy sensor from the manifold

140db said:
"Tat means you can't detect how lean or rich if its beyond 16.5 or 11.6"

so u just enrich or enlean the mixtures till u see a value, no problem.

apexi turbo timer reads in real time. the delay is more apparent the further u put the oxy sensor from the manifold

I'm quite suprised why engine tuners spend thousands of ringgit investing into a wide band sensor system when thay can "just enrich or enlean the mixtures till u see a value" on a narrow band.

Joeker,
You quote :
"Assuming I'm boosting 1.5 bar and my A/F goes up to 18. Your reading will only show 16.5 or maybe no reading at all."

Bro, you must be a great joeker.( sorry to say that ), because for turbo car, normally the figure is 10.5 to 12.8
By the time the af goto 18, i think your engine already bow.

May i ask you a question, are you a good tunner ? ( sorry to ask you that )

You quote :
"Would you please tell me website did you get this figures from? (I mean the volt vs A/F ratio)"

Bro, no problem.
http://scirocco.org/tech/misc/afgauge/af/html
I think you can find it more,right!

You quote :
"DO you know the APexi Turbo Timer A/F ratio reading processor speed? is it reading in real time or is there a delay?"

Bro, i don't now. Even a wide band device alos have a delay due to because our eyes. Normally, the speed for delay at lease 120ms or 0.120 s in order the display would not flicker.

Good Luck.

joeker,
Bro, i key in a wrong site. Sorry about that.
Here, you are : http://scirocco.org/tech/misc/afgauge/af.html

Good Luck