HWL suspension

Originally posted by lonewolf@Jan 12 2005, 13:47
whats the price for servicing like for front and rear?..

now i m having problems on deciding titan or HWL for kelisa.

titan---->adjustable abs(4) + 2(front spring) + cut rear spring = around RM1800
titan---service all round = RM300

HWL ----->adjustables abs(4) + 4(springs) = around RM1500
HWL---service all round =????

I have seen few of kelisa rally on HWL..guess that should be good enuff to prove they are quiet good i guess....if assume comparing specs between this 2...such as conrod size..and canister diameter and so on..which one give better in terms of specs..
in terms of specs,

the HWL Kelisa Rally car uses :

front: inverted monotube
rear : monotube

HWL road: front and back ; twin-tube!!

TiTAN Rally cars, road cars, track-cars, AutoCross cars uses:

front and back: inverted monotube!!

that's why our prices are premium, because we use high-end stuff for our product range..

oh, and it's not CONROD size. it's PISTON size ;)
if you wanna know, TiTANs are 36mm. (for ALL of our range, as usual)

jinkl
RM2800 for cars like Wira/Satria/Putra, Toyota AE92-101-111... which are front and back coilovers.
cars like the Kancil, Kenari/ Kelisa, Saga, etc.. are front coilovers and rear telescopic..
that's why cheaper le.

its true
wise not to get hotbits cause the suspension is hard
if u still want...enoes at wan utama is trowing 40% dc on their hotbits suspension

but the new hotbits suspension , 40 click hard soft hi low..is superb...no bodyroll , comfort and in the same time performance as well, but to bad dont have for kelisa..lolz

i'm also using HWL... send for servicing in last year.. but still under warranty... i bought the HWL absorbers at a dealer near kepong. they gave me koyak product... i was driving it for 6 months... than I personally send it back to the HWL factory, they just charge me the RM25 for labour charge for eash absorbers. HWL reservice the whole sets.. now is working quite well... but not really comfort la.. still bumpy.. my advise is, if you wanna get HWL absorbers, please go direct to the Factory and get it.. don't buy from the dealers... buy direct from the factory and ask them to install it and test it out before you settle the payment.... ;)

GAB?? Local GAB? I haven't see their production site.. especially their QC.. are they just a local distributor, just a normal marketing offcie but with some mechanical machine that can build absorbers? or they are fully focus in absorbers technology? for my personal point of view, they looks like a local marketing office only... they carry other products as well... they are not like TiTAN & HWL.. fully focus on absorbers.. more competency in this area.... if they are loca GAB sole called distributor, but why they still carry other brands products like MINES, TIEN, OHLINS?? just my 2 cents...... ;)

Well, Hotbits is not that bad but the quality isn't that good..

The performance is very good after service, but after used it for two or three months then the performance won't as good as before.

Comfort or performance can be well tuned upon your request to the service mechanic

yup.. jacky is rite... hotbits is just like hwl which is customizeable.... by speedworks...

Nowadays customized suspension is very common in Malaysia, they can re-setup the performance and it's service-able as well, if you are not from KL local, you have to always drive down to KL to service or repair the suspension. I experienced once my rear suspension's canister cover came off and all the hydraulic oils and gas leaked out, luckily there's a service branch in Penang to make things done.

If you are not driving a continental car where your suspension alone will costs you a lot, then why not just get back the stock suspension? Waja's stock Kayaba 4pcs costs only around RM350, can used about 1-2 years or around 80,000km, compare to the serviceable one RM320 for servicing 4pcs it's almost the same price to replace a new set, furthermore how long are you going to drive your current car? Let's say get a customized set RM2500 for stock Wira, it's already enough to get around 8 sets of new stock suspension into it. If your car is not high bhp, you don't carry enough speed to get in and out from a cornering, so the sharp suspension setup would be a waste also..

Since customized suspension is so common, I just wonder whether is there any local manufacturer carries in the latest technology something like electronic suspension like what we see in a Citroen C5, the height of the car is adjustable by just pressing the up and down button, or performance settings's function in a Volvo S60R by pressing the button to choose whether for comfort or race; besides of suspension, how about electronic chamber and toe? tune the chamber and toe without sending the car to an alignment shop, just tune by using a laptop to suit the road or track condition, or just to set it for drifting purpose? very simple right ?

JackyMoo :)

if so easy, can you make for me? i'll order 2 please! :lol:

ninja

How's the Titan's handling type? How much would it costs for Fiat Coupe 16V turbo?

If there's a manufacturer makes this kinda electronic technology, then I would order too.. :D

Hi, I'm thinking to use adjustable one day. now thinking to get the HWL or Titan right now. I'm a newbie in adj suspension.

any pros and cons using HWL? what type of service needed and how often? I'll be using HWL on DB6 which costs me RM 1980 at kakimotor. is it cheap?

Originally posted by eddyann@Jan 18 2005, 08:54
Hi, I'm thinking to use adjustable one day. now thinking to get the HWL or Titan right now. I'm a newbie in adj suspension.

any pros and cons using HWL? what type of service needed and how often? I'll be using HWL on DB6 which costs me RM 1980 at kakimotor. is it cheap?
to eddy....better head to sg.buloh factory :P ..

anyway..i am still confused which to take like you too. titans are raving on their inverted monotube. while the HWL are using twintubes..i guess both have their pros and cons..which still makes me blur like u too :lol:

I'm still nto sure yet...

inverted monotube and twintube what's the difference?

I want adj abs which

1. Provide better handling over the stocks
2. Lowering my car
3. reliablility....

Originally posted by JackyMoo@Jan 17 2005, 13:45
ninja

How's the Titan's handling type? How much would it costs for Fiat Coupe 16V turbo?

If there's a manufacturer makes this kinda electronic technology, then I would order too.. :D
hi JackyMoo

a set of front coilovers and rear telescopic set will cost about RM2400 for your car :)

why we insist on using our inverted monotubes because it's simply better in terms of strength, reliablity and consistency in tuning.

Heck, HWL's top range is an inverted monotube what. Doesn't that tell you something?

eddyan
there's a big difference between the 2. You can say the comparision would be like, (maybe) between Swatch and Rolex for example.
both tells the time pretty darn accurately.
but which survives harsher treatment and abuse better? And not fail?

i would say most brands of aftermarket suspension brands could satisfy your current list.
but what about:
-tunablity
-after sales service?
-high resale value?
-built for lifetime use

and here's a FAQ to answer most of your questions.
TiTAN's FAQ

cheers!