Change Interior Colour

Jamrud

Hallo geng!! I am feeling kinda bored with my car`s interrior colour(maroon) .Now thinking of changing the colour to black..what is the best way to change the colour? if i spray it black, nanti the feeling strange when touch it rit coz of the dryed paint ? I thought of Covering the whole dashboard material with leather but thats gonna be expensive.So,anyone have any ideas to share? B)

On a budget you can get vinyl spray, which is a paint specially for changing the color of vinyl. But you have to make sure you apply it correctly or it won't last. Also, places where it gets rubbed a fair bit (door trims) you might want to put extra coats of paint too.

The best way of course is to retrim everything in the color you want, but that's expensive.

yes i also want to knw

wat paint use to spray on the dashboard trim..(the 'woodern look' of most wira)..?

upholsery is the interior roof...hmm...

up there you know>

Hm... u guys can find vinyl dye in Malaysia? IF yes, i would like to know where, been looking for these for AGES, still can't seem to find them, in Australia damn lot, but i can't ask my friend to bring back coz it's aerosol and not allowed on planes.

Anyway, bryan90s, that dashboard wood trim, u can remove them, and spray wif normal car paint, i DIYed mine myself, so... i know those normal paint can be used :)

vinyl paint.hmm where to find and ard how much it cost eh? i wanna change the colour of all lah..dashboard, armconsole, the door trimming and all...

go to those TAMIYA shops .. selling those kereta mainan .. ask for plastic/vinyl paint .. they have a lot .. if not mistaken RM20 per can .. the can is about as big as canned drinks i.e coca cola, pepsi etc ..

meant for plastic/vinyl and it will last longer .. :P :P

GRexer, really? lasting or not? how many layer?

EG9wannabe, can? then apply using brush ah? i sucks at brush wo...got spray type or not?

Originally posted by bryan90s@Oct 22 2004, 13:06

EG9wannabe, can? then apply using brush ah? i sucks at brush wo...got spray type or not?
they got two types of paint .. spray and brush .. B)

anyone repaint their car's interior? can post some picture?

anyone here..noe roughly how much it cost to re-trim the whole interior?...
dashboard..door panels..?

Originally posted by EG9wannabe@Oct 22 2004, 08:36
go to those TAMIYA shops .. selling those kereta mainan .. ask for plastic/vinyl paint .. they have a lot .. if not mistaken RM20 per can .. the can is about as big as canned drinks i.e coca cola, pepsi etc ..

meant for plastic/vinyl and it will last longer .. :P :P
that's the worse sorta paints to use

too fragile.

ACE Hardware's selling Krylon Plastic spray paint!
comes in many colors, do check it out!

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Oct 24 2004, 01:01
ACE Hardware's selling Krylon Plastic spray paint!
comes in many colors, do check it out!
Hm... already tried that out, doesn't give the same effect as vinyl dye :(

It's just slightly finer than the regular spray paint, unlike vinyl dye which is super fine.

Originally posted by bryan90s@Oct 22 2004, 13:06
GRexer, really? lasting or not? how many layer?
Hm... i sprayed 2 coats of paint, and 2 coats of clear. Well, quite lasting IMO, until now, for nearly a year already, there's no peeling off, there's some scartches though, maybe have to use the plastic treater to spray first before spraying on the paint.