Honda civic 1.6

philipplim

iam a newbie to this honda cars.. and iam planning to get a civic ( cristal headlights type) year 96 - 97 ( budget round 50 - 55k).

Just wondering, how many models are there in this type of civic..i heard from a fren saying that there are 3. 1 is Dohc Vtec, and the other one is Sohc Vtec..and one more is Efi..
Iam planning to get a Dohc vtec one but is it difficult to find in malaysia. (big vtec le)
Anyone of u know where i can get one by that budjet of mine...

need advise in honda cars cause iam totally blur in this..

phil

philipplim,
welcome to the honda clan. glad that you wanna choose civic as your car. myself just got a SOHC VTEC civic few months back. quite satisfied with its ride while the power is adequate for a start.

first, if you're looking for the so called crystal headlights, that means you're looking for the face lifted civic. these face lifted models only come in mid 99 to year 2000. with the budget you have, doubt u'll be able to find one coz it normally ranges around 63 to 70K depending on condition. as for the normal EK models (pre-facelift), you can get a decent 96 EK model ranging from 55 to 65K. the 55K ones are obviously EFI while the 65K ones are SOHC or even DOHC VTEC if you're lucky.

ok, actually there are many ranges of civic engines available but to cut a long story short, there's as u mention the EFI, SOHC VTEC AND DOHC VTEC. quite rightly said, DOHC models are quite rare but you can find a few selling at motortrader or even star papers. bear in mind i'm talking about stock original, not converted ones. the SOHC VTEC like mine are quite aplenty and i think u can find a decent early 99 (pre facelift) civic for about 63K coz i bought mine for 65K and if you're not so much of a speed freak, i believe the power is enuff. the ride is pretty comfortable, nice handling but one complain though, i find it quite low. everytime i go over a high bump, it scrapes the bottom and if you're travelling quite fast and go over high low section of a road, u'll find the bumper will scrape against the road.

just to clear the confusion about big v and small v. actually both big V and small V are DOHC VTEC. contrary to popular believe, big V is dohc vtec and small v is sohc vtec. However, i think most civic fans over here would gladly tell you that big v is the B16A used in EK series with extra 10hp while the small v is also B16A used in the older EJ series. how to differentiate? big v B16A has the word VTEC that is bigger font size than DOHC on the engine cover. small v however is the opposite whereby the word DOHC is bigger than VTEC.

hope it helps! i think other hondarians here could give you even better explanation coz like you, i'm just a newbie.

Hi prodigy,

Thanks for the reply..found it useful cause i finally know wats wat...
so basically, the dohc vtec that iam looking for is available but its limited rite..
and the price is more expensive than those non cristal light rite...
by the way, iam really confuse bout the ek , eg and other "e" cause i cant really differentiate which is which..

The older ones (hatch back) bullet i saw is equipt with dohc vtec rite ( big V)..so does that mean that they have converted their engines cause i heard that the dohc engine wasnt deploy in malaysia in late year 97 rite....
just wondering, planning to get one with dohc vtec and with the normal face lift better or just stick to those old 93 -96 bullet models.

phil

Adding On :

+ 3 stage VTEC civic.

with multimatic gear. ;)

prodigy

At first I thought i was replying to this thread.How come i never remember what I have replied?

Anyway, I am proud that you are using my avatar which I created back in 2002.hehehe..at least someone is noticing it.Cheers!

Hi philliplim, are you the computer fella working for Axcess?

Anyways, erm, depends on your taste really. Personally I like the EG series more (the bullet types) cuz i drive one myself, and also I think it looks more stylish than the later model.

Originally posted by EG8@Mar 8 2005, 22:27
prodigy

At first I thought i was replying to this thread.How come i never remember what I have replied?

Anyway, I am proud that you are using my avatar which I created back in 2002.hehehe..at least someone is noticing it.Cheers!
EG8,

hehehe, sorry for the confusion! actually i asked you in another channel if i can use this avatar coz i found it cute. how did you create it i wonder. anyway, thanks for the avatar.

phil,

to be honest with you, i don't know what bullet is, which model is it and so on. but i think you're a little confuse over here. ES model is the current 1.7 that we see in our everyday road. the hatchback model of this range, the infamous civic type R is called the EP.

the model before ES/EP is called the EK/EJ(1996 to 2000). but it doesn't mean EJ is the hatchback of model 96-00 coz EJ simply means "malaysian market" model assembled in malaysia while the EK imported from japan or so called Japan Domestic Market(JDM) model. i happen to own the EJ model and usually, civic drivers over here always refer the 96-00 model civics as EK model so that easier to identify although some of us here do drive EJ or EK. then the model before EJ/EK is EF series. i'm not too fammiliar with EF series car though.

now we come to chasis which i myself still not quite pro but i just tell whatever i know so please correct me if i'm wrong. the more famous EK models are EK4 and EK9. EK4 is what we call the civic SIR VI-RS. this is the car whereby you can find your BIG VTEC B16A DOHC and this car is the one with facelifted crystal lamp. if not mistaken, its rating is 170HP. The EK9 is one hot mutha, its the hatchback civic called the civic type R pushing almost 180hp. the engine used is B16B. btw, the civic year 96-00 has a nickname called " tai ngan chai", in english big eye boy.

then we come to EG series which i'm not to fammiliar with too. the top of the range is EG8 and this car if not mistaken uses the same engine as the above EK4, therefore BIG VTEC B16A DOHC. now we come to EF series and the top of range is EF9 whereby this is what we call the SMALL VTEC B16A DOHC. its essentially the same engine block as big v but due to a few parts that are older, this engine if not mistaken only pushes out about 160hp, 10 less than BIG V.

in layman terms, EF - EG - EK - ES. hope it helps to clear your doubts and now u roughly know what car to buy.

just to add, when you see an EK facelift model(year 2000 model) around the city, it does not automatically mean you're seeing a civic SIR VI-RS (DOHC VTEC) coz there are a few vti ones running around, these are the SOHC VTEC ones. i'd reckon there are quite a few VTI around and off and on in motortrader u can find a couple. however, the VI-RS is a lot more rare in malaysia unless converted.

I guess when Phill mention Honda Civic Bullet, he is talking about EG6 ( the red honda civic hatchback used in Initial D ) I guess most ppl refer to it as The Bullet because of it's slick side profile and also it's sexy rounded ass.... :lol:
http://www.icbmotorsport.com/New/JDM_EG6_SIR_S_Embi.jpg
http://www.dab.hi-ho.ne.jp/tsuno/gallery/images/EG6-01.jpg
http://www.car-vs-car.de/images/resized/99RDWT6L.jpg
eg43b.jpg

The EK9 is known as The Dolphin, because it looked like a dolphin head from the side profile.
http://hk.geocities.com/shuwoweb/H2.jpg
civic-ek9-g3-5.jpg

civic-ek-che2.jpg

But sadly, the EK9 lost the EG6 trademark sexy ass.

yeap, here in kuching, ppl call the EG6 as BULLET..

honda is a bit confusing me.. the EJ/EK that we see around if VTI or SIR VI-RS?
the tailamp of SIR VI-RS is a little big than VTI?

Thanks guys for all the information...its cool to have u bunch of guys here telling me the details but iam still a little confuse in the models of civic...planning to get one but still thinking the models and stuff..

And glocker...u are?

Cheers
phil

Originally posted by farique@Mar 9 2005, 07:48
yeap, here in kuching, ppl call the EG6 as BULLET..

honda is a bit confusing me.. the EJ/EK that we see around if VTI or SIR VI-RS?
the tailamp of SIR VI-RS is a little big than VTI?
to put it simple, the facelifted civic (99 to 00) generally comes in 3 range that is EFI, VTI and VI-RS. i hope u know the difference between all 3. this facelifted civic has a different rear lamp resign whereby people call it crystal tail lamp. also, the front bumper and front fenders are different too.

on the other hand, the 96-99 civic also has its EFI and VTI, so it doesn't mean that "VI-RS tail lamp is bigger than VTI" coz both these civic has their own EFI and VTI range.

Actually ar.. in different country they use the EFI or VTI or SIR differently. I still remember long time ago when the CIVIC ( EG6 ) Bullet came out, the SIR version in Malaysia is supposed to be the most powerful compared to EFI and VTI. But in other countries, they use the VTi badge.

I don't blame u for getting confused. To make matter worst, for the Civic Sedan (EG9 ) in other countries they call it FERIO..but a fren of mine said FERIO is slightly narrower than then standard CIVIC Sedan. Sigh... I also dunno to believe or not lah....hahahahaha

i think this is getting a bit confusing for a newbie like me...anyway, thanks for all the generous reply...considering which one suits more to me..either the 96-97 normal sohc vtec civic or those bullet equipt with dohc vtec...(but older le-- 92-95)
thought of getting a newer car but compare to a older spec , it has more power in it compare to a new one...

phil

Phillip, I worked at TAS's Axcess counter before, hehe. Gave me a scare when you did some maintenance work on the PC.

I think it's better if you go for the converted/ori EG9 or EG6. Not only it looks more sexier, it's definitely lighter than the EK series as well. Same engine, but lot less weight. Better power to weight ratio.

Hey glocker,
Dun be surprise if one day ur pc suddently move by itself...hahahah
yeap, iam the phil from axcess but iam leaving soon...
back to the topic..so u suggest that i get a eg6 or 9 rite..but i thought its difficult to get an ori eg6... cause i have seen plenty of ppl selling eg3 converted to eg6 spec...is there a difference between an ori eg9 with those converted ones..i mean the body chasis and etc..

phil