hi CAMS....

actually cam pulley wont increase HP in the engine, it is to set the power u need in diff RPM level..eg: ur car gain power in 4k RPM but u want it to be earlier so wif campulley u can adjust it to come earlier but of course u will lose alittle power in higher rpm cus the campulley set for more pick up oredi..so it depends to the driver itself, u like pick ups den sacrifice top speed, or else vice versa.. one more advise, get a good mech to do it, lastime my frren experienced b4, setting the campulley more to pick up, xtrememly alot, yeah the car fly in 1st - 3rd gear but later on, block koyak, went to another mech and check , they said campulley settings causing it, duno how true is dat le...mebi fuel din tune properly ..

Originally posted by taqu@Jan 9 2005, 10:58
et5828, Powerzone is proven to give u power increase even from low-RPM, u can feel it from 2500RPM to 5300RPM, proven on my dyno chart on my engine. Gti, adjustable campully doesn't give u power, it's used to adjust your cam phase to reduce some power loss at RPM if u're using racing camshaft, so no need for adjustable cam pully if ur camshaft is not racing camshaft. protnosss, fuel consumption depends on the type of the camshaft, whether is street or racing one. The more racier the camshaft, the more power-loss at low RPM, the more fuel it will consume, the more problematic idling it would be, and the higher RPM u have to rev to get the power. Some extreme racing camshaft won't let u idle below 2500RPM and only gives power from 6000RPM onwards.
hi,

actually i am refering to engine oil, not fuel. coz last time someone mentioned that after changing cam, if a/f didn't tuned with piggyback, sure consume engine oil.

mind explaining why?

Originally posted by GSR5559@Jan 9 2005, 16:18
actually cam pulley wont increase HP in the engine, it is to set the power u need in diff RPM level..eg: ur car gain power in 4k RPM but u want it to be earlier so wif campulley u can adjust it to come earlier but of course u will lose alittle power in higher rpm cus the campulley set for more pick up oredi..so it depends to the driver itself, u like pick ups den sacrifice top speed, or else vice versa.. one more advise, get a good mech to do it, lastime my frren experienced b4, setting the campulley more to pick up, xtrememly alot, yeah the car fly in 1st - 3rd gear but later on, block koyak, went to another mech and check , they said campulley settings causing it, duno how true is dat le...mebi fuel din tune properly ..
actually my friend advance the timing of his 1.5liter car through the distributor, and he also can play pickup with 1.8liters

i heard that distributor tuning and cam pulley tuning is inter-related is it? by what way?

and advancing the distributor timing have any negative effect?

protnoss : this im not veri sure..

cus from wht i know, dun shoot me if im wrong ya..

high cams do produce power at high RPMs but wif campulleys u can either retard or advance the settings..

for eg: putting a thicker metal gasket will make engine compression lower thus making low power at low RPMs..so to gain more power u boost higher to get back the power..

as in loss power at low RPMs for high cams but wif campulleys can adjust it so wont lose so much in low RPMs..hope im right..ehee

but adj pulley is expensive. hear from some mech says that adj pulley can give distribute power through out the RPM. Donno how true lah. It doesn't matter street or race. Adj pulley can cams is the best combo. Pls confirm.

oic....hmm....is it possible for 1.5wira matspeed cams to b fitted in 4g92p????

wats the lift of mat speedcams...and the price of it for 4g92p..thanx cuz am currently not in m'sia so cant go check the prices ...thanx to all in advance..

Hello Guys,

Me no Sifu, but I think some of the postings here need some help.

Iginition Timing
This related the time the spark plug actually fires in relation to where the piston is. Normally refered to +/- ? Degrees, TDC.

Valve Timing
This also refers to timing but the valve opening and closing times in relation to piston TDC/BDC. Since all engines have an intake and exhaust valve, the basics start with
a. intake Opening / Intake Closing
b. Exhaust Opening / Exhaust Closing

You can add these numbers up + 180 degrees and you will get the valve duration.

When you change the shape of your cam lobes you essentially change When the valves opens/closes and in turn, how long the stay open and clsoed.

Valve Lift
This is the height of your cam lobe. The higher the lobe height, the higher the rocker/push rod will lift your valves off the seat. In return providing more area for flow between the valve seat and valve itself.

Valve Lobe angle
This is the difference of the peaks of each intake and exhaust lobe. Applying to SOHC engines, it determines the difference between when the intake valve hits fully open and when the exhaust valve hits fully open.

Note - DOHC Valve Timing - Adjuestment
Changing valve timing on DOHC engines is the same as altering the Lobe angle in a SOHC engine. SOHC are fixed lobe ablges. DOHC has the advange of providing some form of adjustment.

Ummm from my very limted knowledge, thats about it to clarify. B)

Suggested Reading - Modern Engine Tuning - Alexander G Bell Haynes Publishing, available at Kinokuniya or Times. (And nope thats not the guy who invented the telephone) :D

Originally posted by Boink Boink@Jan 10 2005, 10:58
Suggested Reading - Modern Engine Tuning - Alexander G Bell Haynes Publishing, available at Kinokuniya or Times. (And nope thats not the guy who invented the telephone) :D
kahkahkah.. very the lawak boinkboink.. just wanna add a little bit.. one of the advantages of having adjustable cam pulley is to get the overlapping effect from the cams.. this is done by making the exhoust closing and the intake opening overlap ie the exhaust cam closed abit later and the intake opens abit earlier.. the idea is to utilized the exhoust gasses movement to help suck in the combustible mixture.. it will give a very high power at high rpm but low range power will suffer..

i got the info above from reading, in other words i havent experience it.. dont flame me if i'm wrong.. just sharing info.. :)

Originally posted by Boink Boink@Jan 10 2005, 10:58
Hello Guys,

Me no Sifu, but I think some of the postings here need some help.

Iginition Timing
This related the time the spark plug actually fires in relation to where the piston is. Normally refered to +/- ? Degrees, TDC.

Valve Timing
This also refers to timing but the valve opening and closing times in relation to piston TDC/BDC. Since all engines have an intake and exhaust valve, the basics start with
a. intake Opening / Intake Closing
b. Exhaust Opening / Exhaust Closing

You can add these numbers up + 180 degrees and you will get the valve duration.

When you change the shape of your cam lobes you essentially change When the valves opens/closes and in turn, how long the stay open and clsoed.

Valve Lift
This is the height of your cam lobe. The higher the lobe height, the higher the rocker/push rod will lift your valves off the seat. In return providing more area for flow between the valve seat and valve itself.

Valve Lobe angle
This is the difference of the peaks of each intake and exhaust lobe. Applying to SOHC engines, it determines the difference between when the intake valve hits fully open and when the exhaust valve hits fully open.

Note - DOHC Valve Timing - Adjuestment
Changing valve timing on DOHC engines is the same as altering the Lobe angle in a SOHC engine. SOHC are fixed lobe ablges. DOHC has the advange of providing some form of adjustment.

Ummm from my very limted knowledge, thats about it to clarify. B)

agree with boink... :lol:

i'm using 4G13..
can i install 272degree Hi-cam for my engine??
wat is the effect or the performance tat 1 can get??
i've an adjustable pully also...

any comment? :)

hi brother ..my name is raam new here just wan 2 ask that wat is the consideration i must take when i am going 2 increase my car hp .my car is 1996 toyota SEG.

Dump in a 272cam + PNP = superb street setting

Remember to visit HWL and get yourself a set of adjustable suspension, HI-LO or SoftHard, or HI-LO + SOFTHARD

Way to go maaann:thefinger:

Expect minimum 4Grand for the mods above......then your car can perform like SeanLee's:driver:

hi brother ..my name is raam new here just wan 2 ask that wat is the consideration i must take when i am going 2 increase my car hp .my car is 1996 toyota SEG.

I got a 4 Throttle intake manifold from 4AGE 20Valve from AE101, put it in, get an E-Manage, and u will gain alot of torque n respond, and 10% HP increase.

Initially wanted to mod into my nissan engine, but failed....But I think is a good deal for ya, since urs is originally Toyota....

PM me for details :)

Chaos...

any body want sell 4G931.8 DOHC high cam??prefer 288 degree or 272...ths..pm me :adore:

i'm using 4G13..
can i install 272degree Hi-cam for my engine??
wat is the effect or the performance tat 1 can get??
i've an adjustable pully also...

any comment? :)

Of course you can, normally 4K the power will come but you can tell them to set it at 3.5K :)

But if you wanna play cams, its better to PNP ur head, get bigger throttle body and port your intake manifold to match. Its way better than you getting cams alone

Of course you can, normally 4K the power will come but you can tell them to set it at 3.5K :)

But if you wanna play cams, its better to PNP ur head, get bigger throttle body and port your intake manifold to match. Its way better than you getting cams alone
tune it by using adj campulley...

can anyone help me with this setting hicam (272) + hi compression piston...
is it worth or will make more trouble for me or a should use stendet low comp piston..
by da way its 4g93 engine...

plsss help me sifu...
thankss..