How u keep the Engine 'healthy'?

takashi78 said:
Looks like i'm the only one here who uses fully syn motor oil and still change it every 5000km
me to bro, never fail to service every 5000km, actually just came back from
HM after doing my regular maintenance, btw, this is a good thread...:regular_smile:

fully syn change at 5000? wow.. what brand u guys use? I drag it a bit till 7500.. was told can go up to 10000.. BTW, my regime involves check radiator level, oil level and battery.. then check idling and exhaust.. on weekends la.. also try to properly warm up before start of day as well..

hmmm.......actually im still pondering the diff between full sync/ semi sync

ive been using semi for 4 yrs edi ...........is it 2 late 2 change 2 Full sync? so expensive ler

me 2 i use semi for 3 years liao but my fren use full sync his engine oil gone faster than i both same engine!!

i use idemitsu racing series 15w-40 semi .... anybody using the same engine oil? how long is your oil change?

soulfly said:
i use idemitsu racing series 15w-40 semi .... anybody using the same engine oil? how long is your oil change?

i'm usingg idemitsu semi... change every 3K km... the VTEC LEV oil is the same idemitsu rebranded... :_:

i change every 3 months ... is it okay? i don't drive that much everyday .... only around 40km per day.

yep, best way to maintain your engine ( any engines for that matter ) is use good quality engine oil ( depending on your application ), must service / change parts on time, check all fluid levels, and do a check on the bottom of the car whenver going to work / balik from movies etc. synthetic engine oil nowadays work a bit of wonders and offer some security on your engine's health. i myself run Ultron SL ( 5w-40 ) and change every 5k's, but if i'm going to balik JB ( a total of about 1k kms to and fro, plus jln2 a bit ) i'll change the oil bfr the trip lah. and yes, HAMP oil filters work a little bit better than standard blue Honda oil filters, it's said that it flows something like 10cc's of oil, ye ke?

TODA said:
so far, no white smoke coming out of my exhaust yet....'touch wood' i hope my stock car can maintain well n allow me 2 join some events soon *pray HARD*

just wanna know what happen if white smoke coming out from exhaust every morning when warm up engine...i alwz saw my neighbour car have it when we go work together..but its not happen in the middle of the day or afternoon...*garu2 kepala..

acai,

that's normal during morning where ambient temperature is lower than what's comin out of ur engine through ur exhaust.....the "white smoke" is actually wapour creates from the combustion chamber......just like if u go some places which is very cold and u can see the vapour comin out from ur mouth when breathin...

darkemperor said:
acai,

that's normal during morning where ambient temperature is lower than what's comin out of ur engine through ur exhaust.....the "white smoke" is actually wapour creates from the combustion chamber......just like if u go some places which is very cold and u can see the vapour comin out from ur mouth when breathin...

thats true. Dun worry, u can trust an engineer on this.

ace79 said:
yep, best way to maintain your engine ( any engines for that matter ) is use good quality engine oil ( depending on your application ), must service / change parts on time, check all fluid levels, and do a check on the bottom of the car whenver going to work / balik from movies etc. synthetic engine oil nowadays work a bit of wonders and offer some security on your engine's health. i myself run Ultron SL ( 5w-40 ) and change every 5k's, but if i'm going to balik JB ( a total of about 1k kms to and fro, plus jln2 a bit ) i'll change the oil bfr the trip lah. and yes, HAMP oil filters work a little bit better than standard blue Honda oil filters, it's said that it flows something like 10cc's of oil, ye ke?
original Honda one how much is the oil flow?

how about the price for HAMP's?

i think it's important to change the engine oil together with the transmission oil too. alot of ppl don't change their transmission oil and that's actually quite bad if you whack your vtec every weekend with aggresive driving.
also, those who use engine oil flushes, it's not really appropriate. it screws up your valve gaps and what have you... got it from some vtec website few weeks back.
cheeeeers!

Guys,
How about other part of the car. like handling part, suspension, bushing, mounting
those also are important part to maintain. engine are heart of the car. if heart only healty but feet broken how to 'lari'.
any tips to maintain this.......

for bushings, i was told to change it logn time edi.........car more than 10 yrs (assuming u drive the car everyday, whack every weekend) should b due 2 replace.....

Mountings change only if broken, it is obvious u can see in the engine bay, some say can 'feel' the vibration of engine.

Suspension really depends........but i know mine is time for revalve work, anybody knows the contact for RG suspension?

My bro's Honda Accord is nearly 15 years and the condition is still good. Just replace the new timing belt and alternator. What he do is he used the fully syntetic engine oil every 5000km and change the parts regarding the advice from mechanic's Honda Service.That all.

heheee i use the cheapest castrol onli... w50 every 3k i change la..
sumtime less than that... but myself vtec oto maaa.... mau hirev oso
feel shy2...

for cars aged 7yrs above, new bushings is a must!! bought an '89 sh4
2 yrs back... chg the bushings & i found myself thanking my creator
for giving us honda!!