Kraak when change gear...

first thing to try as recommended by other is changing oil (brand,viscosity or simply by adding addictive) ...i also have a similar problem...at first i suspected syncro almost gone already...the grinding sound comes normally when shifting up from first gear to second (if shifting during hi rev...below 3k rpm no sound) and down shifting from third to second (also during high engine rev)...this was on unknown LSD oil (after converting i dont know what oil my mech put in)...

not so while ago i change to standard toyota original lsd oil...for the first few week i was unsatisfied with the result but all the problem seems gone after 5k km (my mech say its some sort of break in period)...all the grinding sound gone...smooth shifting all the way...my next oil change i'm planing to try either kaaz or motul LSD oil in near future...

mono grade fluid doesnt thin out at any temperature fyi, it performs comparatively constant. i changed to elf's weight 90 mtf and it solved my grinding issue, hard to come by these days..

I got try before put engine oil 20w-50 engine oil and put abit of engine lubricate inside a saga gearbox...
But sound will reduce...
But gearbox oil and engine oil need to change every 5000km...

*Note:
19 year old saga

MF...can ah put engine oil inside gbox..?
ok ma i can afford..not much $$$ also.....

sounds like syncro problem to me. have that on my b-series gb as well. very common among vtec engines.

mine aso same problem, 2nd & 3rd gear......
if shift slowly no prob....having this prob for the past 5 years.....

me also same problem la. same b series gb. and also same with danz, shift slowly no prob. hi rev shifting also got this problem. shift from 2nd to 3rd at 3k or 4k rpm, no problem. shifting at higher rpm kraak sound. so what i tried to rev till 6k or 7k and then shift slowly, no kraak sound. why?

many say its the synchro. i did not know what is it. i read wiki and somewhat know a lil now. so, if its the synchro, what do i need to change? the whole gb? or just the internals? if only the internals, r u referring to the shafts, rings, dog cluthches or the gear itself?

i've had this problem since i got the car. i have not tried changing the gear oil. 1stly, i'm not sure what gb am i using, is it lsd or non lsd. mechs said need to open up to confirm. tried jacking the car and spin 1 wheel to see if the other spins as well. it doesnt. but according to a few mechs and some honda pro's, lsd gb for honda got a few types. one of it doesnt spin when u jack up the car. the only way is by opening up.

so due to this, i dunno what gear oil i should use. previously, for my old accord and kancil, just go to the workshop and tell to change gear oil. they'll bring out some tank and pump in the oil. can i use that or what would u guys recommend?

try adjust clutch higher..

my KE70 also use to make kraak sound when change gear to reverse..

:biggrin:

ok bro. thanks for the suggestion. will try 1 by 1 starting from the cheapest. hehe.

Same here... Mine got sound when change gear at 2-3k rpm. Especially at 3k rpm. Really bitch. But if tarik until 5k+ rpm smooth. No sound whatsoever...

Why ah? Is this a track setup kah? :biggrin:

Same here... Mine got sound when change gear at 2-3k rpm. Especially at 3k rpm. Really bitch. But if tarik until 5k+ rpm smooth. No sound whatsoever...

Why ah? Is this a track setup kah? :biggrin:

waah.. 5k smooth? 3k kraak? mine more than 3k if try shifting quickly sure kraak.. sometimes 4th to 5th also like that but quite rare la.

so what would be the cheapest thing to start checking? change gear oil first?

veloc,
yr problem solved edi ah? if the problem is to use semi/full syn oil then i will try....

veloc,
yr problem solved edi ah? if the problem is to use semi/full syn oil then i will try....

My problem not solved man... Right now, I just do some rev matching... Later will try solve starting from cheapest option that is change gear oil first. Although logically I think, it is not the oil. The oil is just to lubricate. This type of sound is something mechanical already...

hey veloc, mind to tell how rev matching helps here? thanks mate.

can anyone suggest a decent gear oil for my b series gb?

hey veloc, mind to tell how rev matching helps here? thanks mate.

can anyone suggest a decent gear oil for my b series gb?

Rev matching ah? Basically do the job of the synchro yourself. Means maintain the rpm at the point where your next gearshift should be. If you upsift, let the rpm be lower. When you downshift, let the rpm increase. Just control the throttle. That's all...

ok, correct me if i'm wrong. means that now lets say when i shift at 6k rpm from 2nd to 3rd, i get the grinding sound. so, i have to lower the rpm a little till i dont get that sound anymore? more like trial and error till i get the correct point? sorry. very blur. still learning.

yes bingo! More or less like that. The key is to match the rpms of the engine to the drive shaft!

lets say i'm racing and need to shift quickly, i got no choice right? i have to either hear the kraak to be fast or slow down for the upshift to avoid the grinding sound. does this mean something is wrong?

Of course if you are racing, change the gearbox la... In racing, everything musst be good to shave off as many miliseconds as possible.

I've seen Tsukuba races videos. Some of their cars transmission gave up halfway racing. The shifting isn't as fast and smooth anymore. But they still complete the race. Of course they shift slower and mroe gentle.

It all depends on the level of perfection that you are aiming for.