L2/L5 Turbo LAG(##)

osh

Just wanna to know more from all sifus like equinox and flamefox...How to prevent less turbo lag if u r using bigger turbos and intercooler..?? Heard that tong's produce turbos very lag...is it true?? Just wanna enriched my knowledge...haha...Thanks... ;)

lag can be cure by using smaller turbine housing..that means hybrid it (if u r using larger compressor housing).
cure no.2 can be done is using adaptor. this adaptor u have to custom made...engineering shop know i think. then, this adaptor will we located between the extractor and the inlet mouth of turbine housing. its purpose is to give a smaller passage of exhaust flow from extractor to turbo. smaller passage means high exhaust velocity means less lag BUT u might sacrifice ur top hp a bit if u r running high boost@high rpm
cure no.3 is not a cure actually..it only helps a bit. use bigger downpipe/exhaust pipe diameter. 2" or larger (maybe 2.2" max) and dun use any bullet. we dun want neither the backpressure nor the low rpm torque. but we want smooth flowing at mid/high rpm@high boost.
cure no.4 not very effective..get ur idling higher or open ur idle skru valve more. means when idle, ur boost meter will not like always (-30), also means ur engine is on little load only. that time, ur turbo spin higher speed than before. therefore, lag will be reduce a little.

correct me if i'm wrong

Thanks flame fox....Quite true using smaller inlet to ur turbo...one thing what i heard if u want faster pick up make a 1.6 to 1.7 inch pipe connected to the extractor then only flow 2inch all the way out...Power will be better in the start and the end.Front mount or bigger Intercooler will it cost big time lag?? Coz the air from the throttle need to go all the way to the front IC then only spin the turbo...The process quite long compare to standard IC rite?? ;)

hmmm dunno how to explain la. i think it's also depend on intercooler core design.

like mine, previous stock top mount, boost comes in at 3200rpm. after change to front mount ARC ic, boost comes in at 3200rpm also...weird isn't it ?

so i guess, if u r using same quality core design intercooler just like stock ic, u will end up a little lag than previous. that's all my comment

more fins/blades on turbine housing reduce lag as it's easier to spool but do not expect to boost high. all high boosting turbocharger have little blades on the turbine housing so expect some lag..

a re-engineered equal length manifold (aka banana manifold) reduce lag too but this is very much depending on the size or turbo.

Thanks SIFU equinox and Flamefox....

Flamie do u still have the ARC top mount IC?? I'm interested...coz I gonna sell my Front mount IC liao....wanna roll some cash $$$!! Pls help if anyone interested in my I/C or swapping also available....

;) :lol: :D :P :o :huh:

Originally posted by kelisa187@Jan 6 2005, 02:20
how does antilag devise work?
I'm assuming you're asking about the "bang bang" antilag system?

Timing is retarded to 40 degrees atdc when tps has a reading of 0. That way the fuel will still be expanding when the exhaust valves are open/opening. Also nowadays they reroute the bov to the exhaust manifold to increase the rate of expansion of the exhaust gasses.

Haha poly...Stock L5 top mount I also have.....I'm searching for ARC intercooler...hehe If possible we can do trade in and add on...Kinda dowan to downgrade since using this I/C...very eye catching oooo...people always think this IC very big in size...bigger than vr4 but is not ler..ngamngam...Urgent sale...Call or sms mela patrick!!CheerZ!!

Originally posted by osh@Jan 7 2005, 13:29
Haha poly...Stock L5 top mount I also have.....I'm searching for ARC intercooler...hehe If possible we can do trade in and add on...Kinda dowan to downgrade since using this I/C...very eye catching oooo...people always think this IC very big in size...bigger than vr4 but is not ler..ngamngam...Urgent sale...Call or sms mela patrick!!CheerZ!!
KSCHU edi bought it
:lol:

Yalor...Mr.Tec...KSchu bought the ARC i/C liao...Wonder if he wanna sell to me...hehe....Anyone Selling...HELLoOo!!

Poly where got kedai potong...Some sell behalf of my friends ler...hehe...I also hope to own one...Hey if ur gang or u interested with the I/C let me know...Give u special price...Need cash to roll...Damm...Check my posting in engine and performance for 2005sale....I got some cool new stuff...Spoiler and stuff...wif pics..Check it out...Thanks

Zaki is true can tune via afr...help a bitla..must do the setting correctlylor...Thanks also..hehe ;)

Anymore comment or ideas??

Originally posted by kelisa187@Jan 6 2005, 02:20
how does antilag devise work?
owh sorry mr kelisa187, didn't see ur post

ok for anti-lag system or bang-bang system, what it does is, retarding the ignition soooo much and supplying richer fuel but remaining the throttle for maybe 20deg (can't recall la the real figure..sorry).
it means, ur throttle opening a little, and air still entering ur engine and more exhaust fumes still go out through exhaust but retarding the ignition and more fuel injected prevent knocking but will ensure ur rpm goes lower even will open throttle.
and opening throttle ensure ur turbo spools fast, and ready to spool faster anytime to full throttle.
retarding the ignition and richer fuel will create explosion after while exhaust valve open. that's why we can see fire in the exhaust. the explotion also helps turbin blades spin faster.

not suitable for everyday use : extractor and turbo crack and muffler dun last long

Originally posted by osh@Jan 7 2005, 02:13
Thanks SIFU equinox and Flamefox....

Flamie do u still have the ARC top mount IC?? I'm interested...coz I gonna sell my Front mount IC liao....wanna roll some cash $$$!! Pls help if anyone interested in my I/C or swapping also available....

;) :lol: :D :P :o :huh:
ur intercooler lawa la....hey friends, take a look at OSH's intercooler post la..damn cun

err dude, maybe u got the wrong person hehehe. mine is not for sale. top mount ARC i dun have la. maybe other person. if i found it, i'll inform u ok

Flamie thanks for the compliment...but gonna sell this baby liao coz need to use cash...seela if i manage to get cash then no need to sell la...wahahahaha....
Very nice item and is perfectly fit on L2/L5. ARC top mount market price RM3XX??

KsCHU ....yeah the one u using I want, can give me as birthday present?? haha...very thick?? How much u bought last time??

Any other trick to do anti-lag?? use haltech?? ahahaha...no money ooo...how come RD and the NSdrag monster can be so fast huh?? Change of throttle body?? motec management??

COME SIFUS HELP ME OUT...I wanna be monster LIAO when I save enough BULLET..ahahahhaha...!! Target 13sec car....wahaahhahah ;)

Originally posted by osh@Jan 7 2005, 21:26
Yalor...Mr.Tec...KSchu bought the ARC i/C liao...Wonder if he wanna sell to me...hehe....Anyone Selling...HELLoOo!!

Poly where got kedai potong...Some sell behalf of my friends ler...hehe...I also hope to own one...Hey if ur gang or u interested with the I/C let me know...Give u special price...Need cash to roll...Damm...Check my posting in engine and performance for 2005sale....I got some cool new stuff...Spoiler and stuff...wif pics..Check it out...Thanks

Zaki is true can tune via afr...help a bitla..must do the setting correctlylor...Thanks also..hehe ;)

Anymore comment or ideas??
ARC, u can ask ekiddie......

if i'm not mistaken he's own a imported original ARC intercooler fr DTM,jp

;)

Write your reply...