Help - RM 3000 worth of unpaid summons by previous owner

imoloq

I just bought my car 2 months ago. I was so dumb that I did not check for any outstanding summons. Then today, I wanted to check if I had any and found out that he had RM3000 worth of summons, mostly from speeding, accumulated.

Is there a way to prove that I'm not the driver in those cases? The latest one is in 2006 so thats a full 4 years before I bought this car.

Any advice is much appreciated!

from what i hv encounter..
police nowaday check summons follow I/C number so they wont be getting the wrong guy unlike decade ago.. i think the summons u checked hv i/c number rite..:hmmmm:

from lewis26, thats very true indeed... even u renew lesen onot, they oso can check thru their Palm alike gadget...

my insurance agent ask me to go police station with my geran and get them to print out the summons nd explain the situation. I'm sure they will understand

lewis26: the summons were sent to my email after i requested from the sms service. no ic number there

in that case u should do ask ur agent suggest
every transfer ownership of vehicle hv the date.. shouldnt be a problem to identify..
what happen to me b4 is speeding summon @ highway speed trap got send to me.. where the vehicle is sold for sometime..
i just bring the summon notice & the purchase letter(it hv the date i sell the car) & problem solved where they change the summon info & add in the IC number of the new owner into the summon :love:

it is not a problem at all because the summons have been attached to the owner ic number for quite a while already
so the summons will have no affiliations with u
but then again the system can make a mistake in that case just take the geran there to show the transfer of ownership and clear it up :smokin:

indeed is true just like what other said. personally i sold my car and the summon still attached with me because they track base on IC and then followed by car.