halfcut selection tips

KHWONG

hi to all sifus and bros...

pls advised us some tips for halfcut selection... like millage, accident , etc

anything else shud know before buy any halfcut...

and many other questions that can ask that chopshop ppl regarding the halfcut..

thanks alot

cheerssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

my tips :

1) Ask for bumper, fuel tank, suspension, etc. Sometimes, if they are kind, they will give

2) Low mileage engine need not necessary be a good engine. Tell him to start the car to listen. If he ask for deposit before starting, go to another shop.

3) Look through and through with a GOOD torch light, to see oil leaks.

4) Get the engine block number when you make deposit. Sometimes, they can mistakenly give you the wrong paper.

5) Get a good dashboard :P

Based on my experience, don't trust a chop-shop that doesn't want to start the engine for you w/o a deposit. But of course, don't go overboard, saying that you want to test all engines....

Can recommend you to the shop that I bought my half-cut from in USJ. Mainly jap engines.

Good luck.

10Q's ylkien, good info for all.. especially newbie like me...

hi ylkien,
do u know any gd chop shop?i plan to convert my seg to 20v blacktop...anythg special thg shd i take note whn i view the half cut?

ylkien, u are right... but the option no 2 and no 3 not very agree lor...
1st about the millege, normally KL shop there the millege normally they adjusted already.
2nd start engine, some might very hard to start also due to it long time no start already... and after start the engine sound will be like an high cam sound le... So the newbie will not understand it also...
3rd, the oil leaking also hard to say the engine problem already or not also... because some are not from the engine, the oil just come from other halfcut gearbox oil also. but you are on right track already.

anyway, all depend on your luck also le... if you are lucky u brought the 100% free problem engine. But if you are bad luck, u might also get the 40% condition engine also.

i got 5 tip also:
1. Open the oil cap, see the oil railing. If you see there are gold colour, normally might identify it are ok condition engine already.
2. Start the engine, hear the engine sound. If you can hear it got knocking sound (like "kik kik" or "kock kock") generate by the engine (but make sure not like the high cam sound), means the engine a bit problem already. The well engine the sound might be very smooth... rev also smooth.
3. if the engine is turbo, please check the turbo as well. check the turbin condition!
4. if you want to find the modified engine, please check 1 by 1. such like ECU, Plug cable, spark plug, etc etc...
5. check the halfcut thing are complete or not... because some they take out sell it seperately already lor...

plus...
after what u have check like above mention...
please do remember what u see...
cuz the deal is...what u see is what u get...

cuz sometimes, once the half cut is taken some ppl come n take out the parts and swap it...do remember...

eg: stuffs like ECU, other accecories, gadget...depends looo...

have a nice half cut...heeee

bring digital camera to take photo as proof of item included../hehehe

Thanks scomatic.
How to check the turbo condition? Can hear?

Dennis,
I saw 2 BT in puchong. Can't remember the name, but it is not Mun Lee. AT is 3.2k if not mistaken.

The half-cut, is as-it-is. Sometimes, you see some white fungus like things on the engine, which is normal for 4 seasons country. My half-cut also has it, but no problem till now. I would prefer a half-cut which is in a covered area.

It is good to take a picture so that they won't simply take the half-cut when you collect it. Besides, the mechanic doing the transplant might "mistakenly" put in the wrong items.

thanks for all sifu adviced..
'
learn a lots...

saw 1 SEG halfcut at SUBANG , SVT , but the engine not tat good.. somemore millage is 142xxxkm.. too old laiw.

hehe

last time i saw i chop shop selling 2nd car...
the engine was perfectly clean...
no dust or what so ever...millage was about 50k km...

but the price was a bit expensive...
i ask the "taukey"...why...?

he said he bought the car from 2nd hand car in japan...n then cut it...
also got other cars...B16A, 4G91, V6tt n others...all in perfect clean condition...

HaPpY MeRdEKa DaY!!!

chinozie... where is d location of that 'taukey' ..dat wan lorr... selling 2nd car wan..
wat mean by a bit exspensive... it's 1.5k-2k higher than other taukey...?

p/s: my MALAYSIA flag on pokok pelam kena kebas... cisss..:sad_smile:

ylkien said:
Thanks scomatic.
How to check the turbo condition? Can hear?

Dennis,
I saw 2 BT in puchong. Can't remember the name, but it is not Mun Lee. AT is 3.2k if not mistaken.

The half-cut, is as-it-is. Sometimes, you see some white fungus like things on the engine, which is normal for 4 seasons country. My half-cut also has it, but no problem till now. I would prefer a half-cut which is in a covered area.

It is good to take a picture so that they won't simply take the half-cut when you collect it. Besides, the mechanic doing the transplant might "mistakenly" put in the wrong items.

How to check turbo?
Ermm... ask the chop shop guy open the Turbo for u... then u turn the turbin, if it very smooth, and no longgar or no hard to turn. mean the turbo in health

But need to check the turbin Fin also... don't forgot... a good turbo must need the well fin also...

Hey bro... when i buying a front cut, first thing i will consider..

Do i need to modify the engine before transplant, or i just need a stock engine.

If i going to mod the engine, i will look for a front cut with auto gearbox.
why? i'm sure the driver will not bring this car to track for hard core driving. so i will take the engine out for modification.

if i want just transplant without mod, for sure i will get a accident front cut.
An accident car is on road car , an used car sent to recycle choped because of the owner dont want the car anymore.

Write your reply...