Installing amplifier and subwoofer

Captain Fast

Hi guys, I'm new to this thing and I would really appreciate your help. I"m currently driving an Iswara where i have installed a Sony head unit (50W x 4) to power speakers such as a pair of JVC 6" x 9" 500W max. (5 way) and a pair of JVC 6" 210W max, (2 way) speakers. I'm interested in installing a 12" subwoofer with an amplifier. I have not done this before. What will I need to look out for when doing something like this such as cable size, placement of amplifier, will it drain my battery down alot? If there is anything else that I might have left out, could you please just share your thoughts? Thanks alot!

now ur component speaker use amp or direct from HU?
my 2 cents opinion,amplified ur components set 1st then oni go for boom boom..:)

1. Pull 1 power cable from +ve battery to amp. (approx 5 meters if amp is in the boot) to +ve amp

2. Get some ANL fuse (100 amp) and fuse it nearest to the +ve battery.

3. Pull 1 -ve cable from amp -ve to ground (note: ground cable should be as short as possible)

4. Pull 1 small wire from amp remote to HU remote.

5. Pull 1 RCA from HU to amp

6. Pull 2 cables (+ve and -ve) from amp speaker output to sub +ve -ve terminal.

7. Set your gains, xover and subsonic.

8. done

Cables size recommended Power and ground - 4 gauge.
Amp should be placed where there is adequate ventilation for cooling.
No worries about battery unless you plan to listen to your sysyem when ignition is turn off or car is park a lot.
Simple rule of installing amp is NEVER let +ve and -ve cable touched each other at all times.

bro...i got question about ur's curently audio set......
if u open loud....the sound quality will bad or pecah?
like open till 15~20 volume lidat

thanks applekey and spykey...

cchcchcch, my sound quality is not affected when i turn the volume up...no such problems...all running fine...only things not so good is my car whole body vibrating when i'm blasting music...:) only thing suffering is the bass...when there are songs that are very heavy in bass, my 6x9 speakers struggle to give me the bass...but they are very good though...

bro,your 6 x 9 speakers how many ways?
i guess it only consist mid and tweeter only which is 2way la
since u say that ur 9 x 6 edi struggle to give the bass sound, i advice u not to blast ur speaker always...
my layman info, is that the good bass sound production usually come from subs which is normally below 100Hz..
6 x 9 speakers cant cater bass sound loudly...
ppl call it low pass
so if u wanna ur bonnet rattling,get a subs..:)

bro,your 6 x 9 speakers how many ways?
i guess it only consist mid and tweeter only which is 2way la
since u say that ur 9 x 6 edi struggle to give the bass sound, i advice u not to blast ur speaker always...
my layman info, is that the good bass sound production usually come from subs which is normally below 100Hz..
6 x 9 speakers cant cater bass sound loudly...
ppl call it low pass
so if u wanna ur bonnet rattling,get a subs..:)

i hear you man...i don't blast them too much anyways...they are powerful but it has a limited function...that's why i'm planning to install a sub...my 6x9 are 5 way ones though

usually amp is located under the passenger seat or at the back bonnet.. depending on your setup and how many amps ur using.. the difficult part is taking off ur carpet+seats.. not so diffocult actually, just a lot work and time.. slow- slow la..
me using two amps 1>to power componet system 2>subwoofer..
so like i said depending on ur setup and budget of coz.. :)

i hear you man...i don't blast them too much anyways...they are powerful but it has a limited function...that's why i'm planning to install a sub...my 6x9 are 5 way ones though
captain,get an amp to amplified ur 6 x 9..
i heard jvc speakers quite good..maybe u can baptist it to the max then:)

ooo...u wan bass ah.....add a mono amp will be better.....bcoz after use mono oni got bass sound....
den u can boom boom boom liao....haha

anyways tat ask u about jvc speaker performance bcoz i plan to add jvc in the begining ....but atlast i get a soundstream component set.....but tat sound stream without amp's sound is reali damn...haih......so regret y dun go for jvc set!!!!!now i open till 15~20 sound quality is very bad

so far mine not much problem...just that some songs they have the bass response very low that my current setup cannot handle...that's why need amp and sub...wanna power a 12" sub...what is the difference between 2 way and 4 way amp?

2- channel : normally have a pair of +ve and -ve terminal for stereo output (2 speakers). some can be bridged to power mono output (sub).
4-channel: have 2 pairs of +ve and -ve terminal for speakers. Can be used for front and rear stereo (4 speakers), 2-channel bridged (2 speakers or 2 sub) or front stereo (2 speakers) and rear bridged (sub).

if your batery was already relocated to the car rear boot then things wil be heck easy... the - terminal can direct ground to the batery terminal. however. when installing high power amps with large cables example big monoblocks make sure you remove your batery negative terminal first b4 you install anything... then after getting all the wire intact to the amp then only install batery terminal... had a very bad experience and expensive lesson for this.. smoked my monoblock once due to short circuit at the amp's - terminal when installing the ground cable.

Write your reply...