info on oped pod filter

Ashyie_Ferio

sifus, i need ur knowledge.
im thinking of changing to open pod filter.
got a question, since my car is stock,
will the open pod affect afr? too much oxygen?
stuff like that.
or just plug n play with no problems?:adore:

dun worry bro no problem wan...get a CAI (cold air intake) while u at it :)

for cool air intake, bigger = better..

if got too much oxygen, it wont harm ur engine.. it just pass through ur engine..

pls update after u put the open pod..

Gudluck :burnout:

Better straight invest in CAI. If KNN too costly, can try simota and custom make your own heat shield/CAI cone.

I haven't done. Budgeting stage only... KNN Apollo CAI costs around 500. So I calculated custom made one with simota filter element would be around 300. Maybe end of this year do la if everything goes well. Items required:

short ram stainless steel pipe and silicone hoses for piping
metal clips for attaching/joining silicone hose and stainless steel pipe
simota open pod air filter element with compatible CAI cone heat shield (cap ayam) OR
directly get a simota open pod with its CAI cone heat shield
1 meter CAI flexible plastic hose (chose the ones with ends that can plug into/fit the CAI cone heat shield)

I attached some pictures of the KNN Apollo CAI. You can see in the first picture the CAI hose disconnected from the cone heat shield and in the second picture, it is connected.

RC-5052AB.jpg

http://www.lotustalk.com/forums/attachments/f95/127825d1248011423-fs-k-n-apollo-intake-k-n-intake-001.jpg

If you can get a cone heat shield that can fit nicely with the CAI hose, and then route the CAI hose to the bumper front, then OK!!!

I'm still trying to source stuff and experimenting...

nice info dude. a friend of mine was recommended to a shop in kajang which says the price of a open pod filter including installation is 250. but im not sure if its heat shielded or not.
i've seen videos on youtube which uses metal, n aluminium foil to separate the engine air from the cold air. what do u think? or is directly redirecting the air from the bumper to the air filter is enough?

There's a research regarding open pod air intake. Winner is apexi dual funnel, second is knn. The worst is hks mushroom type green colour.

nice info dude. a friend of mine was recommended to a shop in kajang which says the price of a open pod filter including installation is 250. but im not sure if its heat shielded or not.
i've seen videos on youtube which uses metal, n aluminium foil to separate the engine air from the cold air. what do u think? or is directly redirecting the air from the bumper to the air filter is enough?

If they say open pod means no CAI. If CAI, they will mention CAI.

I know which one you mean bro. Those they are using a heat shield. I have some doubts about the heat shield as they do not totally isolate the hot air away. They just shield it which there are still some spaces, gaps where the hot air can still leak into the open pod. And imagine you car travelling at speeds. There is bound to be extra turbulence in the engine bay. Therefore I expect the hot air will be blown into the open pod anyway.

But the CAI I show you is different. The hot air is totally isolated out of the CAI funnel/cone. The only inlet is through the CAI hose in front which you direct it to the bumper opening. However, there are weakness of this system too. Since the only inlet is in front, this system is not suitable for very high powered engines since they cannot suck in huge amount of air fast enough. KNN website specifies the max power engine that can utilise this system (250 hp for NA and 350 hp for turbo). Beyond that, you have to use the former CAI. The one with the normal, less restrictive heat shield.

And for the normal (none cone type) heat shield, I would recommend to get is directly from manufacturers like KNN as they have researched and they produce shields with maximum heat shielding and maximum cold air redirection to the open pod. If make youself can. There are videos that teach in youtube. But I doubt one can accurately get the optimum measurement/shape of the shield to shield off heat.

There's a research regarding open pod air intake. Winner is apexi dual funnel, second is knn. The worst is hks mushroom type green colour.

yeah its true...im using HKS mushroom too....kinda suck though.....
summore the replacement filter ori ones costs rm90, immitation rm10.........
dunno wats the diff....

it's better if u can get sumthing like this pic..

it uses all the available space of ur engine bay

:biggrin:

• 2860294384.jpg
    2860294384.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 249
  • 2866537875.jpg
    2866537875.jpg
    33.3 KB · Views: 172
it's better if u can get sumthing like this pic..

it uses all the available space of ur engine bay

:biggrin:

looks monstrous. super big. hahaha

---------- Post added at 06:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:25 PM ----------

what about the simota?

There is no much comment regarding simota air filter. Actually there's other brand of air filter but not specifically tested to compare like the link.