help me about upgrade engine!

need more power? plug in two 12V batteries.. :P

Kidding.. such a generic question.. mind being more specific?

spam my thread.. aiyo... i dont know bout my car.. coz before this my dad use this car.. then he change to estima and this civic he gv to me..

haha.. so noob lor.. geee..

but dont chat lor.. lazy to read 1 by 1

okay.. here's a picture of what you might have in your engine.

This engine, although with a slightly different valve cover.. or maybe not, depending if you have the SOHC type VTEC or not. The writing should be apparent on the valve cover (for starters) which is usually called the D-series, or SOHC honda engine. if it comes with VTEC, we call it the single cam VTEC.
enginebay.jpg

Or if you're lucky and your dad was at least a bit power-hungry.. you might have this engine under the hood. This is one of the more cheaper engine swaps you can do for your civic.. it's one of the more lower output honda engines, compared to the R variants.. but it's better than the first engine, waay better.
b16.jpg

Hope that helps.

The cheapest way to gain power is an engine swap, if you're stuck with the first engine in the pic (the D series/single cam) Sure, there are ways to get more the single cam to perform better than B series (the second pic) in terms of power output.. but it ain't gonna be cheap.. :P

Any more queries?

i think my engine is single cam..

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e345/ijatghetto/14022007798.jpg
http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e345/ijatghetto/14022007799.jpg

:shocked: :shocked: i need to learn.. huhu

There are lots of websites on the net dedicated to SOHC vtec...just go to google and do the search.

But for the meantime, what you can do is:-

(a) change to open pod air filter;
(b) change your extractor and exhaust system;
(c) change spark plugs and plug cables.

I really dunno which brand should you choose for (b) and (c) cos I never upgraded my SOHC engine. But these are the things that people would do 1st.

Apart from that you might wanna look into using a lightened flywheel and a slightly bigger throttle body...

If you're really serious in upgrading SOHC, like Shiro said, it ain't gonna be cheap. Most of the SOHC guys on the net or in HondaTuning Magazine even upgraded their pistons etc etc. When you are about to reach this level you might want to rethink whether to go that far or just plonk in a B series. Main thing is to ask yourself what's your budget and how far you wanna take your SOHC. Reading magazines is a good place to start with...

can i know.. which 1 extractor is good.

the 4x2x1 or 4x1?

i just wanna upgrade more pickup.. coz this car already hv a good topspeed.

no need extractor or watsoever thing on u'r current engine!!! if u want more power save u'r money to do a full conversion!!!

can i know.. which 1 extractor is good.

the 4x2x1 or 4x1?

i just wanna upgrade more pickup.. coz this car already hv a good topspeed.

Dunno which one lah cos I never bothered to upgrade my SOHC....used it till the engine R.I.P hahahah .......

If u have the budget, do a full conversion to B Series ........ a normal conversion might set u back about RM7-8K +

Write your reply...