Discussion About Rb20det Using Rb25det Turbine

olskool said:
really ah? coz i upgraded to rb25 tubine (nothing else being done) my exhaust temp reaches 9...before that with stock turbine was only 7. isn't that running too lean?

Tony,

A hotter exhaust temp may indicate a lean mixture but not necessary so...if I were to base my fuel mixture with only an exhaust temp ( which you should not) a reading of 9 is still okay to me...7 is a bit too cold :) All this is based on the exhaust sensor being placed at the exhaust manifold before the turbine. Placing it down the pipe line will give you a cooler reading.

Get a wideband lamdar sensor stuck to your tail pipe and see it for yourself before investing in a higher rate fuel pump as your fuel economy will most probably go out of the window if not tuned right

cmng said:
GTR 32 = 192
Z32 = 210

Eer..the rating for the Z32 fuel pumps is for the later model Z32, the earlier model Z32 runs on the same fuel pumps as the RB25,RB20s

So to play it safe , get the GTR fuel pump

.S K A G E E. said:
Tony,

A hotter exhaust temp may indicate a lean mixture but not necessary so...if I were to base my fuel mixture with only an exhaust temp ( which you should not) a reading of 9 is still okay to me...7 is a bit too cold :) All this is based on the exhaust sensor being placed at the exhaust manifold before the turbine. Placing it down the pipe line will give you a cooler reading.

Get a wideband lamdar sensor stuck to your tail pipe and see it for yourself before investing in a higher rate fuel pump as your fuel economy will most probably go out of the window if not tuned right

Thanks zephuros for replying...it made sence to me..hence, your setup is actually what i have in mind.

UNTIL......:confused:

arif, i get what you're saying...so placement of the temp plays an important role as well...BUT since you mentioned that placing the temp sensor after the turbine exhaust manifold (mine is after the turbine) would give a better reading.. how far down? how would i know if it's the correct place?

also, i have no idea where to get a wideband lamdar sensor to check.. will a dyno do? should i get a AFR for mixture reading? then again...what about the stock lamdar sensor? isn't it enough to calculate so that my car won't drink too much fuel?? thanks for sharing and thinking of my fuel budget.... :)

hahhahahha......I had that whistling sound from the 25 turbo on 20 too......I thought I had killed the turbo so got my self another 25 turbo, plugged it in and still whistling!!! took me a good 5 hours trying to find out where is it coming from and finally at 9pm I found out the exhaust gas was leaking from the exhaust manifold, the next day I changed all the flange bolts to stainless steels Hex key bolts and new gasket, that made the sound go away.

You guys should try adjustable CAM pulleys,it's great at moving the powerband forward (or backwards if you are into drag)

Din! you went all the way up north for a turbo?? and got a busted one too ........you want a 2540 aaa? hahahahhaha with that you can get to Alor Staq in half the time.

after discover that the sound really is from the turbine, we removed, and blew it with air gun to the fin, so as to rotate it, and confirmed that the sound comes from there.

devious, sad sad story of me ek? you have 2540 really? how much?

Sifus,

If upgrade to RB25 turbine, need to change the afm or not?
And if stock RB20det, and I mean EVERYTHING stock, how much can I boost maximum? 1.0 bar? how much boost are you guys running?

If RB20 to RB25, after calculating the 25 percent increase in capacity, it will be more than 25 percent, at around 25.02%

If RB20 to RB25, after calculating the 25 percent increase in capacity, it will be more than 25 percent, at around 25.02%!!!

stormlcc said:
If RB20 to RB25, after calculating the 25 percent increase in capacity, it will be more than 25 percent, at around 25.02%!!!

RB25DET turbo for sale RM500...