how to raise a gap for the front bonet?

for iswara and saga...raising up ur bonnet doesn't look nite...for my saga i put 3 washer only ..hardly see the diff..for wira,satria this kinda engine cover..then cantik!!

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Sep 25 2004, 13:11
itr,

thanks for the (now) intelligent discussion.
:P sorry guys......

well, using the low-pressure/ high-pressure theory to guide us where the air from the engine bay will come out or not,

here's something:

why the bonnets like these:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v77/kingauxs/z_Misc/front_hood_type_r_im.jpg

should work pretty well, is because the hole is in the LOW-pressure,high-speed zone. (the faster the air, the lower the pressure)
and it's right after the radiator :)
i've seen some fibre 'experts' put the vents IN FRONT of the radiator.. now that effectively reduces air from cooling the radiator la..... aiyo.

okie:
why doesn't the raised/popped bonnet let hot-air out? it worked for bonnet venting, doesn't it?
when stationary, YES the radiator fan blows the hot air out.
but when moving (fast enough la) the air from outside, actually gets pushed into the hole!
:huh: ??
how did that happened?

simple: that area is a high-pressure, low-airspeed zone.
How is that possible?
the windscreen. The air needs to SLOW down and 'climb' the windscreen. So the base of the windscreen is high-pressure (relatively)

don't you believe me?
well, our air-con air-intakes are THERE you know.. not even facing the front too! yet the air going thru the pipings-to-the-blower-to-pipings-to-your-face is still quite fast! (with the blower off) woah! try it with your car!
beware not to jack the bonnet too high... cos when washing car the water might get in if you sprayed in that area...

stanley,

the air vents are without fans right??? would this make it less efficient in venting hot air... i was thinking of making a vent and then screwing a fan below the vent to force the hot air out...

by the way i think the NSX one was not meant to vent hot air right... i think it is there for aerodynamic purposes...

Originally posted by butthead+Oct 3 2004, 16:38 -->
QUOTE (butthead @ Oct 3 2004, 16:38 )
--QuoteBegin-ninja_iga
@Sep 25 2004, 13:11
itr,

thanks for the (now) intelligent discussion.
:P sorry guys......

well, using the low-pressure/ high-pressure theory to guide us where the air from the engine bay will come out or not,

here's something:

why the bonnets like these:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v77/kingauxs/z_Misc/front_hood_type_r_im.jpg

should work pretty well, is because the hole is in the LOW-pressure,high-speed zone. (the faster the air, the lower the pressure)
and it's right after the radiator :)
i've seen some fibre 'experts' put the vents IN FRONT of the radiator.. now that effectively reduces air from cooling the radiator la..... aiyo.

okie:
why doesn't the raised/popped bonnet let hot-air out? it worked for bonnet venting, doesn't it?
when stationary, YES the radiator fan blows the hot air out.
but when moving (fast enough la) the air from outside, actually gets pushed into the hole!
:huh: ??
how did that happened?

simple: that area is a high-pressure, low-airspeed zone.
How is that possible?
the windscreen. The air needs to SLOW down and 'climb' the windscreen. So the base of the windscreen is high-pressure (relatively)

don't you believe me?
well, our air-con air-intakes are THERE you know.. not even facing the front too! yet the air going thru the pipings-to-the-blower-to-pipings-to-your-face is still quite fast! (with the blower off) woah! try it with your car!

beware not to jack the bonnet too high... cos when washing car the water might get in if you sprayed in that area...

stanley,

the air vents are without fans right??? would this make it less efficient in venting hot air... i was thinking of making a vent and then screwing a fan below the vent to force the hot air out...

by the way i think the NSX one was not meant to vent hot air right... i think it is there for aerodynamic purposes... [/b][/quote]
not vent hot air out?

then where/how does the radiator air goes out?

the engine's at the back btw.

and NO fan's (that runs on a car battery and light enough) can push out hot-air as fast as plain ol' speed.

engine at back, then what is the purpose for the "hole", really for aerodynamic purpose??

benefits of raising the gap (of course not for showing off :P )

1) engine's internals are cooler as well as the temperature of my car now is lower while the car is running.

and also i dont think when u wash ur car or raining it will damage ur engine (a little bit of water wont damage ur engine anyway)....as there is a railing there that deters water from going into ur engine, if u wanna give it to car wash then tell the washers JANGAN TEMBAK sana lor...

waaaa ... really got effect ka fstrader ?? like this i oso wanna try liauu since FOC one .. hahahaahaha ..

Originally posted by ksgoh@Oct 4 2004, 15:36
engine at back, then what is the purpose for the "hole", really for aerodynamic purpose??
aiya

the NSX's radiator's in front! and the front, mid and almost all the rear is covered up for aerodynamic purposes.

for a car that's going THAT fast, they'd want front and rear downforce. (rear is pretty easy to get compared to the front)

so letting air out thru the bonnet seems logical.

btw, them Evos also like that :)
why? because in the WRC, they have sump-guards, which restricts alot of air from going down, so bonnet has nice vents lo.

the road car has simply because:
if you want anything to be in WRC car, (bodywork) the road production car ALSO must have.

Originally posted by ksgoh@Oct 4 2004, 17:42
for engine wash...which part have to "balut", fstrader?
just balut the open pod air filter lor....me engine wash i shoot water everywhere one still can start mar...muahhahaha :lol:

Originally posted by QiW@Oct 5 2004, 10:49
waaaa ... really got effect ka fstrader ?? like this i oso wanna try liauu since FOC one .. hahahaahaha ..
knn :lol:

u are the one who intro to me....muahahahahah :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by fstrader+Oct 5 2004, 14:18 -->
QUOTE (fstrader @ Oct 5 2004, 14:18 )
--QuoteBegin-ksgoh
@Oct 4 2004, 17:42

just balut the open pod air filter lor....me engine wash i shoot water everywhere one still can start mar...muahhahaha :lol: [/b][/quote]
which part?? the sensor for air filter?? :blink:

waaaa ... i where got intro to u laa fstrader ?? u are the master maa .. me newbie .. just wanna learn only maaa .. heheheheehe ...
so did u find any difference with and without the bonnet raised ??

hi there,

Just finish doing my raise bonnet thinge..havent test it yet..but its quite easy le..no hassle in doing it...but the worst thing is you guys know there is a sensor in the bonnet itself..the thing can detect the closing of bonnet thus when i lock my car , the alarm goes off...its located near the left hand conner near the firewall...so the simple solution is "i disconnected it"..

happy trying!
cheers.
phil

if u disconnected it....alarm won't "sound" if u release ur bonet.....not a good idea right?

Originally posted by QiW@Oct 5 2004, 18:16
waaaa ... i where got intro to u laa fstrader ?? u are the master maa .. me newbie .. just wanna learn only maaa .. heheheheehe ...
so did u find any difference with and without the bonnet raised ??
diu master pulakk :blink:

difference ah? have to ask urself lar..muahahhaha :lol:

Originally posted by ksgoh+Oct 5 2004, 14:58 -->
QUOTE (ksgoh @ Oct 5 2004, 14:58 )
Originally posted by fstrader@Oct 5 2004, 14:18
--QuoteBegin-ksgoh
@Oct 4 2004, 17:42

just balut the open pod air filter lor....me engine wash i shoot water everywhere one still can start mar...muahhahaha :lol:

which part?? the sensor for air filter?? :blink: [/b][/quote]
anyone??

ksgoh, am very sure the plastic bag is more then big enough to cover the sensor as well...if u get a big plastic bag lar B)

Hie, i raised my bonnet last time with my old car. :lol: When rain comes, steam will be coming and make your down part of your windscreen got water vapour. :lol: Very nice larr, this means that hot air is coming out. :)

fstrader taii korr, then carbie what to cover lehh? :(

Originally posted by ken12292703@Oct 6 2004, 10:22
Hie, i raised my bonnet last time with my old car. :lol: When rain comes, steam will be coming and make your down part of your windscreen got water vapour. :lol: Very nice larr, this means that hot air is coming out. :)

fstrader taii korr, then carbie what to cover lehh? :(
wahhh ken me not taikorr mar...hahahahhaa :lol: :lol:

carbie ah, just cover the filter is enough lor :D