Kraak when change gear...

i mean racing as in not that kinda racing. sorry my bad. u know when u really wanna go fast, u rev really high n then shift. hehe. racing is the wrong word.

the level of perfection that all of us here desire will be determined by only one factor. our bank balances.

Whoops... Sorry I misunderstood your meaning... In that case, maybe just give extra time in 2-3 gear lo... What to do? Well at least for me, that's what I do in normal driving.

But like I mentioned, when I shift at high rpms, this problem is gone. So when I do some spirited driving, I can shift fast.

last time one of my gearbox had this problem from 2nd-3rd i think...high rpm's only it will kraak... basically during spirited driving will kena....i didnt do anything about it... its been close to 3 years alr and the gearbox still running strong...i dont recommend doing this tho

mind to share what gear oil u use? does it help? read in some forums that amsoil gear oil helps with the noise but in the long run its not doing any good? the problem will still persist in future, maybe get worse.

ohhh ya...my waja also got this problem..shifting gear from 2nd to 3rd on high rpm (3k-4k) will produce the krakkkkkk sound...same goes when downshifting from 5th/4th to 3rd gear..i'm using short shifter though..i don't know if that contributes to the problem...

mr. xtremeleo did had a test drive with my car..lol..until now, i haven't fix it yet..

mr xtremeleo..how r u laa..lama tak jumpa..lol!! =D

iam here only ler, bought few project cars dah since we last met.. ur shifter isnt a short throw laa, its been shorten, lol

mind to share what gear oil u use? does it help? read in some forums that amsoil gear oil helps with the noise but in the long run its not doing any good? the problem will still persist in future, maybe get worse.

i used some normal oil only bro...castrol...i tried all kinds before...redline, cusco, etc. for me castrol was pretty good and pleasant to the wallet also

iam here only ler, bought few project cars dah since we last met.. ur shifter isnt a short throw laa, its been shorten, lol

but i thought you mentioned that the short shifter is likely to cause it..?confused lah..haha :confused::confused:

btw, how's the red evo killer? =D woopssie
how many project cars have u bought la?aih

i used some normal oil only bro...castrol...i tried all kinds before...redline, cusco, etc. for me castrol was pretty good and pleasant to the wallet also

how much does it cost? not the normal one as in the one which is in the workshop where they bring out a big tank n pump it into ur car rite?

but i thought you mentioned that the short shifter is likely to cause it..?confused lah..haha :confused::confused:

btw, how's the red evo killer? =D woopssie
how many project cars have u bought la?aih

yours could be just shorten the height of the shifter, the real short shifter is shorter in height & shorter gear travel.

real short shifter engages in the least distance from the nuetral position, just let the lever be std, the nearer it is to the steering the better.

wan, the shorten shifter may or may not be the cause, iam keen to look at the linkages dulu

real short shifter engages in the least distance from the nuetral position, just let the lever be std, the nearer it is to the steering the better.

wan, the shorten shifter may or may not be the cause, iam keen to look at the linkages dulu

bro..if u manage to solve the problem inform me....im also having the same problem..

err, what problem eh? the kraak noise when engaging gears? i solved mine when changing to elf gear lube

i was wrong in my previous statements. I thought that the kraak sound comes only at high rpm. its not that. it happens every time i try shifting quickly. i can shift 2nd to 3rd even at 7.5krpm without that grinding sound but have to do it slowly. do u guys get what i mean?

so, what could be the problem now? would there be anything i can do to overcome this besides telling me to shift slowly of course. lol. i'm also keen on installing a short shifter in future. will that help or worsen the situation?

mine happens when shifting to reverse gear .
but it seldom happens .
i do feel like my shifter a bit loose ?
can that possibly be the cause of it ?
can we tighten the shifter a bit ?
to make it solid shifting .

Seems like quite a lot of people with MT experience this. Just that it is not a big problem so most people forget about it... Until someone asks lol...

well mine only happens for shifting to reverse gear .
and i see that many people with MT have this problem .
the way i see it is that the synchro is not smooth already .
i can feel that during this part, it seems like the synchro is slipping a bit .
probably cause old model .
but heck, its doing fine .

i just wanna know, is it possible to make the shifter a bit tighter .
seems a bit wobbly when im driving .

Seems like quite a lot of people with MT experience this. Just that it is not a big problem so most people forget about it... Until someone asks lol...

u r absolutely right. i have had this problem before and i thought something must be wrong with my driving, so i corrected it. then when i saw this topic and read through, i was like... aiks, these guys have the same problem as me. so, it could not be just my way of driving. then, i came to realise that there could be other things that causes this problem.

that's what zth is for. happy sharing and happy learning.

this prob happened to me last time. hot kraak sound everytime i shift gear. but then i try racetech smooth shift since most of my recommend it. now my problem solved already :)