How far is it true???

skyline2778

"Engine has carboned-up from day-to-day town driving. In the latter case, an hour or two on a freeway at 120 km/h will burn most of the carbon away and the car will be noticeably more lively...."

Is this true???What are your opinions? :wink:

i dunno worr... alot of ppl also told me that too.

even my mechanic told me to go jln jln at 100km/h to clear up the carbon deposits after the transplant.

hmmm... heard this also. if its true or not i dunno.

but if its true then those fella offering those carbon cleaning service don't have business case then...

ECU's in todays cars adapt to your driving style, so that maybe the logic why your feel a bit more power after you drive fast for a while... but then again it could be carbon is gone.. :biggrin: :biggrin:

i dunno...

this holds true. start stop traffic is horrendous to our engine as mentioned above. I occassionally run distilled water into the combustion chamber to clear any deposits.

i can say its true. my ECU is not the constantly self learning type. after each resetting (by disconnecting power from ECU), the ECU takes about 1-3 days of re-learning to adapt to my new driving pattern, after that it sticks to that map until i reset it again.

it has been my case for the past 5 years, that after a few months of daily commute, the engine becomes "docile". at first i wouldnt say i felt the decline in performance, but it so happens that over weekends, i would have a fun trip filled with high revs and serious driving and then come back home. immediately the next day, i will feel the engine response and performs "fresh" (not necessarily "better"). it is however totally different from before the weekend drive. i dont know if my mechanic knows this for a fact, but he tells me the same thing.

carbon as in exhaust pipe?

true then. an old experience exhaust ah pek told me this b4. he says the daily stop go traffic at the same rev range...1k - 3k...will deposit some dust+carbon at the exhaust. so he adviced me to rev it hard once a week....to push out the residue

phat7 said:
this holds true. start stop traffic is horrendous to our engine as mentioned above. I occassionally run distilled water into the combustion chamber to clear any deposits.
wit distilled water? how do u do that?

phat7 said:

Sifu..can u plz teach us how to do just that? give some illustrations and pictures if possible :) thanks man

i think most of us who're in this forum won't have the carbon built up problems. lol

i think it's true also because last time when i still have my wira mivec, the car seems to accelerate better and feel more powerful after i drive it fast for several minutes

skyline2778 said:
"Engine has carboned-up from day-to-day town driving. In the latter case, an hour or two on a freeway at 120 km/h will burn most of the carbon away and the car will be noticeably more lively...."

Is this true???What are your opinions? :wink:

ah..[size=-1]also known as
" Ye Olde Italian Tune Up"..http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon14.gif
not fer the faint-hearted, this..

plz refer to :
http://engine.articles.mbz.org/diesel/italian/
[/size]

To reduce the carbon deposits inside the combustion chamber doesn't need to rev your engine kau kau one.... What i did was every begining of the month (after pay day), i pour in a fuel injection cleaner and fill her up 3/4 tank, went to KESAS highway, maintain at highway speed 110kmh at 4th gear (approx 4500rpm) for 15mins. When our engine operating at optimum temp, the carbon deposits will gradualy being burnt away from the Valves and the piston. The rest of the fuel mixture will maintain the cleaness inside the combustion chamber.

Just my 2 cents :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

excuse my late reply fella's. What i do is start the engine and let it idle until it reaches operating temperature. Once there i get someone in the car to ensure revs are above 3k. on my car there are to nipples (1 used for boost gauge and another for venting excess-blowoff) with the vacuum hose of the first nipple i use 1liter of battery water (distilled) you will notice that a lot of smoke out of your exhaust. water will be automatically be sucke (vacuum) once done repeat procedure with next nipple on intake manifold. What you must remember is to keep the rpm at 3k above. This is very similar to water injection systems where many owners notice that when dismantled their engine internals are like new and minimal carbon deposits. As some americans say - steam cleaning your combustion chamber.

This is for all cars not necessary for rotary cars only. Try it out ad you'll notice better idle and slight increase in response.

Ps: i've been doing this without any problems so if you do try please do it at own risk. if you have any questions i'd be glad to help.

Wow, now only i know that we can use distilled water. I am scared of using water because engine hates water (as i know). I only use decarbonizer.