ICE Setup for SAGA

euking

hope i can get some info from all the sifu here,im a noob to this,thanks in advance mates, this it the setup i had;

1.sony cd player 45wx4
2.Two 3 way speaker
3.One 500W AMP
4.One 10" sub
5.Two Tweeters

The questions i have is;

1.thinking on adding another 2 speakers in at the front but my front doors dont have any place to setup, it there anybody who know where i can go to install speakers on the front

2. should i get more amps

3. how much does wires cost

4. how does the amp work, is it 1 per speaker or can i use 1 amp for all speakers

5.if i get all my stuff from one place can i get it installed in another place, if so can intro some place with reasonable pricing, other than peter, like in the area of old klang road if there is any

hope i can get some help

Setup

First of all, you need to identify your amp, whether it is a 2ch or a 4ch amp. If it is a 4 channel amp then i don't think you need to add more amps.

Standard amp installation would be RM80....

The amp works per channel, it is not 1 amp per speaker ... unless you want it to be bridged... to give more power... for example your woofer.... so usually 1 channel is for 1 side of the car (left/right)

Hope i dun confuse u further :P

1.your front door got no holes, but that can be done by just cutting the hole of the speaker dimension, then the speaker will fit in.
2. u should get a good component set that comes wif crossover, then only add a 2 channel amp to power it. if u wanna save money just use your CD player to power it.
3. if u install your amp under your seat u need 2M RCA, 3-4M speaker cables, and 3M Power cable. all that will cost u around RM50+-. If u power your speaker wif cd player, then u only need speaker cable which is ussually cost u RM3 per meter.
4. answered by e1fnd.

5. can can. u can call me if u wanna buy any speaker, amp, and wiring. i can arrange installation for u with a very reasonable price and excellent workmanship.

hey xcheong can setup for me for real ahh, also the front door thing, most of the stuff i already got from last setup only might want a headset cos my car kena broke in that day and they took my headset and woofer, where are you located at can qoute me a price? thanks

xcheong said:
2. u should get a good component set that comes wif crossover, then only add a 2 channel amp to power it. if u wanna save money just use your CD player to power it.

newbie here..wat do u mean component comes with crossover?..wat is crossover actually?..
hehe..:p

siauann said:
newbie here..wat do u mean component comes with crossover?..wat is crossover actually?..

Comp set is a set of mid bass that come with tweeter and crossover. Crossover (passive) is a non-adjustable electronic device that help you to "device" input frequency to tweeter (high) and mid bass (mid)

hey there i got another question, can a 250W amp power up two 12" subs,
here is what i plan to do, any suggestions are welcome, 1 amp to power 2 front 3 way speaker and another amp to rear 3 way speakers, another amp to power two 12" subs.

how many Watts amps should i get for all the speakers and subs? do i need a X-over

and whats the dif between 2 channel and 4 channel amps?

thanks for the help mates

euking,
answer to your questions
1. it is possible but depends on what subs
2. if you realy plan on keeping your speakers, just get one 4 channel amp to power your 4 speakers (front and rear) I would suggest you get a decent component set and power it off one amp (2 channels)
3. How many watts depends on the ratings of your speakers and sub.
4. You only need a X-over if you use a component set, as for the sub, you can use the low pass filter from your amp, if your amp has one (normally does)
5. channel = output, ie. 1 output =1 speaker= 1 channel
bridging 2 channel = 1 channel (theoratically adds up to 4 times the output of 1 channel, although in practical you usually get much less than that)

Happy ICE-ing

euking,
Got 2 type of X-over.

Passive http://www.lanzar.com/el.asp?model=VBX2

active. http://www.lanzar.com/el.asp?model=VIBEX6

Passive: consists of passive components like inductors and capacitors.

Active: they are normally also referred as electronic crossover. They got more knobs for option settings

Passive ones normally comes with your component speaker set.

Active ones are normally used by I.C.Er who uses more than one amp in their ICE setup. Since they are more flexible and their input and output are normally RCA, they are used between HU and amplifier. Different models have different features/functions.

Some of the current HU in the market might have 3 preouts already. 1 for front, 1 for rear and 1 for woofer. So, in a sense, you might not need the active x-over (yet).

So, HAPPY ICEING :)

siauann said:

crossover - is a filter. It filters out the unwanted sounds from the speakers. E.g. You do not want your sub to play mid bass or voices coming out from your sub. Also you do not want your tweeter to play bass. Thats why ppl use crossover to filter out certain frequency out.

Simply
passive crossover - crossover with no power supply to run.
active crossover - crossover that have power to run.

my definition of passive & active crossovers
passive crossovers - fix crossover points and slopes
active crossovers - variable crossover points and slopes