How to Colour your own dashboard

man this thread is interesting. i just replaced my door panel and now i'm thinking of getting the dash painted/dyed black.... cheryl... ur pink dash sure looks right from the manufacturing line :)

I think its some kind of primer that can bond to plastic and at the same time be painted. Plastic dye in Malaysia can be obtained from those Overseas hardware chains, but they're like RM35+ per can and only come with limited colors :( (The bad thing is, i never saw black ones!)

I did an experiment as recommended by one of the hardware shop owner (painted my gear console and armrest to matt black). It's been a bout three weeks now and the paint so far did not show any signs of peeling or cracking just yet. We'll see after a few months :)

what about body paint?
u know body paint is realy expensive,
have anyone tried or have any idea of how to do it ourselves?

i did a dashboard paint to my car's. but i did not use any sealant or what not.
What i did was, sand the dash using the fine sandpaper. then wipe clean the surface. then directly spray on it a few layers. then i finish off with clear paint.

so far no problem. i used silver color. but thinking to change to white soon and complete paint for gear console and other panels too. maybe i post photo later.

before

P7160637.jpg

P7160638.jpg

after...

P7190652.jpg

P7190651.jpg

P7190653.jpg

P7160640.jpg

1) clean the dashboard with water
2) clean it again with petrol
3) spray it with "flexible sealer"
4) spray the colour u want before the "flexible sealer" dry
5) done

P7190655.jpg

P7190656.jpg

P7190657.jpg

im not salesman of CENTARI or SUNLIGHT & happy DIY my friend!

Woh... nice... thanks for sharing...
wondering whether it also can b applied on door trims?

Woh... nice... thanks for sharing...
wondering whether it also can b applied on door trims?

wat car u referring to?should be no problem,but remember dun spray too much,a thin layer of paint will be enuf.

it's ok for me & my bro,juz becareful if ur car is too old like mine,worry if we broke it's clips.

wat car u referring to?should be no problem,but remember dun spray too much,a thin layer of paint will be enuf.

Mirage CA1A doortrim... because there are two parts, the whole trim is vinyl and the pocket is plastic... Can be applied on both surface?

cant get wat u mean bro...do u hv any pic of it?

what hes trying to say is tht his is like the satria gti(CA1A) ones... half of the door panel is vinyl and the bottom part (the big pocket) is plastic... so he's wondering if ur technique along with the product u use can be applied on vinyl surface..

yes,mine E36 whole dashboard & center console also build by these 2 materials

5) done

P7190655.jpg

P7190656.jpg

P7190657.jpg

im not salesman of CENTARI or SUNLIGHT & happy DIY my friend!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mate 5115,

just got couple of thing to ask before me start doing this...
---------------------------------------------

5) done

---------------------------------------------
-when clean with petrol, do you thing we should clean with soap again?then apply the flexible sealer then spray before the sealer dry?

do you reckon this way?
-sand the vinyl with very very soft sandpaper?[u think its ok] and the other PVC parts?
-clean it with water
-then clean it with petrol
-wash it with soap or something
-ensure its dry
-paint 1st layer of flexible sealer
-let it dry
-then 2nd layer of flexible sealer then before its dry spray with color.

what you think?
im just wanted the sealer to be stronger....
me gonna do this to my mivec dboard...coz the top bit is vinyl and other parts are PVC..
should be ok isnt it?

appreciate alot your advice on this...

cheers :driver:

just to make sure those soap is cleared of ur dash before the f/sealer
dun use sandpaper unless u got some minor scratch
dun make too many coat of f/sealer or paint,thinkness of these coating will caused crack in the future.

will it faded after a few month under the sun..??:adore::adore::adore:

i mean those car without V-Kool tinted 1...:adore::adore:

Last edited by a moderator: