Honda City or Suzuki Swift?, Need recommendation. Thx

imho,

honda jazz has the biggest interior (not that it makes much difference), economical i-DSI and up the pace with VTEC, 7 virtual speed CVT (jerks slightly in auto mode). however its getting old (would be replaced soon!) by standard showroom life, and its not any cheaper than toyota yaris(95K).

yaris is an all newer car, with similar funky looks like swift. same reliable and powerful vios engine with its super ECT transmission, similar warranty package like Honda's, intelligent cabin design same to Honda jazz.

where jazz and yaris is almost 100K, swift is only about 85K with similar technical spec! if can wait, shud go for CKD versions because once there are CKDs, they will push the CBU high price cars lower than supposed to be.

as alternatives, Naza 206 is a gud buy at 68K with twin airbags, ABS and EBD but personally speaking the 1.4 EFi engine is a bit underpowered to consider 206's body weight.

at an extra 15K, i would strongly sugget buying latest Civic 1.8 with 16" wheels . with the longest wheelbase in its class (2700mm compare to altis/waja 2600mm) and 140bhp, it will make a comfortable drive and a good return when it comes to re-sell.

You know what I think, you should just buy a Myvi and pocket the difference. Then you have a good car and money to spend, European holiday perhaps? Downpayment for a condominium?

Because, really...you are not getting TWICE as much car (when you buy a City or a Vios or a Swift) as the Myvi for TWICE the price. The only main difference is the badge on it. Unless you are aiming for cars up a level, like the Civic.

i personally think city would be a good choice considering it's worth for the price.. swift cost around that price region too but can be crampy if u were to shuttle around ur family and friends.. if for young couples, okay la.. but long terms wise, in terms of resale value.. i think honda still place a better advantage compared to suzuki.. also, if u were to shop for 2nd hand at chop shop, i think it s easier to get thier parts compared to suzuki le.. furthermore, honda city has so called seven speed tiptronic ar on its steering wheel... can play play a bit la.. swift got nothing to play except ur own stick.. hehe.. :)

also, dun go for vios no doubt they might appear better than city as vios is quite crampy at the back.. also, with the height of 173 like me, u might accidentally hit ur head when trying to get out from the car.. also the central cluster meter doesnt look appealing compared to yaris.. of course yaris cost a lot more la... hope it helps by giving u some general idea..

davidchen27 said:
also, dun go for vios no doubt they might appear better than city as vios is quite crampy at the back.. also, with the height of 173 like me, u might accidentally hit ur head when trying to get out from the car.. also the central cluster meter doesnt look appealing compared to yaris.. of course yaris cost a lot more la... hope it helps by giving u some general idea..

Lolx u have the same height as me :_: Yeah i like yaris too but too bad my dad already cancelled the booking coz he said it's not a worth buy Sob:cry_smile:
Maybe i'll consider Jazz too hehe!

Kyoshiro said:
Lolx u have the same height as me :_: Yeah i like yaris too but too bad my dad already cancelled the booking coz he said it's not a worth buy Sob:cry_smile:
Maybe i'll consider Jazz too hehe!
good on ya.. but seriously i personally like yaris too but the price is a bit pricey though.. anyway good luck in getting ur dream car soon ya..

jazz not bad.. if u wan the sporty n 'lifestyle' look. now honda malaysia doing promo on this model. loan interest only 2.5% per annum. subsidied by honda malaysia itself.
summore u can put on mugen bodykits lah n wat wat bodykits lah .. out there a lots .. to look more sporty ya. oso can get carbon fibre front bonnet frm garage_kgf. he is selling one. kekekekekee ..
good luck!!! cheers mate ...

yeap.... jazz not bad... loads of aftermarket performance parts as well... if u not into performance, many aftermarket bodykits to choose from...

the performance of i-vtec is pretty good already....

d6d2 said:
jazz not bad.. if u wan the sporty n 'lifestyle' look. now honda malaysia doing promo on this model. loan interest only 2.5% per annum. subsidied by honda malaysia itself.
summore u can put on mugen bodykits lah n wat wat bodykits lah .. out there a lots .. to look more sporty ya. oso can get carbon fibre front bonnet frm garage_kgf. he is selling one. kekekekekee ..
good luck!!! cheers mate ...

Yeah i would do so if i'm got a jazz. But izzit worth to buy a jazz now? coz it's an old model n the interior is kinda outdated =P Anyway the 2.5% interest is very low =) 1 of the good reasons to get a jazz. Hehe!

as mentioned earlier, buying a car is not a good invesment. car price drop. wat to do ... car is our daily transport.
unless u buy house, land or estate. worth it then !!! kekeke ..

The Jazz is bloody overpriced. And as was mentioned, about to be replaced.

kyoshiro,

i hope i can help u cos i got both cars at home...swift n idsi city...1st of all u must ask urself wat do u wan??...but i reckon since u r in college u shud get a swift...

1. looks much much much better
2. handles and drives much much better
3. seats are much more comfy
4. interior looks more sporty
5. volume controls on the steering r a joy 2 use
6. engine sounds nice when revved and is alwiz willing to be revved(stock no mod)
7. its actually not tat small unless u alwiz need 2 carry 3 adults at the back
8. the brakes r much more responsive
9. afta driving the city 4 2 yrs i m sick of the cvt..smooth n jerkless is the nice way 2 put it....it feels very lifeless n uninvolving..it doesnt rev down as there is no gearchange up
10. the steering is not very responsive n accurate
11. fuel consumption is actually not much worse than the idsi city...i would say for my case city driving plus ocassional highway i get about 50km more per tank from the honda..but remember this is at the expense of the quickness n power of the swift

my conclusion..if really size n family with kids is ur no.1 priority the city is the absolute value 4 money car...4 a young dude like urself, pls enjoy the driving experience...the swift has countless rave reviews on its driveabilty and involving fun nature...if there was a 1.5 manual it would b the best affordable option...unless u can wait n r willing 2 pay for the swift sport...which is just yummy...

just my 2 cents..city owners pls dun flame me...i own one too..hehe