Hot Topic to discuss... no emotion just common sense

if every week one G's bigshot 'must' (new rules maybe)ride public transport to thier workplace.. then the service will be good above imagination....

ace79 said:
Plus : improving the public transport like SG will help a lot too. Everytime I drive into SG, I will always use the buses ( very2 comfortable, got TV too! ) and MRT, unless I am in a hurry or hafta go more than 2 locations on the same day lah. The SG MRT is quite fast and have more cabs compared to ours. And the buses is plenty, like a max waiting time of about 10 mins only woh.

public service like buses and taxis can only improved when there are less cars on the road. our taxi and buses are slow becoz they get stuck in traffic jam - what else??

singapore practise such control with COE (Certificate of Entitlement). without COE, we are not entitled to buy cars. COE for a Waja over there i think cost about 30-40K sing dollar. so, singaporean who owns a waja can actually could afford a PV6 in malaysia.

so those who dont want to buy COE, they can buy their cars but only for weekend use. if i am not mistaken, they use red colour plates. red plates are not allowed on the road on week days. singapore learnt faster than us becoz of its relatively small country which is easier to manage than ours.

haih, i feeel like useless, juz talking here n there but nothing has improve!!

Cars which is more than 15 years n above shud be scrapped and car which more than 10 years are not allowed to enter K.L also not a bad idea.

HanJackaL said:
Improve public transportation, increase the price of cars. A huge number of cars on the road are perodua and proton, because its too affordable and almost ANYONE can afford. And alot of the cars only have 1 driver inside...if people car pool more often, or public transportation improve alot, i am sure the cars on the road will be alot less, and our citizens can stop wasting time getting stuck in traffic jams and be more productive !

cars are NOT affordable in malaysia.

the typical scenario is to take a 5-9 year loan for a depreciating asset, compared to some other countries where ppl change car like changing underwear.

the reason u see a lot of proton n perodua is because everyone NEEDS personal transport, we cannot rely on public transport

reedoor said:
but why cant they improve their service? & like Putra Line... as passangers are getting more & more nowadays, why cant they add in another cabin?! as the original design for the stations are for 4 cabins instead or our current 2!

currently LRT stations cannot upgrade capacity. the platform length can only fit 2 carriages.
and they cannot increase the frequency either, during peak hours, a train will arrive every 3 minutes

i promise u that in 3 years time the LRT will get much more crowded.
because more stations will be added (subang jaya to Putra, puchong to Star).

zan said:
not necessarily scrap old cars. just dont allow cars more than 18 years to enter city centre (also golden triangle) and during peak hours (8-9.30am & 4-6pm). also can apply to JB and penang. to me this also more flexible.

or maybe introduce a procedure to enter KL. special colour number plates (maybe light blue) and speacial road tax. users have to pay higher road tax to get privilege to use KL road.

with less cars, get more buses on the road and public service will improve significantly.

traffic congestion affects not just kl but the entire klang valley.
like federal highway & LDP , during rush hour, 90% in first gear.

sta said:
currently LRT stations cannot upgrade capacity. the platform length can only fit 2 carriages.
and they cannot increase the frequency either, during peak hours, a train will arrive every 3 minutes

i promise u that in 3 years time the LRT will get much more crowded.
because more stations will be added (subang jaya to Putra, puchong to Star).
sorry, do u take trains?

wat makes u said the platform fits only 2 carriages?! wats de extra both far end side for? hav u notice tat there's extra area at the side?

the platform are capable for 4 cabins bro, dont u no tat there are existing doors?! & do u need to measure the extra area to c whether its de size of another cabin?!

bsides tat, my fren whos staying bside kelana jaya station (where they repair de trains), Daiman Crimson & putra was testing/running 3 cabins. & tat was like about a yr ago. so... tats y, as a daily passenger of PUTRA LRT, knowing they hav been testing the train but not running, wat isit for?
& yea, LRT will get more crowded in 3yrs time, so, wat r they goin to do? still using de 2 cabins for the next 10yrs?
schedule de train to come every 2mts wud help? (meaning more trains wud b running on track, once 1 train got problem, de rest wud stuck or delay) or adding in more cabins wud b more safer?

LRT can definately fit more than just 2 cabins. If LRT really can ONLY fit a max of 2 cabins... then this is all too fu_king familiar. We'll be hearing those morons saying "need to rise the price of LRT tickets coz we are expanding the platform and also buying new trains to accomodate more users". wait... in fact I'm thinking this is exactly what they are planning to do...

The COE is not applicable to Malaysians, since there are still many of us who earns less than RM 2k monthly and have a family to feed. For RM 2k, can barely clear monthly instalments for a Kancil, DBKL flat, et cetera. At Singapore, you can't even send your kids to tadika if you earn less than SGD 1k you know, it's so bad until some of these tadika's over there choose to have some sort of instalment program.

Buses and taxis : Since the current state of traffic ( especially in central KL ) is still pretty bad, our local bus operator should have thought about using those smaller - sized buses like what Intrakota used to run, and keep these small buses only for in - KL trips. Secondly, the current locations for these bus stops ( where there will be at least 2 of these buses waiting for passangers, like KLCC ) is not large enuff for these buses to park and wait. Taxi drivers nowadays still have the ye olde' mentality of choosing customers.

It's a bit late to reorganise such a large city like KL, maybe can improve here and there a bit, but that's about it. I think JB and Penang still have a slight chance to reorganise their roads and public transportation.

Or maybe the govt implement something like SG's ERP? But do it this way :
- for those who works or home is around these ERP roads, give some sort of proof that you work / stay there, and you get discounts for monthly / quarterly / yearly ERP rates. I think RM 20 per month is pretty reasonable, and DBKL can make at least an couple of extra mil's monthly to help improve public transport. When public transport is fully developed, use the money for the famous longkang story leh. :)
- for those who doesn't , then pay up in full. Like maybe RM 3.00 per day?

And to make this work, oh yes, better LRT and bus service please.

zan said:
public service like buses and taxis can only improved when there are less cars on the road. our taxi and buses are slow becoz they get stuck in traffic jam - what else??

singapore practise such control with COE (Certificate of Entitlement). without COE, we are not entitled to buy cars. COE for a Waja over there i think cost about 30-40K sing dollar. so, singaporean who owns a waja can actually could afford a PV6 in malaysia.

so those who dont want to buy COE, they can buy their cars but only for weekend use. if i am not mistaken, they use red colour plates. red plates are not allowed on the road on week days. singapore learnt faster than us becoz of its relatively small country which is easier to manage than ours.

reedoor said:
sorry, do u take trains?

wat makes u said the platform fits only 2 carriages?! wats de extra both far end side for? hav u notice tat there's extra area at the side?

the platform are capable for 4 cabins bro, dont u no tat there are existing doors?! & do u need to measure the extra area to c whether its de size of another cabin?!

bsides tat, my fren whos staying bside kelana jaya station (where they repair de trains), Daiman Crimson & putra was testing/running 3 cabins. & tat was like about a yr ago. so... tats y, as a daily passenger of PUTRA LRT, knowing they hav been testing the train but not running, wat isit for?
& yea, LRT will get more crowded in 3yrs time, so, wat r they goin to do? still using de 2 cabins for the next 10yrs?
schedule de train to come every 2mts wud help? (meaning more trains wud b running on track, once 1 train got problem, de rest wud stuck or delay) or adding in more cabins wud b more safer?

i stand by my earlier comment, platform cannot fit more carriages.
just go to KL Sentral LRT and see. The leftmost & rightmost rows of passengers lining up already take up 80% of the width of the platform.

govt in malaysia can't limit # of cars because they know public transport in kl is shit in comparison. and i think SG road/car purchase regulations are ridiculous, however, with their public transport system, a reasonable ammount of people are not bothered to own cars because a car ends up being inconveniant. SG is small. malaysia is huge in comparison. without a car here. hehehee g'luck ....

Car pool, as someone mentioned earlier.

I have 4 friends who live in Ampang which the distance between their houses are approximately 2km and work in the same company but none of them car pool to work. What I notice is that usually there's one person per car, two at most. Improving the public transportation and educating malaysians to car pool would be a great idea, I suppose.

Then again, who would listen to me :shcokedcamo: